Geeks logo

5 Books You Need To Read This Winter Break

Books to Expand Your Life

By QuirkyMinPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

DEMIAN

Though this book is small in size, it comes in at around 300 pages. It has a lot of complex ideas that are explored, the main theme around the book is youth and how evil is percieved. It recounts the many experiences throughout his life as a child into adulthood and how these all shaped his worldview. A big theme in the first few chapters is around the story of Cain and Abel.

It's a masterpiece page turner, written in that old-timey authorship that just makes you feel like you've been transported to the past, reliving these moments with the narrator. One of the greatest joys of reading this book for me was looking at it through a queer lense/ using queer theory.

If you can get your hands on the edition with the introduction by Thomas Mann, I'd highly recommend that version and that you actually read the introduction LAST.

RICH DAD POOR DAD

I'm sure you've heard of this book at least once if you're someone who listens to finance podcasts. It's honestly a book that will change the way you think of money. I can't say much without giving away things you need to expeireence in your own reading, but it's about the author, growing up with a 'rich dad' and a 'poor dad', and the lessons he learned from each of them.

Even if you're not into finance, there's something to take away from the book that you could put to practice in your own life. On top of it all, it's a true story (written by Rober Kiyosaki).

INTO THE MAGIC SHOP

How could learning some magic tricks help a man perform neurosurgery? And how is it that this book isn't truly about either magic or neurosurgery?

Well, it is. What it's truly about is a young boy with a horrible life, with a hopeless outlook on life. One day he comes into a Magic Shop and his life slowly begins to change thanks to the owner and his mother.

The best thing about this book is it's a true story. Not only is it an autobiography but it's an instruction manual on how to change your mindset and change your life.

I started to read this book during a time in my life where I'm not sure I'd of made it through without this book. I was dealing with the devastating loss of my grandmother to cancer, who had been my strongest supporter in my life. I had actually started reading it a few days before her diagnosis. There's something in this that seemed like more than a coincidence at the time, but that's all speculation.

WRINGER

If you have a pet bird, you might just hold your lil fella close after reading this one. this was possibly one of the most influential books I read as a middle schooler, and I still think of it fondly to this day.

This is a story of youth, friendship, loyalty, morals and becoming an independent thinker. All of that rolled up into a story about young boys who wring the necks of pigeons after they have been shot.

This novel had a lasting impact on me and has helped express and solidify my own views on the idea of hunting for fun vs. hunting for necessity.

DRAGON RIDER

This was a nostalgic read. I read it back in middle school but for some reason i never finished the book! It was a burning question in my mind for years but the title escaped my mind. But I finally found it, in a thrift store in downdown Saint Paul, for $0.99.

I won't get into how I begged to borrow a dollar from my parents (yay look at me adulting!) but it really was quite the spectacle. The story between Firedrake and the boy is such a tender relationship. Not to mention the adventure! Firedrake (the dragon) sets off on a mission to find a mythical safe haven for all Dragons, and he has to do it before the attack on his fellow Dragon family happens.

OUTRO

All of these books are great for a winter break read. I would wholeheartedly take advantage of curling up next to a fireplace while you read, if you've got one.

My personal suggestion is to either pick one of the longer/ more metally intensive books (Rich Dad Poor Dad, Into the magic Shop, Dragon Rider) or to double up on the two smaller books (Wringer and Demian).

Well, thank you for taking some time to read this post and I really hope you take up one of my recommendations! Happy reading and Have a good winter break!

entertainmentliteraturelist
1

About the Creator

QuirkyMin

Aspiring writer, sharing articles of personal interest as well as original short stories.

https://linktr.ee/quirky.min

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.