Geeks logo

5 Books that I read this summer[2020]!

Getting back to the world of Books!

By Raibat SarkerPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Getting back to reading has probably been the best thing that has happened to me during this lock-down. I don't remember the last time I had read so many books one after the other. Thanks to a few friends who kept pestering me and recommending me books, I decided to read again. So, here are the five books that I read during this summer!

1. A place called Here, Cecelia Ahern.

In a nutshell, this book deals with a place called Here where all things lost eventually end up. I have always loved books by Ahern and hence began this story with a similar hope. Although this book offers a good story, I was kind of disappointed by the ending.

The premise is quite interesting to begin with. A place where everything from a missing sock to missing people end up is quite an intriguing thought process. People from all across the world with different languages and cultures co-exist in harmony and they have developed a system with no hopes of getting back to the actual world. I honestly loved the idea and the imagination of the author. Ironically, the protagonist Sandy Shortt who works for a missing persons agancy goes missing and ends up there. The rest of the story deals with her experiences in that place and how the people look for her in the real world. (I don't wanna give any spoilers)

I don't think I am quite the right person to rate a book, but in case you're looking for a non-serious read, you can pick this!

2. And then there were none, Agatha Christie.

One must definitely be living under a rock if one hasn't heard of Agatha Christie. I, on the other hand, was foolish enough to wait this long to read her works. Most of my friends were quite surprised to know this given the fact that I used to read a lot more than they did.

I loved the plot, the characters (there were so many!) and how the mystery unfolded age by page. It deals with 10 people stuck on an Island and how they start dying one by one- the deaths connected by a poem. One doesn't get to see the entire picture until the very end. Thorughout the book, you would keep guessing the next victim and try to figure out who the murderer is. Mystery Lovers, go ahead!

3. 10th of December, George Saunders.

This was a short story collection recommended by one of the many YT channels that follow. In short, this was a weird journey for me. The stories were strange but the characters were really interesting. The author has captured their minds and the world inside their heads quite well. All the characters have their own issues and at times you can't help but sympathise/empathise with them.

If you're looking for something different, you can read this. The books was simply not for me!

4. The Gunslinger, Stephen King.

The first book of the Dark Tower Series, this was gifted to me by a friend. This was also the first Stephen King book on my bookshelf.

The book follows the story of Roland of Gilead, The Last Gunslinger who is chasing the Man in Black. Reading this was a mixed experience. I felt the book to be too slow at times which kind of killed the mood. Definitely not a page-turner for me, like, I could easily put it down for hours and not worry about it. But I have read many positives about the series and will definitely give the second book a try in the future.

5. Men Without Women, Haruki Murakami.

Another short story collection and my second read by Murakami, this was a a good journey. I really liked the different male characters of the stories and how the author explores their relationships with the women who are/had been a part of their lives. I also liked the storytelling style of the author although the stories are actually translated versions of the original text.

If you love short stories and haven't read anything by Murakami yet, go ahead and read this book. I had a weird feeling when I had read Norwegian Wood but this one was different.

That's all I guess!

In case you want to check the books out further, the links are in the title. Explore more books here.

Tell me about books that you've read recently and also suggest me more.

(I am currently reading Kane and Abel by Jeffrey Archer.)

Till the next story, Goodbye!

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.