Geeks logo

30 Day Anime Challenge

Day 3: Most underrated anime

By animetipzPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

Onto day 3! If you missed the first few days here is the idea behind the 30-day anime challenge. I saw this post on Pinterest and thought it was a fun little challenge to do for the first month of the New Year. I did a challenge similar to this back in 2013 so I am curious to see if my taste has changed much in the past 10 years.

I think the purpose of this challenge is to just post a picture but me being the extra person that I am, I will write a blog about each topic.

This is different from what I am used to blogging, which makes me excited to test my creativity and go back to find the answers to these writing prompts. On day one I found that I couldn't just pick one anime so I decided for each of these questions I will be doing 5 for every topic.

Feel free to join me in the comments below! I'd love to hear your opinions too!!

Subscribe to not miss a day of anime content

Day 3 Most underrated anime

There were a lot of shows that I wanted to add to this list. I love watching random, unheard-of anime. Personally, I struggle with watching overly hyped anime because my expectations get way too high that no show could live up to those expectations. You will read more about anime that I believe were overrated tomorrow, but for this list, I will share a little bit about the storyline and explain how I came across this anime because they are all not very popular anime so I found them all in different ways.

I believe all of these anime should be watched and cannot believe they aren't more popular.

Let me know if you have seen any of these in the comment below too.

Cells at Work!

Storyline: Strep throat! Hay fever! Influenza! The world is a dangerous place for a red blood cell just trying to get her deliveries finished. Fortunately, she’s not alone … She’s got a whole human body’s worth of cells ready to help out! The mysterious white blood cell, the buff and brash killer T cell, the nerdy neuron, even the cute little platelets—everyone’s got to come together if they want to keep you healthy!

I was just scrolling through Netflix looking for an anime I could kill some time with. In the mood for a scary anime but nothing was piquing my interest. Then I came across Cells at Work! I didn't read the description because I assumed it was an anime about prison, Which could be scary. I pressed play on the first episode, not having a clue what I was getting myself into. I binged the whole thing in 3 days because this was an insanely entertaining show. I felt as if I learned more about my body by watching this anime than in school. I have seen anime way more hyped than Cells at work! and not half as good. Highly recommend giving it a watch!

Full Review Link

Great Pretender

Storyline: Makoto Edamura is a con man who is said to be “Japan's greatest swindler.” One day, after trying to pickpocket a foreigner, Edamura finds that all of his money was stolen instead. Chasing the man down all the way to Los Angeles, he learns the foreigner is Laurent Thierry, a French con man who has ties to international criminal organizations. After Edamura follows Thierry and thwarts his big drug deal, Edamura gets tied up and left to die on the famous Hollywood sign.

I had heard nothing about this anime before I started watching it, But I was in the airport about to get on a 5-hour flight and needed to download something to watch off Netflix. This was the first anime that popped up and I clicked download. I have no idea how this anime isn't insanely popular. I haven't seen anything like it before, It's an incredible story, has great character development, and stunning animation and a will suck you in so be prepared to binge it.

Deadman Wonderland

Storyline: Ganta, the sole survivor of the brutal murder of his entire class, is framed and ends up falsely convicted for it. During the massacre, the real killer embeds a red crystal in him. Ganta is sent to a privately owned prison which has a rather different and perverted take on incarceration, entertaining the masses by performing dangerous games in exchange for privileges. Every inmate he encounters has their own goals, survival being the main one, and it is now up to him to survive this and maybe even prove his innocence.

A friend said that I had to watch this anime, she had only seen episode one and said I would love it. I had no interest after she described it but to give her the benefit of the doubt I started episode 1. If you liked squid games, or Alice in borderland you will love deadman wonderland. This is just like squid games expect in prison. In fact, I have a weird feeling some of the squid games are based on this anime. Inmates are forced to play games to win money to pay for food and comforts while in prison. The games get more intense and we find out some inmates have the power to control their blood. The games are wild and creative, and then the fights between inmates with abilities are insane to watch. This is a VERY gory anime but so binge-worthy.

School Rumble

Storyline: Tenma Tsukamoto is young, bright, and smitten with the school hottie Oji Karasuma. She's desperate for his attention, which is unfortunate considering he barely gives her the time of day! Throw Kenji Harima, the school delinquent with a crush on Tenma into the mix and you've got one twisted love triangle of unrequited proportions! Can love find the trio happiness before their attention-grabbing stunts end up hurting more than their egos?

I don't understand why everyone hasn't seen this anime twice. My sister and I found school rumble randomly on an anime site and figured we would watch it. This might be one of the best shows ever written, and I feel as if every slice-of-life anime comes second to this show. Between the quirky characters and relatable situations, this is a great anime for everyone. There is no downside to this anime. I have rewatched this show multiple times and still can't get enough. There is a character for everyone to relate to and even episodes without any of the main characters. If you enjoy a slice-of-life comedy with random dramatic stories this show is for you.

Durarara!!

Storyline: Looking for a change, Mikado moves from the countryside to bustling Ikebukuro to attend the same high school as his best friend, Masaomi. Though navigating a new school and friendships can prove tough by itself, Mikado also finds an overwhelming number of new delights and dangers in the district he now calls home. From a friendly Russian sushi bar to the violent color gangs, to even an urban legend in the form of a black motorcycle rider, each resident of Ikebukuro is unique and frightening. But the town is smaller than it seems at first, and these strange events appear to be connected. Will the growing storm sweep up the transplanted country boy and his friends or will Mikado find himself at the center of a dramatic change for Tokyo?

I found this anime right after it came out and it should be one of the most popular anime of all time in my opinion. I don't remember how I came across it but I am forever grateful that I did. I do have a lot of anime that I love but Durarara is hands down my favorite. This is an anime with so many twists in it your head will be blown. It did gain a little popularity a few years after season one but not close to what it deserves. Every season got better and better, yet I see nothing about it on social media or really anywhere. If you haven't seen Durarara put it at the top of your to-watch list.

It's important to remember the popularity of anime doesn't mean it's going to live up to the hype. I have been let down by so many overly hyped anime, which is why my favorite anime to watch are ones I randomly come across and watch.

Don't just watch popular anime when there are also so many incredible shows out there! Get out of your comfort zone and you might be surprised.

What is an anime you enjoyed but it didn't get the hype it deserved? Have you seen any of the anime on my list? I'd love to hear in the comments below

Thanks for Reading!!

Subscribe for Anime Content

Bye bye! Hope you see you back tomorrow

tvlistentertainmentcosplay
Like

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.