Geeks logo

2022 Reading List

Books that carried me through the year

By Nathan J BonassinPublished about a year ago 12 min read
Like
2022 Reading List
Photo by Ugur Akdemir on Unsplash

2022 was a great year for reading. Instead of hitting all of the bookstores every time I needed a new book, I rediscovered the library. I read some books that I've been wanting to read and reread some books for at least the third time, maybe more but I've lost track. I tried something new to help me read more books. Since I drive so much for work, I started listening to audiobooks. 

You'll notice that James Patterson gets a lot of mention in this year's list. That's for two reasons: First, his name appears on a lot of book covers. Second, detective mysteries are incredibly easy to listen to in traffic. 

This list is mostly exhaustive, though I think I might have missed a few books on the list. Let's get started.

Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy - Douglas Adams

I've long been a fan of the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, ever since I saw the movie starring Martin Freeman and Zoey Deschanel. I was living in Colorado at the time and saw it with my roommates. Allan Rickman as the depressed robot, Marvin, is nothing short of genius. But, I had never read the book. Interestingly, I found a box set on my bookshelf and started to read. Having seen the movie, I already knew the storyline. There were creative liberties taken by the film producers, including scenes cut from the movie version. The scene where Ford offers the construction workers peanuts and beer to prolong the demolition of Arthur's house for instance is added to the movie. I would have liked to have seen the film producer's vision of the extended scenes where Arthur tours the Magrathean planet builder's offices. 

But, that's the difference between books and movies. 

I can see why some people wouldn't like the book. It is sci-fi after all. Sci-fi may be reserved for geeks and nerds in some circles. 

But, Hitchhiker's Guide is well-written and mostly harmless. The story flows. I would recommend it to anyone to read whether they were on the sci-fi fence or not.

About that boxed set I mentioned, I plan to continue reading through it to see where the rest of Arthur, Trillian, Zaphod, and Ford's adventures take them. 

A Cook's Tour - Anthony Bourdain

I don't remember if it was Kitchen Confidential or No Reservations that first introduced me to the late Anthony Bourdain. Either way, I was a fan right away. His no shits given attitude I think was part of what drew me in. So when the news came over the radio in 2018 that he had died, I took it a little harder than I maybe should have. I don't want to say he was my idol, but I had a lot of respect for him as a writer and as a chef. His influence on me was significant. I love the way he writes. It's how I want to write. Some day maybe.

But the way he writes about the locations he goes to makes me feel like I was in Portugal, France, Vietnam, Russia, Morroco, Japan, Cambodia, Mexico, Spain, and the Napa Valley, maybe not with him at his table, but I was there. 

I want to try some of the foods he ate. I want to see the places he saw. I may not be as adventurous as he was, but oh the places I could go. 

Elements of Style - William Strunk Jr.

I'm not shy about being a nerd. Instead, I embrace it. So I read books about writing and grammar. This one is the quintessential book on the subject. Every writer should at least have a copy, whether they read it or not. It has been updated over the years to address modern writing and technology. It makes sure to point out that as a writer you should adapt to the style of the publication you are working/writing for. You want to stand out for style issues, but rather to stand out for your writing. 

The Sorrow of War - Bao Ninh

I first became hip to this book in college during a history class. I read it way back when. In A Cook's Tour, Anthony Bourdain mentions buying a copy of it from a street vendor. He makes sure to point out the importance of it being a banned book in Vietnam.

It tells the story of two young lovers torn apart by the ravages of war. Once lost, innocence can never be restored. 

For some, like the main character, the emotional torture we put ourselves through can leave us broken shells of who we once were, leaving us alone to wander through the night. 

Private LA - James Patterson

A mysterious set of murders with the number of killings increasing each day. A Hollywood power couple kidnapped without a trace. How is everything connected and who is responsible?

As a kid, I was drawn to Encyclopedia Brown and The Boxcar Children as they solved various mysteries. Of course, none of them ever involved multiple gruesome murders. I've been taking a break from fiction books for the last few years, favoring mostly non-fiction, memoirs, and business books. So, it only made sense to dive back into mysteries. 

Bourdain: The Definitive Oral Biography - Laurie Woolever

If you've been following along with my reading lists for the past few years, you've probably noticed that Anthony Bourdain makes a few appearances. He has always been a personal hero of mine of sorts. He's influenced my cooking, my writing, and my outlook. His attitude, adventurous spirit, and creative side always spoke to me. Now, he's gone. That means that for the last few years there has been no new material for me to consume.

Until I found this one at the library that is. When I picked it up, I couldn't put it down. I was honestly sad to see it go when I read the last page. Let me just say, it was good. The book is a series of interviews laced together to tell the story. Laurie Woolever interviews family members, friends, coworkers, agents, publishers, wives, and his daughter; the list goes on. 

It is heartwarming to see how much people cared for him and supported him, even when he changed. It was obvious when his friends didn't care for what he was doing or who he was doing it with. But still, they stuck with him. 

Anthony Bourdain was the guy who kept going and getting the work done, even when things got tiring and challenging and even just too much at times. But still, he kept on, knowing how many people counted on him. 

In the end, as all of his friends are left behind, we are left to wonder what might have been. What else did he have hiding up his sleeve to unleash up the world?

Think Like a Freak - Steven D. Evitt and Stephen J. Dubner

It's all about rethinking the way you think. If you think small, think big. If you think big, think small. But it's more than that, and I'm not sure I can quite articulate that. Most importantly, look for a new to see things, a new angle, or a new perspective. Get away from the everyday approach to unlock new possibilities. 

Bullseye - James Patterson

A college professor turned drug lord and his crew turn up dead. A hit on the President of the United States. A dead Russian mobster. Who's hunting who and who is responsible for it all? James Patterson offers a riveting murder mystery where you never know who is who, who is working for who, and leaves you guessing whose side anyone is on.

Murder on the Orient Express - Agatha Christie

I wouldn't call this the original murder mystery, though in modern literature it comes pretty close. An unlikely cast of characters in an even more unlikely setting watch as a murder is carried out and discovered. But if nobody heard anything, who could be responsible?

Unqualified - Anna Faris

I was hesitant about including this book. After all, we don't exactly look to Anna Faris for deep wisdom. She even acknowledges this in the book. But, she does take a pretty comedic point of view on the experiences she has had and doesn't seem completely oblivious to how lucky she is to be doing what she get gets to be doing. In fact, she seems pretty down to earth despite it all. 

Private Paris - James Patterson

Well-respected members of Paris' creative elite keep turning up dead. Murdered is more like it. With each death, there is more unrest, especially in the poorer parts of town. When things start pointing toward the Muslim population, things get ugly. Well, uglier that is.

Private #1 Suspect - James Patterson

How can you be suspected of murder when you've been out of town? When the murder happens in your own bedroom, with your own gun, things tend to point at you. Private Investigator Jack Morgan now has to pull out all of the stops to clear his and his company's name. 

Texas Ranger - James Patterson

Hard to imagine returning home to find your ex-wife murdered and worse to find that while you're suspect number one, you're still on the list. That's the scenario Texas Ranger Rory Yates finds himself in Even though he's been told to stay out of it, he can't help but investigate things on his own. When more people start to die he is considered more of a suspect. Who is behind it?

The Last Days of John Lennon - James Patterson

It was a tragic December day when John Lennon was shot dead in front of the Dakota, leaving two boys without a father. Even more tragic is that Mark David Chapman seems to believe that he was justified in his actions. The Last Days of John Lennon explores the early days of The Beatles through their breakup in 1970 and beyond until John Lennon is murdered. The book also explores the background and history of Mark David Chapman, even his motivation behind the killing. 

National Parks - Dayton Duncan

I've long been in love with our national parks. Being out in nature is almost a religious experience. So a book about the history of the national park service was perfect for me. We don't often stop to think about the sacrifices made and the battles fought in order to make these parks available to us. 

The Inn - James Patterson

A disgraced former cop runs an inn in a small town in New England. His permanent guests are a rag-tag group including a writer, a retired FBI agent, and a former mobster. What happens to their quiet little town when a drug lord arrives on the scene?

Into the Wild - John Krakauer

I was never enamored by the mystique of Chris McCandless, the young man who died tragically in the Alaskan wilderness using an old bus for shelter. I typically thought he was ill-equipped and unprepared and that his death could have been prevented. He broke the first rule of wilderness camping: always tell someone where you're going. 

John Krakauer unravels the details leading up to his death, his discovery, and the aftermath. Though the author does a good job of detailing Alexander Supertramp's story, I still think he was an unprepared kid who died tragically and needlessly. 

Think to Win: Unleashing the Power of Strategic Thinking - Paul Butler, John F. Manfredi, Peter Klein

These three successful business leaders lay out the Think to Win process of analyzing your business, identifying failures, aligning all business units, and winning in these markets. Without these ideas, it's hard for a business to turn around. 

Dragon Teeth - Michael Crichton

Published in 2017 after Chrichton's death, Dragon Teeth is a fictionalized version of the Bone Wars in which two rival professors and paleontologists go on a search for the next great dinosaur discovery. The lengths these two men go to in order to slander and sabotage each other to prevent their respective opponents from reaching success is incredible. They'll do whatever it takes. 

Private Down Under -James Patterson

I had a hard time getting through this one. Maybe it was the cheesy Australian accent it was read in. The main storyline follows an unlikely killer targeting affluent suburban housewives all in the same neighborhood. At first, they seem unrelated, but it quickly becomes clear that these killings are anything but random. 

Kill Alex Cross - James Patterson

Alex Cross is assigned the case to find and recover the kidnapped kids of the President of the United States. Is the killer out to get Alex Cross next?

There is a secondary storyline in which a Muslim extremist faction is trying to overthrow the US government. They will try to succeed at all costs.

The Canterbury Tales - Geoffrey Chaucer

I hadn't read Canterbury Tales since high school. Inspired by my kids who were assigned it at school, they used a shorter, kid-friendly version. I picked up a new translation at the library. It's worth a read, or listen if you have the time. 

NYPD Red 4 - James Patterson

Wearing a multimillion-dollar necklace, an actress is murdered at her latest premiere. Soon after, one of the brothers behind the brand turns up dead. NYPD Red, an elite NYPD task force, picks up the case. Detectives Kylie McDonald and Zach Jordan are assigned. Soon after, they pick up a case investigating stolen hospital equipment. Can they find the killer, solve the stolen equipment operation, and juggle struggling personal lives?

Angels and Demons - Dan Brown

The symbolism in this story, both Christian and Pagan, even scientific, bring the story to life as mysterious figures systematically assassinate the top four cardinals in the Catholic Church, just after the pope suddenly dies. 

Threat Vector - Tom Clancy

A mysterious Chinese figure at the center of worldwide organizations recruits operatives through blackmail. The lines are blurred to the point where you never know who is playing who. The mysterious organization carries out murders, assassinations, cyber-attacks, and maybe even worse. 

Lost and Founder - Rand Fishkin

Rand Fishkin, the founder of Moz, walks you through the foils and follies of starting a software company. From connection to fundraising, you'll get a window into the startup world with what to do and what not to do. 

The People vs Alex Cross - James Patterson

Alex Cross is a decorated and respected law enforcement officer. But, even the most respected law enforcement officers make mistakes and can be accused of murder. Find out if he did it.

Private - James Patterson

The first in the Private series. Jack Morgan is a private investigator based in LA. His team is investigating the murder of his best friend's wife, a series of high school-aged girls murdered by a mysterious figure, and the possible rigging of NFL games. Who is behind it all and how does the mafia play into it?

White Fang - Jack London

It's hard to write a story from the point of view of an animal, much less an entire novel. Though Jack London received some criticism for doing so, even from Teddy Roosevelt, he manages to paint a picture of life in the Yukon territory during the gold rush and juxtaposes that with life in the city of San Francisco.

list
Like

About the Creator

Nathan J Bonassin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.