Geeks logo

10 Films I Refuse To Watch

And Cut

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
10 Films I Refuse To Watch
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

After seeing the backlash Sia got for her film, Music inspired me to make of list of films that I refuse to watch. Some of these are trilogies and if there’s two or more films from the same series, I’ll put them in as one to prevent clogging. I have a subscription with Netflix. At one point, I had Now TV and Crunchyroll, but I cancelled them to save money. It only made sense to have one and it seemed pointless to have lots of streaming subscriptions just to watch one film or a series. I do share my account with my mum, aunt and friends and they do use it more than me. Netflix has so much choice, but once in a while it will reccomend me stuff that I know I’m not going to watch.

These are the up honourable mentions...

50 Shades Trilogy

Given how massive these films are, I was unable to avoid them. I like the soundtrack, but that’s not enough to get me to sit down and watch the films all the way through. I know my friends have watched this, but I went in the other room. I’ve read the original Twilight fan fiction, Masters Of The Universe when it was up on Fanfiction.net.

I also tried getting into the 50 Shades novels, and I just couldn’t. I remember not caring much for the fan fic and stopped reading. The same thing happened with the novels. I didn’t like it. The prose felt off and I couldn’t get though it, I was skimming and skipping bits just to see if the sex scenes were ny good and I ended up cringing. I also think Christian is a jerk. If I didn’t like the books, I’m not going to waste 9 hours of my life watching the films.

Kissing Booth

Wattpad is another home for fan fics, but also houses original stories too. It really baffles me that some really amazing stories hardly get any attention whilts some obviously terrible stories get turned into films because they’re so popular. Wattpad has some great stories that deserve to be made into a movie, but not this one.

The title alone sounds like a recipe for disaster. I tried reading this, but I did not finish it. Maybe teenage romantic comedies are not my thing. Even though the prose was simplistic, it was so hard to get get through. The storyline is cliched and misogynistic.

One scene that really annoyed me was Elle gets spanked by Tuppen. Then Noah fights him. I understand that the two guys got detention, but Elle gets detention too. She was the victim and she was inappropriately touched, and she got into trouble for it.

Things only get downhill from there when they set the kissing booth. When I read a book, or get into a story, I will try to finish it even if it kills me. I just couldn’t with this one. The characters are bland, the storyline is dreadful and gives bad messages to kids.

Again, if I don’t like the story, I’m not going to watch the film. I can’t believe they’ve made another two films for this.

After

I’ve never read the books, nor the Harry Styles fan fic and I have no desire to. The plot sounded dull and the trailer put me off. I also watched other reviews on YouTube about it and I couldn’t find one positive one. Those reviews also highlighted the problems with the stereotypes. Like boys that wear leather and have tattoos is automatically a bad guy. There’s rumours that Sony paid people to write fan fics and the band are okay with them whilst there’s other rumours that Harry has actually blocked the author Anna Todd for her over-sexualised and criminalised interpretation of him. Which makes me wonder if there’s a fine line between stories the tabloids write and stories that fans write.

For me, it’s just a typical high school tween romance that only got famous because of it’s association with Harry Styles. I can’t think of anything that makes it different to all the other books out there And it’s heavily reliant on tropes. Because I have no interest in the books, I have no interest in the films either.

From Justin To Kelly

This is just an obvious cash in for Kelly Clarkson’s Idol success. Even Kelly Clarkson hates this film. She always made it clear that she wanted nothing to do it. Sadly, she had to do it as part of her contract. I can imagine that she went on her hands and knees to the management begging them to please not put her in this and to cancel the film. They didn’t and they should have listened to her because the script was apparently bad and the film flopped. I think she was worried that the bad film would damage her career.

Fortunately for Kelly, her music career and skyrocketed and I don’t want to embarrass her anymore by bringing this film up. I don’t want to watch a film, if I know they were forced in it against their will.

Freddy Got Fingered

I know little next to nothing about this film, and I intend to keep it that way. All I know was that it’s on Wikipedi’s page on the worst movies ever made. I have no other words for this. The title alone is enough for me to decide not to watch this film. I’ll pass!

Gigli

Jennifer Lopez and Ben Effleck’s romance was short-lived, but they did make the most of it. If the reviews for this film are anything to go by, I think it’s for the best they’ve gone their own separate ways.

The Last Airbender

I don’t know what they were thinking with this film. This one has been touched by so many times by the likes of Cinema Sins, Nostalgia Critic and WatchMojo. Judging from the trailer, it lacks the depth and warmth of the original cartoon, which is superior in every single way.

Dragonball Evolution

They tried to add the typical Hollywood formula into a well-loved anime franchise and it flopped both commercially and critically. Whilst on paper, bringing a well loved anime to the big screen in Hollywood sounds like a recipe for success, it was not. The first big mistake, in my opinion is the lack of involvement with Dragonball’s original team Like Toei Animation, Funimation, and the creator himself, Akira Toriyama. I think the film would have faired so much better with their guidance and output.

The second mistake is the characters and casting. They barely even resemble the much loved characters. Bulma has blue hair! Why is it brown in the movie? All she gets in this film is a blue streak? Why? Where’s the iconic hairstyles and memeable quotes? Where’s Krillin? Let’s take that back, he dodged a bullet.

The trailer gives you a good impression of the film. You can tell it’s going to suck. The reviews also say a lot. They change the source material for no reason and the characters becme archetypes instead of actual characters. I thank reviewers and critics for watching this film, so I don’t have to.

Cats

When I first heard about it, I did want to see it. I know a lot of the cast members, but when the reviews came pouring in, and I saw the trailer, I was put off. The CGI and special effects makes me feel uncomfortable. I think this would have been so much better as a 2D animation instead of the horrible CGI effects. I don’t like how they tried to go for realism here, they’re cats! It would have felt more authentic if they were dressed up as cats. As much as I like the musical, I can’t bring myself to watch the full film.

Music

Everything about this film is just wrong. Sia was not the right person to direct this and it shows. She makes these ambitious claims that she researched the autistic community for three years and then said The autistic actress she hired found the filming too hard so she hired her muse instead. We all know that’s bollocks.

It not only makes the same mistakes as Running Man and Big Band Theory, it alsos romanticised the stereotypes and created a carcature rather than an actual person. Sia’s fetish for autistic people makes me uncomfortable. She calls them people with special abilities and she’s using the community to cash in and be a white savior.

My eyes burned at the trailer. There’s too much going on and not enough focus. If Sia had actually listened to the autistic community and did all the stuff she claims to have done, this could have been a sensational film, bu it’s just a big mess.

I refuse to watch Music because it’s upset and angered the community so much. There’s plenty of videos addressing their hatred to this film, and it all comes down to Sia. Instead of taking responsibility fo her actions, she calls an autistic person she dosen’t know a bad actor then deletes her account.

Anything Staring Amber Heard

I wanted to conclude this list with any film that stars Amber Heard. I think her actions are extremely damaging to victims of domestic violence. Despite sufficient evidence that she abused Johnny Depp, and has also been abusive in previous relationships, she wears the victim’s cloak and did everything she could to sabotage Johnny Depp’s career.

She’s even manipulated many others in the industry and that even includes the courts that are meant to be immune to her manipulative tricks. Because of this, I will not watch projects involving her. This means that genuine victims of abuse will suffer even more.

list
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.