Geeks logo

1. Note to self: Google Mank

A throwback to Hollywood's Golden Age of Film

By Cindy MattaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
No, it's not the 1930's version of the Joker...

Recently, I would eyeball the local billboard just above the Shell station featuring an ad for "Mank" while I was idling at the red light on the corner of Beverly and Fairfax. Seeing Gary Oldman’s name immediately registered two thumbs up in my subconscious mind for his wide range of acting roles from Sid Vicious to Ludwig Von Beethoven, Winston Churchill with many award-winning performances in between and now, his most recent Oscar nod, "Mank."

The next question kicked in as the light changed green and I was halfway around the block – Who or what is Mank? Note to self: Google Mank. And then, I would go about the rest of my day as "Mank" drifted into the far corners of my mind replaced by Season 4 of "The Queen," and binge-watching "Bridgerton."

Another day, another drive by the billboard and this time my mind “thin-sliced” the movie poster at fast glance – Gary Oldman looks like the Joker. Note to self: Google Mank.

This happened for two months until I was literally caught up with my Netflix cue when a tiny little voice said, “Google Mank.” Much to my surprise, I discovered this film is about the life of Herman J. Mankiewicz as he wrote the first draft to the highly acclaimed 1941 film “Citizen Kane,” directed by Orson Welles. The first thing that came to mind was something I heard in film school – never write films about “the business” nobody wants to see process-oriented stories. And to some degree, they must be right… According to Decider.com, a website that helps you find what to watch, recently listed “Best Movies On Netflix Right Now, Updated for March 2021” – MANK, a Netflix film, didn’t even make its Top 50 List for the month even with its impressive 10 Oscar nominations.

As a cinephile who saw "Citizen Kane" during my stint in film school, I decided to give this modern-day glance back to Hollywood’s Golden Age two hours of my Saturday night – mostly, because it was directed by one of my favorite directors -- David Fincher, a master at building suspense and creating tension with cinematically dark visuals. This flick, a glass of red wine and a bowl of popcorn seemed like the perfect choice for a dateless Covid weekend night. Plus, the critics reviews on Rotten Tomatoes, another film and t.v. website that rates movies and shows based on percentages by using a certified fresh tomato icon or a green splat, were decent. When I noticed the script for "Mank" was actually written by Fincher’s late father, Jack, something told me this has to be good…

As the film began, I was immediately drawn in by the quick repartee and one-liners delivered by its witty characters. Leaning forward, I put the snack bowl aside not wanting to miss a single word. I remembered why I loved black and white films from this era like the "Maltese Falcon" also released in 1941, the same year as "Citizen Kane." In the absence of CGI and special effects, it was a time when crisp dialogue and a well-crafted script were just as integral to the film’s success as leading actors and directors.

Having previously watched "Citizen Kane," I could see the parallels so artfully drawn between William Randolph Hearst in “Mank” and Charles Foster Kane, the newspaper mogul in “Citizen Kane.” This 1941 film was based solely on personal experiences that Herman J. Mankiewicz, the screenwriter, had with Hearst, the publishing mogul – making “Mank” a true testament of art imitating life. Not only was watching “Mank,” two-hours, time well spent – but my evening unexpectedly turned into a double-feature as I was compelled to re-watch “Citizen Kane,” thereby comparing the cinematic brilliance of both films that seemingly dissolved into one mindful experience.

“Mank” leads the list of Oscar nominations this year with ten well-deserved nods. Amanda Seyfried also gives an outstanding supporting actress performance as the mistress to Hearst. Next time you’re scanning the catalog of unseen films on Netflix, click on “Mank”-- if you like this, then you’re certain to appreciate “Citizen Kane” – And if you’ve already seen Citizen Kane, then you’ll absolutely enjoy Fincher’s “Mank” – possibly letting out a laugh when you hear the famed word, “Rosebud.”

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Cindy Matta

A screenwriter, avid skier, and passionate bookseller, I craft stories that challenge me as a writer with a sense of adventure.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.