Gamers logo

Top Simulation Games

The Sims, Planet Zoo, and More

By Kayla BloomPublished 4 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Top Simulation Games

I have never been much of a typical gamer. Shooting games, racing, or any of the popular consoles never held much interest to me. When I was younger, we only had a Gamecube and played Mario Party 8 over and over, but that was really the extent of gaming until my siblings and I received a Wii for Christmas one year. Computer games was my go-to as a teen, and it was then I discovered an affinity for simulation games – the more realistic, the better.

1. Life simulators - The Sims, Paralives, People of the Newbery

The Sims 2 was the first real simulation game I came across. I remember being so amazed that you could control a family and have your own characters. I found it difficult to build houses and navigate the game for awhile though, as I remember not being able to place a crib inside one of the rooms and ended up putting it outside 😊 The Sims 2 truly was revolutionary, with expansion packs such as Open for Business and University adding whole new experiences. I didn’t play this one for long before Sims 3 came out, with updated graphics and a new open world! This is the game I played the longest, and when Sims 4 came out in 2014, I bought it but I don’t think I really played until 2017. I was in college at this point, and took a break from gaming. But even so, I was hesitant to leave the open world, toddlers, cars, and more of the Sims 3. It took me a while to warm up to the new game, but now I could not go back to Sims 3. The gallery addition to the game completely revolutionized the game again. It is so simple to build new and fascinating lots and sims, and just as easy to share.

Now that there is a little more controversy with the Sims 4 and lack of progress, many are looking to new life simulation games to give them something different. People of Newbery and Paralives are two such games that have different aesthetics, but similar ideas. While Paralives is a beautifully created, more cartoon artistic style, People of Newbery seems to be a hyper-realistic game. Wild animals are even included outdoors! I cannot wait until they are released.

2. Planet Zoo

While life simulator games are my go-to, I love animals as well. This is something that is lacking in games like the Sims, with its focus on people and a few pets. Recently, I began looking for any simulation games with animals. I support zoos for rehabilitation, conservation, and to an extent educational purposes, so when I stumbled upon Planet Zoo, I was hooked. Hard to think it only came out on November 5, 2019! With this, you can build your own zoo with super detailed enclosures and take care of a variety of animals. The animal’s animation is absolutely stunning. They feel so lifelike.

3. Farming Simulator 19

Along the lines of taking care of animals, I was a part of FFA in High School. I have always wanted the Sims to included aspects of farming and animal husbandry, but alas that has not yet happened. In the case of this game, you can not only run a farming business through buying land, growing crops, or working for others, you can also raise farm animals such as horses, pigs, and chickens. Though I have to admit the equipment in this game is a bit difficult to get used to, it again is super detailed. Even something has simple as feeding animals may include growing and harvesting the feed, rolling it into bails, specialized equipment to pick up those bails and spreading them in the enclosures. For this reason, I have not played this game as much as the others, but it is absolutely deserves a spot on this list for the amazing detail and beautiful graphics.

4. Jurassic World: Evolution

So this one is a bit different from the others, but it follows the same kind of idea. Modeled after the film franchise, the game does take your through multiple missions to set up the parks on several islands. And just like planet zoo, you get to build and take care of animals – but not just any, Dinosaurs! And let me tell you, the dinosaurs in this game are beautiful once again. It is well worth the money.

If you enjoyed this article, please feel free to leave a tip. Anything can help as I try to deliver all kinds of interesting content to readers. Please consider reading some of my other works, and I thank you so much for the support!

list
Like

About the Creator

Kayla Bloom

Just a writer, teacher, sister, and woman taking things one day at a time in a fast-paced world. Don’t forget to live your dreams.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.