Gamers logo

'Tomb Raider'

My Favorite Game

By Lela HarrisPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I bought my Play Station 3 in 2013, at the store I saw a copy of Tomb Raider. I didn't know too much about it, aside from the movies and the original Play Station games that came out years earlier. I picked it up and did what most people do: flipped it over and checked out the back cover. After a few minutes I decided to buy it and give it a try. I had no idea what I was getting myself in to, and to this day it has become one of my favorite games of all-time.

When I first started playing, I played just to play the game. I ran through all the levels, beat the bad guys, got all the head shots, and all-around kicked massive butt. I thought I was pretty awesome and loved the game all around. When I met my boyfriend, who also plays, he told me about all the secrets, like the challenges you can complete throughout the game to get more experience points, which help you upgrade Lara Croft. I was so stunned because I did not know that could be done. So I played it again.

I used the 'survival instincts' feature for more than just to tell me where to go. I actually looked for things that would light up. I saw a dream catcher type thing that was lit up. I took my bow and arrow and shot it. Suddenly I got this notification about the ghost hunter challenge and how I have found one of ten dreamcatchers. I was completely stunned and amazed at the same time. I had no idea there was that added feature in the game, and how much it could help me develop Lara Croft throughout the game. I started playing the game in a whole new way and it heightened my experience.

The game itself is absolutely beautiful and to this day I have played it over about five or six times and I am not sick of it. Each time I find something I didn't know about the time before, or finished a challenge I couldn't finish the last time I played. There is so much to discover in Tomb Raider and I find something new each time I play. I love to challenge myself and I am on a mission to find everything, finish all the challenges and find all the artifacts and documents that are in the game.

One of my favorite things are the hidden tombs. I think I played the game three or four times before I finally found them all. In order to finish the tomb you have solve a puzzle, and they can be difficult, or puzzling to say the least. Once you figure them out you get to go up to the top and open what looks like an ancient codex and get a lot of experience points. When you have a certain amount you get a point to use to upgrade Laura Crofts abilities, which make her stronger throughout the game. I still haven't been able to fully upgrade her yet but I am working on it, each time I play.

Another thing I am trying to upgrade all the way are her weapons. Throughout the game you eventually get four weapons. You start out by finding a bow and arrow, then a handgun, rifle and finally, a shotgun. She also has a climbing axe that can be used as a weapon, but that upgrade is pretty quick. To upgrade the weapons you have to collect salvage from the levels and by looting the corpses on enemies you kill. The more salvage you collect the more upgrade you can "buy," so to speak. I have almost upgraded all my weapons, and each time I play I find more and more salvage.

The story of the game itself is pretty creative. Laura and a team of researchers are searching for an ancient kingdom, Yamatai, and get shipwrecked and stranded on an island inside the infamous Dragons Triangle. On the island they encounter a group of men who have been shipwrecked for years and can't escape. They are led by a mad man Mathias, who kid naps Lara's friend because he believe she is a descendant of the Sun Queen. You have to save her from being scarified and break the curse that is keeping you from leaving the island. The story is captivating and keeps you interested and wanting to play from start to finish. There is plenty of fighting, and side missions to keep you busy for hours.

action adventure
Like

About the Creator

Lela Harris

I have been through a lot in life. More than most but not as much as some. I took up running as a way to combat my ever present depression. I have combined my two loves in life. Traveling and running, every state

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.