Gamers logo

Three Contenders for 2020 Game of the Year (Before Next-Gen)

These pugilists are looking to knockout next-gen.

By Steve FusinatoPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1

I'd love to tell you that I scratched my head for several days over the creation of this list.

That I, a fervent power walker, traveled miles upon miles with my loyal Boston Terrier by my side, reflecting on the gaming year we've had so far.

It would bring me so much joy to tell you this very personal shortlist for game of the year--so far, at least--took so much energy out of me that I needed to take a sabbatical from work just to recuperate.

Sadly, that isn't the case.

These are the three titles that popped up when I decided to sit in front of my computer to write this article. And frankly, I didn't even think twice about it. Sure, there's the exclusion of powerhouses like The Last of Us 2 and the Final Fantasy VII remake which would have probably seen me lapidated by my peers if I was an actual games journalist.

Well, guess what? I'm not.

Of course those two massive games were great experiences, of course they deserve to be on a game of the year list and chances are they will be. Having said that, they just don't make the cut when pitted against my three selections.

I feel like the games I'll be delving into below were sculpted by the gods of escapism themselves. Carefully tailored to be enjoyed by anyone capable of picking up a controller in 2020.

Crafted for the sole purpose of allowing us to forget what's happening outside in order to dive into worlds where we control the narrative. Universes where we can build a community, tear down Mongolian strongholds, or befriend the Gods of Olympus.

For me, all three of these titles arrived at the perfect time. As uncertainty, anxiety, and depression reeled its ugly heads; these titles made life that much easier.

We all owe a debt of gratitude to the developers for launching these seminal games in the middle of a year that will mostly be remembered for opening the new chapter of the console war as we continued our war against an invisible enemy.

Animal Crossings: New Horizons

When I mentioned these games were all individually released at the right time, this is what I meant.

As quarantine measures were put into place due to the looming threat of the coronavirus and working from home became the norm, little did we know how much time we'd be spending on our own little island.

As confinement began, Animal Crossing: New Horizons allowed us to experience the truest possible sense of escapism required in the middle of a global pandemic. Personally, working hard to get my island to five stars became a part of my daily routine.

Not many things in 2020 have been as fun as filling up my coffers by playing the turnip stock market. Visiting other islands to not-only yield returns akin to early Apple investors but also get that feeling of discovery which has been taken away from us due to travel restrictions.

When my daily to-do list was completed, I'd simply wander around my island. Fishing, walking through my orchard, or rolling around in my professional wrestling ring.

For someone with a family, most of my time during quarantine was dedicated to taking care of them. Working from home, watching my daughter while my wife--an essential worker--pushed through the difficult realities of masks, visors, and keeping a clean workstation.

When my day would wind down, Animal Crossing would sweep me up with hours of real-world tasks like watering plants and picking weeds. Nothing overly complicated, no complex mechanics to understand, just plain ol' fun.

And boy have I enjoyed my over 150 hours on my island which I admittedly have not visited in quite some time. My residents are probably getting worried about me, I should pop in to marvel at the autumn leaves or catch some new bugs.

Ghost of Tsushima

Here's the AAA meat to this proverbial video game sandwich. Whichever way you slice it, Ghost of Tsushima will likely be remembered as one of the swan songs for this generation.

That said, developers Sucker Punch have announced it'll be playable in 60fps on the PS5 and it's set to receive a substantial update in the coming days. Adding several features to new game plus and providing returning players with a multiplayer mode.

Like we needed any more reasons to go back to the beautiful, sprawling landscapes and deadly combat of Ghost of Tsushima.

Jin Sakai's tale of redemption as he struggles between honoring his past and freeing his people hit everyone right in the feels. Every step he took, we felt. Every time he drew his blade. Every Mongol he eviscerated.

On the surface, there are the usual tropes associated with open world games. Tons of side missions, collectibles, enemies hideouts, and more.

But once you unravel this first layer and look past the things you'd come to expect from a giant sandbox, you find tidbits of emotion amidst the brutality. You long to continue discovering the land and its colorful landscapes. You find yourself wanting to master the arsenal of weapons at your disposal. Dodging, slicing, and dicing as you eradicate the Mongolian threat.

Personally, this game allowed me to release some of the anger that had been bubbling up inside me since we went into lockdown. With every swipe of my blade, I was providing an outlet for my rage.

Hades

This console generation has spawned the revolution of the rogue-like. Games like Spelunky, Rogue Legacy, The Binding of Isaac, and Dead Cells all make for incredibly addictive experiences which leave us clamoring for one more game before bed followed by a quick glance at clock which reads 2:42AM.

For fans of the rogue-like genre, the titles mentioned above provide us with the best possible bang for our buck. Rarely priced over 40 dollars, these procedurally generated marvels encapsulate the perfect storm. Difficult, steep learning curves, riddled with lore, extremely fun.

The same can be said about the final game on my shortlist.

Yes, technically Hades has been out for almost two years but its surprise release on Nintendo Switch a few weeks ago has placed it in the mainstream spotlight it deserves.

Having spent its time in early access, Hades matured into a nearly perfect game. Combining a solid gameplay loop with dating sim elements and action-RPG mechanics to create one of the most satisfying video gaming experiences in 2020.

Like the other titles mentioned above, Hades is the type of game that you'll want to play for hundreds of hours. The more you complete it, the more you are rewarded. The more you experiment with your character build, the more you feel that instant gratification.

Hades is like the song that never ends. Some people started playing without knowing what it was and they'll continue playing it forever just because.

list
1

About the Creator

Steve Fusinato

Video games, sports, 90's pro wrestling and books with pretty pictures. If you like at least one of those things you'll love my posts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.