Gamers logo

The Truth About Isabelle

Isabelle isn't the good dog you think she is.

By Marina MontenegroPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Isabelle attacks innocent plumber.

Let’s start from the beginning.

When I join the town in New Leaf, I'm brand new to the world. I barely know what town I’m going to, barely know my own name. I only just even realized what I look like when I step off this train. Right away, there’s a whole town asking me “be the mayor” .

Now who am I to argue with democracy?

I do it, I do the job. Mind you, I’m in a ton of debt because I just got roped into buying a house in this town, and turns out - you don’t get paid to be mayor. Still, I work hard. I set up nice projects to make our town better. I try crowdfunding them because millennials are into that but you know who pays for nearly everything? Me, the unpaid mayor, that's who.

When it’s done, sometimes I don't want to go to a party to celebrate, say, a new bench. I have to go to my other 5 jobs between my gardening business, fishing, the orchard I run, etc. I’m busy, and I'm also the boss. You remember how *I’m* in charge? as the mayor? so when I say “no, we aren’t holding an opening ceremony for a that bench I paid for” - I mean it. Isabelle, as my employee, should listen to me - but no. Isabelle says “oh, I'll just go in your place.” And frankly, that’s just the first sign of many.

Next, she started bossing me around. I can’t start a new project yet, she says, "it's too soon". Too soon for who? All those villagers who aren’t going to pay for it? Or I can’t work on holidays (even though she’s working). Who’s office is this? Why are you behind my desk? She blocks my projects with random excuses like “You can’t build this here!” Why not, Isabelle? I’m gonna pay for it, aren't I? Why do you insist on making the rules instead of listening to your mayor?

That's When I Knew She Was After My Job.

Then: Happy Home Designer Comes out. And guess who is mayor now? They don’t explicitly say it, but it’s pretty clear – Isabelle is taking over for now.

It says she's “from the town hall” aka, 'you’re not the mayor anymore. Go move my couch for me, bye.' Although it seems to be a temporary position, because – cut to the smash announcement.

It’s summertime, and she’s talking about how the mayor is off camping. She’s still plotting how to stay in the mayors chair and says I’m camping too much - even though she went camping too! There she goes, talking trash about me behind my back for daring to take a vacation (even though if I hadn’t taken it, she’d probably be like “its a holiday you can’t work” anyway).

I’m not calling her out for going go-karting every weekend with Mario and the gang, am I? And now she’s running off to Smash herself. But no big deal, whatever, God forbid I go on a camping trip.

Then she even flat out says: “maybe i should be mayor.”

But let's look at the facts. If people wanted you to be mayor, Isabelle, they would have asked you to instead of a literal random stranger who wandered into town.

Now we know Isabelle is running things while I'm away, cause she says it. so let’s cut to Tom Nook. I won't pretend Tom is any sort of angel - he's always been business first, and he can be a bit shady. But let's give some credit where it's due: he builds entire houses with a 24 hour turn around time, and doesn't charge interest on your loans. He is an entrepreneur, and even helps low-income citizens get their first job and start building their resumes.

Now, Tom Nook was king of that town. We agree he can be shady, but we all knew he had money coming in with his monopoly on selling literally everything. In that smash announcement, his lights couldn't even stay on. his home was falling apart – the man who builds homes couldn’t afford to keep his own home standing?

Isabelle was in charge for one summer while I was camping and she ran my town into the ground.

IN SUMMARY:

  • Isabelle was *NOT* elected by her peers
  • They wanted literally anyone but her, to the point where they made a literal stranger mayor.
  • She plotted against me from day one
  • Usurped my EARNED mayoral seat
  • Destroyed my village to the point where my wealthiest citizens are now struggling

Isabelle is the enemy. Unite against her, or she will take you down with her dumb fishing pole.

nintendo
1

About the Creator

Marina Montenegro

Marina is a nonbinary writer and poet. Their work has been previously published by Pif Magazine, CEO Lit, Aegis Publish house, and more. You can follow Marina on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/MarinaMontenegro.Author/).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.