Gamers logo

The Top 5 Video Games I Got Lost In

Now more than ever

By Jenn KingPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
My weapons of choice

I love gaming. I love getting lost in a beautiful, open world, free from the stress of every day reality.

Free to explore. Free to build and create. Free to cause chaos with no repercussions.

It's just such a release. And we need that in this crazy world today.

Gaming has been a passion of mine since I was a kid. I have over 28 different game consoles (and counting) that I've collected over the years.

My oldest console is an Atari 2600, which I picked up on a Facebook auction group about a year ago. I was excited to grab this because it was my very first game system when I was a kid. I got one brand spanking new in the early 80s.

But, despite all the consoles available to me, I usually just flip between Nintendo Switch and Xbox One X. And there are a few games that have become a little more than an addiction.

Here are the top 5 games that have me coming back for more (lately).

5. Skyrim

I was a few years late to the party for this one. I heard people talking about it and I didn't understand was the fuss was about. And boy do I wish I started it sooner!

I purchased the digital Special Edition through an Xbox sale and I was hooked instantly!

There's just so much to do. You can become a vampire lord or werewolf. You can join different factions, become an assassin, get married (not a selling point for sure!)

I just started a third play through and each has been a completely different experience. I'm still finding new things to see and do.

On a side note, I love all the glitches! I don't how many times I've seen a cow fall out of the sky, or people's heads do a 360. Oh, Bethesda 😂

4/3. Pokemon Sword/Shield

I wasn't sure if I should list both of these separately or as one. For the most part, these games are the same.

A couple gym leaders are different, both have their own exclusive Pokemon in the wild and a different legendary to catch at the end of the main story.

After playing over 200 hours of Sword, I started playing Shield. My boyfriend purchased the double pack when it was released.

I've never really played a Pokemon game before this except Pokemon Snap and Stadium but they don't really count!

I've heard a lot of hard core Pokemon fans don't care for these games. But, that doesn't matter because love them.

2. The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

My favourite Zelda game of all time is Ocarina of Time, but honestly there isn't much replay value once you finished it.

I was so on the fence about Breath of the Wild when it was announced. It looked absolutely beautiful, but it also didn't look like a Zelda game to me.

But when I played it...

O. M. G.

This game is amazing!

The open world is massive and beautiful. There is so much to see and do. New challenges and game mechanics.

I was so into finding every shrine and Korok seed that I put off fighting Ganon until just recently. (And it was surprisingly simple)

1. Fallout 4

I've spent more hours on this game than I can remember. I'm on my 5th or 6th play through.

I'm probably in the minority, it seems many people prefer New Vegas or even Fallout 3 better. I don't know, I just find Fallout 4 more - relaxing. If that makes sense?

Don't get me wrong, there's nothing more satisfying than taking down raiders and super mutants, but I also love the settlement building. Something about it is just so soothing to me.

On the flip side, if I hear one more "another settlement needs our help", I may snap. I try to avoid Preston at all costs .

And you can't forget all the wonderful Bethesda glitches. Classic.

list
Like

About the Creator

Jenn King

Copywriting débutante :D

https://jennwrites5.wixsite.com/writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.