Gamers logo

The G.O.A.T. of FPS's (1st Person Shooters)

In my book at least.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 3 years ago Updated 8 months ago 4 min read
2

1JUN2021; 2435, TUE

Seeing as how there's a new installment in the series due this year, and the fact that I was arguably infatuated with this throwback, I figured why not reflect back on it briefly for posterity's sake? This was hands down the most influential video game for me personally.

Instead of doing homework and/or studying to make sure that I graduated on time from high school; you guessed it. Senior year shenanigans taken to "a whole notha level"...

I almost regret not walking across the stage to get my diploma with the rest of my class. Then again, I might not've joined the military right away; if at all without this game.

A couple more miscellaneous matters: I most def wouldn't have went Grunt had it not been for this instant classic. I legit played this game as if I was getting a seven figure contract from Twitch, like the infamous hometown hero Logic did immediately after he officially retired from rapping, last year or so.

Back to the vid game: The franchise definitely isn't nearly as iconic as the Call Of Duty (COD) one; but similarly isn't without controversy. Simple and plain—it's entirely feasible that there's yet to be a perfect "shoot em up" game; and that there'll never be one.

Modern Combat comes pretty damn close, tho; in my humble opinion (IMHO). Between the often epic firefights as well as the occasional cataclysmic dogfights, the game was a welcome middle child of the futuristic Halo; and the then stuck in the past COD franchises.

I remember vividly when I learned about the in-game challenges of the online multiplayer, and attempting to achieve as many as possible in a very short period of time. I literally lied in wait with an M4 assault rifle and hoped to somehow eliminate four tangos (enemies) with a single thirty round mag (aka magazine/clip).

Speaking of which tho, the different "kits"; available to choose from, for those who didn't wanna be spectators, more or less dovetailed perfectly when each was represented evenly on a team of twenty-four or so. There were only five of them however.

In no particular order: Assault; Sniper; Spec Ops (special operations); Engineer; and Support. I already mentioned the Assault kit's primary weapon when playing on the American teams.

The USMC (United States Marine Corps) service member was also equipped with an M203 grenade launcher attached to the bottom of his rifle (re: the ending of Scarface ["Say hello to my little friend!"]), an M9 Beretta pistol, three smoke grenades, and three "frags" (aka regular hand grenades [short for "fragmentation bomb"]); if memory serves me right. Just as well, the main skirmish that was branded into my memory was when I was using an American assault class against a Chinese spec ops one.

I happened to just barely stake my team's claim on a random base before immediately (and foolishly) bursting out into the open without much of a plan; as usual. As luck would have it, the aforementioned spec ops enemy saw me and decided to unload on my ass with his suppressed submachine gun (MP5 equivalent).

I knew deep in my heart of hearts that I was gonna be eliminated and relegated to searching for my new rival right after my "respawn" moments later. Fortunately, I decided to go out fighting, and was saved by the combined firepower of a fellow Marine who came out of left field too.

Before I could finish uttering a very brief "Thx" to my savior, he was sniped while running side by side with me and my extremely lucky self. My gamer tag at the time was still Deadeye150; so I knew how to immediately tell the difference between a sniper rifle's round and that of any of the other various weapons in this game.

In fact, it got to the point that I was actually one of the few who I have personally heard about sniping a pilot out of an attacking enemy helicopter. Good times.

Well, it's after 2am and I'm fairly certain that I could feasibly do another trilogy at least on this particular game. If this new upcoming addition to the Battlefield series is half as decent as the '05 game that I'm writing about currently, then I might could be forced out of retirement!

In any event, my homie is essentially relying on water, AC (air conditioning), and random music to keep him awake and get us home safely. I intend to proofread this while providing him some light convo, immediately before submitting this 70th or so post by me on this site.

Thx for reading, and I'll love you forever if you think about considering a Like/Tip/Share. Peaceful Tidings.

***

P.S.- For those living under a rock, and/or uninitiated into the American internet slang somehow: G.O.A.T. stands for "Greatest Of All Time". Thx again, and peace for now.

first person shooter
2

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.