Gamers logo

🦠 🦠Subnautica 🦠🦠

🐙🪼🐟🦑 Subnautica Below Zero 🦑🐟🪼🐙

By Ocusan MPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

He wasn’t my partner, but a significant player in the same game I was playing. This connects me somehow to thinking about his unique abilities. He might seem like he doesn’t work but he has a secret hidden inside his home, a secret inside his gaming system. Inside the game he builds many underwater structures holding gardens of flora & fauna. A world of plants each used in recipes needed to create certain items needed. There is no book for the game, it’s simply touch & go. I have not mastered the game to reach a high level because I do not live in a house. When I play, the elevator shuts down. Therefore I can not do what others have done. I can only watch to learn the discovery. Yes, it’s Subnautica, the game that’s intriguing, calling me back. The game begins as I swim from my escape pod to gun island, with only the cloud formation as my guide. He who has the time to build a sea moth & a compass, (I never saw a compass! ) knows the exact longitude & latitude of where the Sea Emperor’s chamber lies. I watch with amazement as he drives downward into pitch darkness for about 10 minutes or more! He drives through volcanic activity that looks like hell is freezing over, as the chamber is found. This is the secret. Once inside he has a conversation with her that helps him solve the game. I on the other hand like to play in the building on the island where there is a star gate that leads to an island on the other side. The feeling of jumping through and landing somewhere else fascinates me. Building a moon pool inside the game labyrinth somehow makes me feel as if I’m partially living upon another world. I created underwater photos of crystals, plants, fish & geysers transferring them to my viewing screen inside my transparent dome. The domes are formed with a hand tool where more sections can be added. There was also a scanner room that has a holographic map where you can touch an area that projects you there. This gave me the feeling like 2000 space odyssey as all of a sudden I was there. The buildings were unique and yet, being under water they can leak from high pressure where you can seal the leak with a tool if your quick enough. There are many lockers for storing tools & salvaged items such as gold, diamonds, rubies & emeralds. There are different metals to find in order to build items such as a sea moth. The game teaches to build from scratch, except certain gear like your scuba suit. There is a laser creating machine that helps put together items once obtained. Since your crashed ship, “Aurora” is burning radioactive material, there is a option to create a radioactive diving suit. I never had the desire to swim near it. The voice on the radio tells when your near a radioactive zone. I did play enough to watch the ship count down to explode, which was exciting 🫠. Meeting other mammals such as the crocodiles & electric eels as well as the nearby Sea Emperor with long horns felt as if i wasn’t in a game, and partially there. It wasn’t until I had a flood in my laundry room that I had to stop playing. I’m not sure why, yet ever since I had played one elevator is forever shut down in my building. Maybe this is because I liked to play in the zero gravity game elevator with the nuclear green glowing ion cubes that opened the star gate allowing my avatar body to fall through in a magnetic field that gave me a real rush. I discovered that my building is connected to virtual reality in which it becomes real, as the flooding indicated. The only thing I don’t like about the game is that there are no talking characters such as aliens to converse with, which would make the game more interesting. The designers have added more monsters instead that just makes it more uninviting. Most players are males, as I have seen only one other female player. I’m not sure if I’ll play again for this reason, and yet I wonder why the game has constructed its jade rock building that holds a isolated item inside a cube of what appears to resemble the 3d Covid virus 🦠 structure. There is also a mechanism that when touching it infects one with the virus. You then have a certain amount of time to find the antidote. I played in a safe mode where it wouldn’t do so. It seemed very dangerous, as I wonder why it was there. Another player had a creepy experience where a hacker went inside his rooms and put his photo on his display screens, that gave him a big scare. 😱 The game does have a few distressing sound effects that touch the edge of danger, evolving into beautiful adventurous sounds that many players don’t record since they are talking over it. I liked swimming among the creep vines that burst like grapes 🍇 & Sliding through algae & Red Sea grass, as the tropical water is so pure & silky smooth it takes away the creepiness. It’s miles and miles of a underwater flight that seems to go on forever. Some players try to shoot the larger mammals, which you need not do since they are all peaceful. Then again, there is Subnautica Below Zero, a second game that dares to play in the arctic. In this game I feared the Leviathan that does provoke if swimming too far in the ice water. Enlarged plastic flowers surrounded by caves of snow & ice lead one to a abandoned work station. Hot springs with bear like stalkers prowl the huge ice cliff area. There are instructions to use the penguin to remove the stalkers fur, to make a stalker suit to wear that might have kept me warmer, if I only could find the penguin. The preserved mammoth in a ice museum was also never found, as the game just felt too cold. It also has no interacting players that felt isolating. The game gives a warning before buying that it is only in its Beta form, as if playing is thus-passing. All in all it’s a game that feels as if your swimming in a watery version of the X files, that I hope doesn’t send me to a watery grave..😎😎

adventure games
Like

About the Creator

Ocusan M

I write in a surrealistic style learning new realities as i researched Quantum physics in Quantum Dreaming where the man had a Quantum computer in his home that could see into the future.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.