Gamers logo

Splinterlands- 1,230 Days Journey & Top 3 Tips for New Players

Tricks and tips for playing Splinterlands

By Sam BTCPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
1

This current theme of writing about your journey so far with Splinterlands is really thought provoking. It makes you take a look at how you have seen the game evolve over the years specially if you were part of it since the early days.

My Splinterlands Scorecard

When you go to your profile section in Splinterlands it throws up a detailed scorecard showing since how long you have been playing. How many battles you have won, how many lost. Currently at what level you are, your winning streak etc. Good that they don’t show the losing streak, would have been a bit embarrassing.

I have been playing Splinterland for over 1,230 days which in crypto roughly equates to an entire lifetime. I seriously doubt there is any other game or project I have stuck to for that long. Most things in crypto except Bitcoin and Ethereum have very short shelf lives indeed.

I am amazed that I have been playing this for so long, though I must admit there were phases where I was playing over 50 games a day and also periods where I stopped playing for months. There were times I was absolutely in love with the game and also times when I will question myself why am I still playing this senseless game.

Looking back I am glad I stuck to the game as I am really bullish on this game in the long terms.

Experienceing the Splinterlands Ecosystem

As I have been part of the game for so long I have seen different collections, features and changes happen in the game. I also remember a time when the reward payout was so generous that I got Legendary Gold foil cards out of reward chests. Can you imagine that now?

I am still holding onto these cards as I am still convinced they will be worth life changing amounts in a matter of few years more.

I tried out all new collections the roll out and I think the only collection I bought with my actual money was Chaos as I wanted to level up my favourite cards so they can be played upto the Gold and Diamond leagues.

I even bought a Runi, which from NFT collection perspective was not so successful as it did not fully mint out but I am sure it will turn out to be a valuable asset in the future.

My Advice to New Players

Considering I am like a grand daddy of Splinterlands now and I built my collection organically through the rewards I got and in very selective cases invested my money to enhance my collection. If you are someone who does not have too much idle funds or does not want to invest his funds into the game my advice will be you can still try out Splinterlands. The minimum you will have to invest is $10 but after that you are good to go. Of course if you want to speed up things you can buy some cards but that is not mandatory and I am totally against Pay2 Earn mode of gaming.

In case you already have a basic card collection and are wondering how to step up your game I will share some pointers which I learned the hard way and I hope will be useful for you too.

Always Level up your Summoners First

When I started playing I was really obsessed by gathering and levelling up those legendary cards as I thought they determined the win rate of any player. Soon as I climbed up to Gold and then to Diamond league I realised that it was more important to have levelled up summoners else your levelled up monsters are of no use. This for me is the most important rule to keep in mind if you plan to play long term.

Balance Your collection across Different Elements

During my Initial days my favourite elements were water and death and I guess they still are. A grave mistake I did was I used to build and level up only these elements and ignored the other elements. In Bronze league it did not create any problem as there are not many restrictions in fight conditions there but once I moved to Silver and Gold I saw many fights will only allow 1 or 2 elements to be used and if water or death was not there I was almost certain to lose my winning streak.

Keep Brawling Regularly

Many players do not join leagues and don’t participate in brawls. Even I did not participate in brawls as it meant taking out additional time for the game when there are 100 projects to explore in crypto. Soon I realised that brawls are the only way to get those invincible Gladiators and people who don’t have a good gladiator collection are definitely going to get hit on their win rate.

Cheers,

Sam

action adventure
1

About the Creator

Sam BTC

My Post will be focused around Spirituality, Mythology and Blockchain proejcts which are the topics that interest me the most.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.