Gamers logo

Review: 'LEGO DC Super Villains'

LEGO's latest, greatest achievement.

By The One True GeekologyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

If you haven’t played it, go and buy it now.

I was rather disappointed by my last two LEGO game purchases. I found Marvel Superheroes 2 to be convoluted and dull, while LEGO Incredibles was burdened by long, un-skippable cutscenes that made you feel like you were just watching the movies over and over again. Even so, I remained cautiously optimistic when I saw LEGO DC Super Villains.

I am the first to admit, my DC knowledge is severely lacking. I enjoy the odd comic I might pick up and the occasional TV show or film, but I didn’t go out of my way to pick up Super Villains because it was a DC based game. I’m always on the lookout for fun local co-op games to play with my partner, and LEGO games are usually the first suggestion thanks to the decline of local co-op games. I was just browsing a supermarket when I came across Super Villains, and who hasn’t wanted to play a game where you are a villain?

LEGO DC Super Villains is a spin off to the Batman Triology and the fourth installation in the DC based LEGO games. Whilst I wasn’t expecting much in the way of villainy—this was a LEGO game, after all, and at the end of the day even if you’re playing a villain you needed to be the hero of the story—I certainly wasn’t expecting the game to be as enjoyable as it was.

The storyline is fun and well-paced. The voice talent is exceptional and with Mark Hamill voicing the Joker it doesn’t take long to fall in love with your new role as Gotham/Metropolis’s newest villain. You can run around both cities (and, later, another planet) in Free Play, helping people and/or committing crimes. Some of the boss fights can get a little irritating, sometimes the camera angle thinks it knows better than you, but these minor flaws are easily overlooked when you’re gliding around as Killer Frost or terrifying policemen as Scarecrow.

Every character has a little ‘file’ on the pause screen showing what abilities they have, and brief back stories. A lovely touch for DC fans and novices alike. Plus, while the main focus is on villains, that doesn’t mean you don’t get to play as your favourite heroes—there are opportunities later in the game to play as members of the Justice League.

The thing that I cannot praise enough is the character customiser. Indeed, its developers have taken no subtlety in showcasing the design system as the first thing you are introduced to in Super Villains is the new character customiser. Regular LEGO game players will know that the super hero character customiser has been severely lacking in previous games. Powers were linked to certain pieces, such as flight to a hair piece or ice powers to a face plate. The first look at this customiser is a little overwhelming, everything is organised by piece, you can change the colour or every hairstyle, and there are clearly many things to be unlocked. Once you complete the story and reach Free Play, it gets even better. You can pick a selection of any powers, assign them to buttons, mix and match and run around as your very own super villain. It’s very easy to use once you’ve had a look around it, and between myself and my partner (split screen co-op) our two characters had almost every ability you needed to complete Free Play with just the two of us.

LEGO DC Super Villains has become my favourite LEGO game, and I hope it spawns sequels and other hero/villain games with the same mechanics.

10/10, I cannot recommend this game enough.

~Anduril

action adventure
Like

About the Creator

The One True Geekology

"Strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government." - Dennis the Peasant

Come find us at itsgeekology.com/collective and www.facebook.com/itsgeekology/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.