Gamers logo

REVIEW: Animal Crossing: New Horizons

I was a novice to Animal Crossing New Horizons and didn't know what to expect

By Albert HauerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I was a novice to Animal Crossing New Horizons and didn't know what to expect. The game's basic concept is that you live in an anthropomorphized world with adorable Shiz-Tu named Isabelle.

I don't understand why I didn't get a copy of Animal Crossing before New Horizons. I am also disappointed that I did not have the chance to play this game. I feel like I missed years of enjoyable, relaxing gaming. But I am so happy I found it now.

New Horizons has charmed me right from the beginning. The aesthetic is impeccable and the HUD is stunning. Although this is not something I often mention in game reviews but the graphics design for everything is beautiful, especially the Nook smartphone which is an excellent mechanic within the game.

It is so easy to play, even character customization. At first, I was not thrilled with the lack of options for clothing, but it has become clear that this is not a game that will overwhelm you with everything. This is refreshing.

I have to admit that the format of Animal Crossing : New Horizons was difficult to grasp. It is unlike anything I have ever seen, except The Sims,. In the Sims you have all the options, can skip time, and can have everything right from the start. Animal Crossing, on the other hand, is in real-time. This is something completely new to me.

Being a very impatient person, I was concerned that this would be a problem for me. However, I love the way the game drip feeds mechanics to you, which encourages you maybe to stop playing until tomorrow. This is a great strategy, since it is easy to fish for two hours straight. It's so much fun to wake up every morning and check the progress of my island. I cannot even express the excitement I felt when the museum opened its full doors.

My favorite aspect of the game is the museum. The museum displays them, which is one of my favorite things about games like this. The aquarium is enormous and beautifully designed. It's just what I expected. It could have been so simple, but the attention and care that went into it is amazing. Nothing is more satisfying than seeing all your finds displayed in such beautiful ways.

I'll admit that I struggled over the last week. I saw so many people progress so quickly and was feeling a bit behind. My inexperience was evident and I found myself frustrated after misreading something. I spent two days waiting for Tom Nook, when all I needed was to choose a dialog option that I didn't think would work. This is due to my inexperience with the game. 'Kokoro Island is now a vibrant community.

The game is so enjoyable that I didn't want it to be negative. However, the limitation of having one island per console is the most disappointing thing about the game. Although this has been known for some time, it is still annoying. When I realized you could have another save file, they would all live on the same island, I was open to it. It just doesn't feel right.

If you're playing solo, you can't interact directly with another player. The leader is the one who controls the game, and the second person follows them around, unable to access their pockets. It reached a point where my island felt invaded by an unknown force. My boyfriend felt strange being there without me. So, we deleted his save file.

It is disappointing and frustrating, as we don't intend to buy another Switch to have two islands. I was disappointed because this beautiful game, which is so pure and wholesome, has an annoying aspect to it that is solely down to Nintendo wanting more money.

Animal Crossing New Horizons, despite the fact that I still owe over 100,000 bells an entrepreneur Tanuki, is a lovely game. Although I don't think I've even scratched the surface of the island since Friday, I am excited to see it flourish in the coming months.

product review
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.