Gamers logo

Ranking 2-D Metroid

A fans opinion, blended with nostalgia.

By Gray Beard NerdPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

Over the last few weeks I have been quickly playing through all the 2-D Metroid games in reverse order of release. Starting with Dread I worked backward through my catalog playing all of the way back to Super Metroid. I have written reviews for each on which I will leave links to throughout if you want to see my thoughts spelled out in detail about each game. Throughout this journey though I was left with one burning question, which is the best? I would never consider my choice to be the definitive one and I am sure the list I am about to post here will be filled with controversy. Just bear in mind that this is my list, not yours. You are entitled to disagree, in fact I encourage you too, no one person should have the say as to what game is best over another. My list is just based on my personal preferences which I will try and explain as I go. So let’s get to it, going in reverse order here is my ranking of 2-D Metroid from Super to Dread.

Other M: Some may argue that it is not a true 2-D Metroid and I would agree with that assessment. But it is not a true 3-D one either. What is left is sort of a mess, a hodgepodge between two styles uncommitted to either. With the appalling narrative and restrictive controls the game just pales in comparison to every other on this list. It is not without its merits, but every good talking point there are multiple terrible decisions on the part of the developers to counter them. For such an essential piece of the narrative for the series it is a shame that it is just not fun to play through.

Samus Returns: This game is great, I really like the direction Mercury Steam took with the remake of Metroid 2 and the game is very fun to explore and play. Dread’s DNA is so prevalent that upon replaying it I found more than I have ever before to enjoy about this game. But I do not love it and the reasons are largely circumstantial. When it came out it was repressed by a dark cloud of circumstances it simply could not escape. Why was Metroid released on the 3DS, when Zelda and Mario were releasing on the Switch? How did it compare to AM2R? Wouldn’t sprites have been a better fit for the hardware instead of 3-D models? The answer to these questions matter far less than the fact that they existed at all. Fans were upset with Nintendo for how they were handling the franchise as a whole. Returns is really good, but it was not good enough to justify what we had been through as a community waiting for it. It needed to be amazing, and it just wasn’t. It feels kind of shallow when I say it out loud like that but the game carries a lot of baggage and as such I have little nostalgia for it. I admit that every other game on this list likely eclipses it for nostalgia alone, but that is just how it is.

Zero Mission: I had a very different experience with Zero Mission than most people probably had when I first played it. I came away a little disappointed. It looked like Super Metroid and in many ways improved upon its mechanics so soundly that some likely would consider it superior. However, one of the things that draws me into the franchise is its roots in Sci-Fi horror. There is plenty of Sci-fi and adventure, but the horror is just missing. It can not be blamed on the hardware because some would argue that the most horrific game in the series was on the same system. Do not misunderstand my criticism, it is this high on the list for a reason. It is superbly designed, wonderfully paced and great fun to experience. But it lacks any sense of dread for the majority of its length and even when it tries to invoke it, it never fully commits. A must play in the series for sure, but a near miss for me, though I admit I play it often.

Super Metroid: Okay put down the pitchforks and torches. This is the hardest call on the list. Not just because I know so many people will be angry but also because the game is so good. It has the best map and environments in the series and is open and explorable like none of the others. It has plenty of horror and tension mixed perfectly with its sci-fi theming. It is arguably one of the most important games of its generation, influencing the genre of action platformers to this day. It should be higher on this list, it really should. But I have to be true to myself and there are two games that I personally prefer. If you can play this game though you really should. It is a masterpiece.

Fusion: Fusion on the other hand is not a masterpiece. Its world is artificial and much more restricted than Super. It introduced a more story centric style to the franchise which remains contentious to fans. The Varia Suit looks like vomit with its really odd choice of colors. I know all these things and many more critiques besides, but I just do not care. It is not a masterpiece but when I play it, even for the tenth or so time, it succeeds in a way that I believe to be paramount to the Metroid series. It produces the right amount of tension in every decision it makes. The SA-X, the sound design, Samus’ appearance and the bosses. Everything in this game culminates in a rollercoaster ride. It was until recently the hardest game in the series and to its benefit. In my replays of Super and Zero Mission I died maybe twice across both titles. Fusion, even as much as I have played it, killed me several more times. The game is razor focused on its theme and in my opinion, this focus elevates the game far above what it represents graphically and mechanically. When I think of Metroid, this game is the one that comes to mind first. Or at least it used to.

Dread: Dread is the culmination of everything great about Metroid. The Tension and difficulty of Fusion combined with the intrigue of Super and the adventure of Zero Mission. This is still improved further by Mercury Steam polishing their own contributions made in Samus Returns to form a cohesive whole that now stands as the definitive Metroid game. And have you seen those graphics? We can finally see and appreciate the details that were always so important for this franchise thanks to the horsepower of the Switch. I did not stress this enough in my review but Raven Beak is a powerful antagonist. The idea of an evil Choso is such a cool concept and convincingly explains why the Choso ceased to exist. Think about it, Raven Beak was probably pulling strings behind the scenes for decades. Influencing his brethren to build more powerful weapons to fight off the X parasites. When they succeeded in producing the ultimate bioweapon, he turned on them openly, destroying all those who might oppose his plan for domination. Samus, Mother Brain, and the Metroids. All of these were made, or in the case of Samus, turned into weapons, why? For Raven Beaks carefully disguised ambition. You can even see hints at this the way he effortlessly manipulates Samus in the game. The game builds on the lore in a convincing way without detracting in any fashion from what came before. It is masterful and elevates every game in the series, yes even Super Metroid. It is, in my opinion, the best.

Thanks for reading this, click the links if you want to know my in depth thoughts on the games on this list or just want to see what other reviews or stories I have posted.

list
Like

About the Creator

Gray Beard Nerd

A nerd who is into cars, video games, movies, book and more. I love to write and hope to share what I have written with others. Please enjoy!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.