Gamers logo

My Review of "Uncharted: The Lost Legacy"

I finally got a chance to finish this game and this is what I thought.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Uncharted: The Lost Legacy came out back in 2017. I know that's not that long ago but in video game years 3 years is an eternity. I first bought this game when it went on sale I think back in 2018 and was looking forward to playing it.

I've been a fan of the Uncharted series for a while. I played through number 1 through 4 and enjoyed each one of them. They all played like a beautiful hybrid of an Indiana Jones movie and video game. Of course, Nathan Drake was the main character for those 4 games.

In The Lost Legacy, the new hero is Chloe Frazier. If you've played through the Uncharted series you would probably remember her from Uncharted 2: Among Thieves. She was a supporting character but she was pretty much Nathan Drake's equal in the game. She also showed up for a brief stint in Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception.

After Uncharted 4: A Thief's End, it was said that Nathan Drake would no longer star in the Uncharted series. It was a fantastic game and they ended his run very nicely.

So when they announced that they would have another Uncharted game people were wondering what was going on. Fortunately the developers remembered that they had an ace up their sleeves. Chloe is every bit as sarcastic and fun as Nathan Drake was. She oozes charisma and has us at the edge of our seats when she has her obligatory "Uncharted" fall cut scenes.

This game is definitely an Uncharted game. They have all the usual things that we come to expect from an Uncharted game. Everything is very familiar and somewhat formulaic. I love that though. It's the reason why I keep buying these games.

In this game you'll constantly be looking for some puzzle that will open the door to another level. While you're looking for the puzzle you'll encounter enemies to shoot down with some cut screens. Every so often your character will fall because a ledge is weak. You know the drill if you've played the Uncharted series.

Other than the change in main characters this game did change one thing. There is a level where it seems pretty open ended. I wasn't really used to this. The Uncharted series has always been pretty linear in nature. You know exactly where to go at all times, except when you're involved with a puzzle. There's one level in this game that will have you searching gigantic map to find your puzzles.

This was probably the only thing that really frustrated me about this game. I got so frustrated that I stopped playing it for a while. I didn't look at the game for a while. Then the global pandemic hit and I got stuck at home in quarantine. I finally had the time to play through the game.

Boy was I glad I came back. Once I got over that level the game was just like I remembered the Uncharted series to be. It had all the charm and fun that I've come to expect from the series.

Chloe's sidekicks in the game were also a welcome addition to the game. They have Nadine Ross, an ex mercenary and Nathan's brother Sam. They complimented the game fairly nicely. Much like Sully and Elena did for Nathan in the original 4 games.

The game has a few kinks to it though. At times controlling the character can be a little weird because sometimes the camera and the character animation don't meld great. It's very rare but you can accidentally fall off a ledge in the wrong places. This has always been an issue throughout all of the Uncharted games though.

They added a climbing pick to the game but they rarely even used this skill in the game which was really weird. Why give us extra skills for the character if they're never going to use them? Picking of locks was also added to this game. It was done very rarely. So rare that I thought it was more of an afterthought idea than anything.

Overall, I really loved this game. There are a few gripes but nothing big enough to not give it the praise it deserves. For those that want to feel like bad-asses I highly suggest turning the difficulty to low and have at them. You'll feel like a superhero running and gunning your way through the game. I have to give this game an 8 out of 10. It was everything that I was looking for in an Uncharted game. I was kind of wishing there was more though.

adventure games
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.