Gamers logo

My letter to Konami

Raiden?? Raiden!!!

By Jenny SalPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
My letter to Konami
Photo by Nikita Kostrykin on Unsplash

It was summer time. School was out and there I was, 12 year old me hanging out at my cousin’s mansion like house. It was huge, gorgeous, and looked like something out of one of those real estate shows. But this story isn’t about his MTV cribs house. This story is about me.

I remember sitting upstairs in a bedroom that was pretty much designated to me whenever I came over. I was minding my own business while my brothers and cousin were downstairs playing video games. I believe I was drawing and sketching some random characters to pass time. Suddenly I heard my cousin and brothers yelling with excitement and I couldn’t help my curiosity.

I sprinted down the stairs and into the living room to see them all huddled up at the TV. I stared at it intently wondering what all the hubbub could possibly be about. My older brother was playing Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty. He had just reached the part of the game where a mysterious man in a scuba suit enters an elevator. I had come right at the moment when he is halfway up the elevator and he removes the scuba mask from his face.

That’s when I saw him. His light blond hair and pale skin. Who was this guy? I remember moving closer to the TV and being absolutely enamored. The scene proceeds to introduce him as “Raiden.” Raiden... my blue eyed white dragon (Oh yes, the extra cheese you will find with all my personal stories haha.)

My brother and cousins didn’t even notice me sitting there but I was glued to the floor. My brother continued to play for hours and at this point, I was extremely invested in this person’s journey. I watched my brother stick up bad guys, make them dance for dog tags, and simulate kissy noises to women’s posters in bathroom stalls. You just have to play the game to understand.

I’m not sure how long we ended up sitting there watching him play but when we had to turn the game off I was so upset. That night I could only think of Raiden, I dreamt of Raiden, I just wanted to be with Raiden. I was in love. Now don’t tell me you’ve never fantasized about a fake character. I know there were definitely some boys who were head over heels for Jessica Rabbit or Princess Jasmine, etc. Don’t deny.

The next morning I begged my brother to keep playing the game, he even looked confused to see my interest. This was before my video game nerd saga began. He continued playing and I became more in touch with the characters. I started understanding the backstories and the mission being carried out. I was in awe that this guy was able to do so much. He was unstoppable. Days went by and my brother kept playing and I kept watching. Don’t get me started on how giddy I was to see my favorite part of the game. If you’re reading this and you’ve played... you already know where this is going. Yes, the infamous part where Raiden is running around nude and you have to fight off baddies with just one hand while protecting your private area. Ask Konami.

After my brother completed the game, I mustered the courage to take on the game the only way I knew how. Very Easy Mode. I was 12, I hadn’t played a game like that yet, give me a break. I ended up beating the game, playing the VR missions, completing it on Easy Mode, and even taking on Normal Mode. I didn’t get very far on Normal.

A year or so went by and my obsession was still as strong as ever. I used to scavenge the internet for pictures of my make believe husband and anything I could possibly find out about his background. Gosh, I even managed to style my curly thick hair and straighten it to look like his love interest’s in the game, Rosemary. It was parted down the middle, with one side over my shoulder, the other side behind my back, tucked behind my ear. Oh Lordy. This was when straighteners were trash and made of metal. It wasn’t cute.

Little did I know that while doing my research, my love interest was being trashed online. I started seeing comments about how much people hated Raiden. They wanted OG Snake in the whole game and thought that Raiden was a wuss. They said they were tricked into thinking Snake was the main character but really he wasn’t. I read so many comments stating the same things. He’s such a girl, a pansy, a pretty boy. They said he single handedly destroyed the Metal Gear Solid franchise and it wouldn’t recover. I was heartbroken. How could so many people hate someone I loved so sincerely?

A few days later I decided to fight for my mans! I wasn’t having it. I sat in my room and started writing a letter to Konami. I don’t even remember how I got their address. Either the internet or possibly the booklet from the game. In my letter, I raved about Raiden. I wrote about my absolute love of his character and how I thought he was the best part of the game. I begged them to put him in another game so they could show him off more. I kid you not, I even made a new bad guy character, I asked Konami if they could add a man named... Gaseous. You see, there are characters in the game by the names of: Liquid, Solid, and Solidus. My idea was... Gaseous. I can’t make this up. It makes sense though right? Solid, liquid, gas? Oof. Anyway, I thought it was the most brilliant thing anyone could possibly ever think of. I wrote out two solid (no pun intended) pages, front and back to send to Konami pleading my case.

That day I got a stamp from my mom and put the letter in the mailbox, I flicked the flag up and waited eagerly for a response. Every day I went and checked the mail, yearning to see a letter addressed to me. Days went by and I started to forget, another week, and then another.

One day I was coming back from school and I saw my older brother standing at our front door, he was holding a letter and said “Hey, this came for you.” He had an odd grin on his face and I could see the red Konami logo on the outside of the envelope.

Could it possibly be? No way! They actually wrote me back?? They probably love my Gaseous idea! They must think I’m a genius! Yup, those were all the thoughts running through my mind. I grabbed the letter and ran up the stairs into my room. I wanted to tear through the envelope but then I remembered it had Konami beautifully crafted in the corner, and my actual name it was addressed to.

I opened it slowly and delicately, as if not to harm the paper and the treasure hidden within. Finally, I got the envelope open and there it was. My letter. I sat on my bed and opened the trifold to see “Dear Jennifer” at the top left. The fact that it actually said my name, they actually addressed me.. I felt like Raiden himself wrote the letter.

It started off by stating that they truly appreciated me being a fan. It said that they thought it was great that I cared enough to send a letter. They went on to explain that for legal reasons they would not be able to pursue my ideas, but they thought they were awesome. They also wrote that they didn’t know what was next for the franchise but they hoped I would continue playing their games. They thanked me again for being a loyal fan and that was pretty much it. It was short and sweet, nothing super crazy. But it was a response. That letter made my day, my week, my month. The fact that they took the time to read my letter and actually respond meant the world to me. I was honored. That piece of paper became my most treasured item.

Unfortunate to say, one day while at recess someone stole my folder full of all of my prized drawings and the letter I held so dearly to my heart. I searched for it for hours. I cried for days.

But there is one silver lining.

7 Years after Metal Gear Solid 2 had released, Metal Gear Solid 4 came out. Guess who played a role in that game? Yup, my mans Raiden, and he was all grown up, bad ass, and everyone wanted to play as him. BUT, he was an unplayable character throughout the whole game. All those little Snake fanboys who trashed Raiden now wanted to play as him and they didn’t get the satisfaction. Well played Hideo, well played. 5 years later, Raiden got his own solo game. Metal Gear Rising. I played it a full 12 years after I had first seen Raiden. He was just as dreamy and the game was brilliant, but I’m probably biased.

And you know what? Sometimes I like to think that that shy, geeky, love struck pre-teen’s letter had something to do with Raiden getting his own video game...

You never know. No regrets.

action adventure
Like

About the Creator

Jenny Sal

Welcome! I always suck at bios but here goes. I love writing, it’s come passionately since I was about 12. That’s when I became a peak anime and video game nerd. I dabble in short stories and poetry :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.