Gamers logo

My Favorite Video Game Systems

An Awesome Look at My VG History

By Matthew SullivanPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
2

15. SNES Classic

The SNES Classic is a great system. I think it's definitely for a nostalgic gamer. I love the system. I never had a SNES back in the day, so I was happy to preorder and pick this up. My favorite games to play here are Zelda: A Link to the Past, Street Fighter II, SMW 1 and 2, F Zero, and Kirby Super Star Saga. I wish they'd allow this to be played with wifi.

14. The Original Nintendo

This is where it all began! I was six years old when my father brought this home. It came with TONS of games, too. I loved Super Mario Bros and Duck Hunt. I also played Mega Man 6, Zelda, and 1942. What I didn't like about this system is it would only work for me 70 to 80 percent of the time. Other times it would mess up LOL.

13. PS Vita/PS TV

The PS Vita is an interesting system that was unfortunately AHEAD of its time. This system had PS3 level graphics and a a terrific control scheme... but most notably, a second analog stick. I loved playing Killzone Mercenary.

12. Gameboy Color

The GBC was the first system I ever saved up to buy myself. I loved it, but I didn't like having to get two AA batteries all the time. It's way better than its predecessors the Gameboy and Gameboy Pocket. Its biggest feature... sadly was that it was in COLOR. HA!

11. Nintendo Wii U

This was a terrific system. I loved how the system tried to push the "two screen theory." It was a terrific system in the sense that it was a step up from the Wii. I love the games the system had, too, like Super Smash Bros. Wii U, Pikmin 3, and Mario 3D World.

10. Nintendo DSi XL

The NDSi XL was a REVOLUTIONARY system for me. It showed me that a handheld game system could be so much more than just a game machine. This thing could take pics and record sounds. Other than that, its biggest feature was the fact it was XL LOL.

9. Xbox One S

The Xbox One S was a dope system. While offering almost the same experience as the PS4, it gave it to me in a different way. I really enjoyed playing games like Gears of War, Halo, and... well, Forza was cool. I feel it didn't have enough exclusives in a generation where exclusivity is very important.

8. Nintendo Switch

The Nintendo Switch has grown on me. It's a great system. It's main lure is the fact that it can be played at home on a TV or on the go as a mobile system like a Gameboy. Graphically, it's not much better than the Wii U, but I do love it. It has a much stronger lineup of games than its predecessor. However, a lot of its games are just Wii U ports. My favorite games to play on it are Zelda: Breath of the Wild, Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, and Super Smash Bros. Ultimate.

7. Nintendo 3DS XL (Regular and New Edition)

I really liked this system. It seemed to be a prayer answered. I was able to play a remaster of my favorite game of all time, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. The system also had great graphics and had a nice 3D effect (that was tolerable LOL). Mario 3D Land was dope, too.

6. PS4

My current favorite console does a lot right. It has impressive graphics and it incorporates social media really really well. The PS4 has a lot of great exclusives like Horizon Zero Dawn, Uncharted 4, and God of War. The PS4 controller might be the best I've ever used. It looks cool, too!

5. Nintendo DS Lite

This system was really cool and simply revolutionary. The system used two screens really effectively. It had a touch screen on the bottom, which was a trend that continued on the N3DS. This system had some interesting games like New Super Mario Bros., Star Fox Command, and Advance Wars Days of Ruin. Consequently, I didn't like the two Zelda games of the system.

4. PS3

This system was really advanced. I remember getting it in December of 2008. My mind was blown. Games like Metal Gear Solid 4 were amazing, and it only got better. This system introduced some very basic, but unique features like the ability to store games on the hard drive.

3. Gameboy Advance

I cannot think of another handheld I loved more than the GBA. Games like Super Mario Advance 1 and 2, Zelda: A Link to the Past and 4 Swords, and Mario Kart Super Circuit. I loved how big the screen was. Ultimately, the system just had too many great games to not have a special place in my heart.

2. PS2

The PS2 is a terrific system! It singlehandedly made me a Sony fanboy. Games like WWE Smackdown Just Bring It and Gran Turismo were fun, however, games like Final Fantasy X, God of War, and Grand Theft Auto 3 made me huge fans. The system was just amazing, having the best assortment of games I have ever seen for any system.

1. Nintendo 64

The N64 is my favorite system ever! It’s just so amazing. It popularized the ability to play four player couch co-op. We all know couch co-op is kind of a lost art these days. Games like Super Mario 64, Mario Kart 64, Goldeneye 007, and Star Fox 64 were instant classics.

Zelda: Ocarina of Time, of course, was—and still is—my favorite game to date.

list
2

About the Creator

Matthew Sullivan

Hello there. I am a blogger supreme. I started a blog on blogger.com www.maxreviewsandthoughts.blogspot.com. There i talk about music, movies, video games and news sometimes.http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/mattayo88

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.