Gamers logo

Long Range vs Run and Gun

Why I'm a long range warrior now

By Sonny EstradaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Just your typical Bloodhound Main

It wasn't until recently that I decided to pick up the longbow or sentinel. For the longest time I tried to run and gun with the R-99 or Alternator when that was still a thing. I would find myself using Bloodhound's tactical to see through walls and then try to run into a room only to get merked by a whole squad. Games only lasted about three minutes.

I thought I just wasn't good. Until I picked up the 30-30 and started hitting my shots. Before, I would pass up all the purple attachments for snipers, getting frustrated when they would be in my bag and not having a use for them, which in turn made me waste time selecting them to drop to pick up the correct type of ammo. This would lead to me having firefights that I couldn't win because I was too busy trying to get the right stuff. Or at least, what I thought was the right stuff.

If you have had the same luck as me, try something different. If you aren't at the K-D that you wish to be at, try mixing up the gun selection. Go into the firing range and pop off some shots. See what is what and which weapons are viable for your play style. For me, I don't like to 'hot drop' and prefer the long game, so getting stuck with a couple of pistols that share the same ammo isn't really that fun to me. I can get away with a Mozambique, but it's rare.

In retrospect, I guess I just thought of myself as a sub-machine gun type of guy. But that wasn't the case in the slightest. I'm more of a cover my team and try spot the enemy first type of dude. Point being, if your favorite weapons aren't doing what you want them to do during the Battle Royale, you may need to switch it up a bit. Try weapons that you have never picked up before.

I know it's easy to just go online and see which is the best and what top players are using, but odds are, you're not a top player. And if you're really unlucky, like myself who's on a Nintendo Switch, you're not playing on PC. (Darn you PC gamers!!!) [seriously... they are the bane of my existence]. Anyway, find out which weapons work best for you. It's not like you have anything to lose by trying new things out. Heck, you might even win a few on purpose!

And all of this can be the complete opposite for you. You might have been trying snipers when you're really a LMG type of person. But I understand, it's not always fun when you don't know how to use a weapon and you're stuck with something you have never really used before. I know, I know. But consider this: Why is it that you are so focused on the weapon you are always using? Was it the fact that you won a match with it? Is it just familiar? Or is it something else? I had to ask myself these questions because I was tired of losing. Yes, I'll pick up the R-99 if it's the only thing available. But you better believe that I will be picking that 30-30 once it pops up out of the supply box. My K-D has skyrocketed since I've made the change. And that's what I encourage you to do Dear Reader/Gamer. Try it out and see how it makes you feel!

P.s. Why on Earth did they take the Alternator out anyway?

first person shooter
Like

About the Creator

Sonny Estrada

There is always truth behind the fiction. Aspiring to adhere to the nuances of objective introspection.

You can send me an email to let me know about my works! [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.