Gamers logo

Load"*",8,1

Dawn of the Digital Deity

By josh tavenorPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Are you familiar with your first gaming computer? Well, the first thing I've ever played video games on was called the Commodore 64. The computer would turn on and you would see some code then you had to type in Load"*",8,1 to access the games or game list depending on its size, and a floppy disc was needed to insert into its drive which was connected to the monitor and the keyboard was plugged into the monitor but it's been so long my mind is foggy on the specifics because right after that came popular devices like The Gemini, Coleco Vision, Nintendo and the Super Nintendo. I thought games like Mike Tysons "PUNCH OUT" and "Super Mario Brothers" were going to be the peak of gaming until the Sega Genesis came out and dominated the gaming community with games like Sonic the Hedgehog, Mortal Combat and a whole library of games that dominated until Sony came out with the "Play Station" and Bill Gates came out with the Disc Drive back then known as the MSDOS or (Micro Soft Disc Operating System) which paved the way for massive sized programs to be read by the OS and when Microsoft saw the future of gaming using this new technology they had to come out and dominate the gaming industry with a console that would change the word multi-player into reality where the other player wasn't in the same room. Hell, they didn't even have to be in the same country. It was the internet mixed with gaming. When I bought my first Xbox (original) I played a military simulation game that blew my mind. When I first plugged in my first original Xbox and inserted Ghost Recon, school wasn't in my future anymore. I thought I would be playing games for the rest of my life from dawn till dusk and that was cool with me. At first, I was amazed at how I could position a squad using A.I. from the Xbox to a position on the map and the maps were realistic like the layout of the Kremlin in Moscow and they would engage the enemy in that location and sometimes a soldier would die and sometimes they would all survive. Then I bought my first internet service and plugged in the Xbox original and I played it like I was training to go to war in real life. Wearing headphones with a microphone, talking to my teammates as well as the enemy which is rare now but when I started for the first year, I was blind to the fact that there was a leaderboard and I was on the top as the best player because of my stats but didn't learn of the leaderboard until my friend across town who played like me and revealed my first-place statistics one day when he said, "Dude, are you ever going to leave the first place position?" I asked him what the hell he was talking about and he revealed the leaderboard and my impatience like asking me "Did you just plug in the game and start playing without checking everything the game was about? Is that why you use the default weapon all the time? You just kept pressing buttons until the game started like a natural right?" And that made me curious so I looked for it in the game and once I knew I was fighting more than the enemy and protecting my position in first place l lost my position right away because of the psychological pressure I felt to keep my place in first out of hundreds of thousands of people. But I snapped out of it and stopped checking the leaderboard and actually thought one day I would work as a drone operator I was so good at the game until this guy Redanka came and we were neck to neck in skill and when I found out he was all the way in Africa, I would use my imagination as to how games would be like when I'm old enough to have children which happened way too soon and watch them play the games of the future. Now, were at a point where Xbox has basically eliminated loading time and is providing 2 x 12 Teraflops of speed and 4K-8K resolution at 120 MHz. or Frames Per Second. What's next; a genital mitt to simulate sex? You write what you think gaming will end up in 20 years?

vintage
Like

About the Creator

josh tavenor

I'm a 46-year-old man who used to train people in Fitness/Nutrition and I was training to be the first Mr. Olympia from Canada but my career was cut short due to a car accident messing up my back so now I'm on disability Ontario writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.