Gamers logo

Little Things That Gamers Do

The Things Someone Can Do When Playing a Video Game

By Robyn FretwellPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hi!

Let me introduce myself; my name is Robyn and I am a gamer! Gaming has been a passion of mine since I was very young and has always been a part of my life. I thought sharing my thoughts and opinions might be fun! This is my first article so I hope it all makes sense!

There are many things that one can do while playing a video game on either a PC, Console (Xbox/PlayStation), or handheld/portable device. Being a gamer myself, I have begun to notice that I tend to do a number of things that you wouldn't do normally if you were around others/in public when playing on any of these devices. Unless you have a friend/another gaming individual who can relate to what I'm about to say. In my case, my other gaming individual is my boyfriend, and it's watching him play on his Xbox One recently, as well as myself personally when I'm in my "gaming mode," that I have noticed some little things that we do while in our gaming mindsets, and I have a feeling we aren't the only ones!

One thing I personally do while playing a game on my Xbox, one of the things I do the most, in fact, is leaning forward. I do this a lot, and I mean a LOT! I end up leaning forward when I feel I'm getting more involved in the plot/story/main part of a game. I do this in many different genres of games. For example, I do it when I'm trying to be stealthy while playing Assassin's Creed: Syndicate, or trying to hack an expert terminal in Fallout 4 (although there are many more!). I do it as I am focused and want to find all of the items, whether it's because I'm an achievement hunter, or I just like collecting as much stuff through the the game as I can, I find myself so immersed in whatever game I'm playing that I will be leaning forward, concentrating really hard on my mission.

Shouting and making noises when being attacked/killed by an enemy during gameplay or by another gamer when playing online multiplayer is another thing I have found both my boyfriend and I doing at some point. It's something I think most people do when playing games. It's a way of venting out the frustration, anger, or any other emotion that needs to be expressed. I personally do it when I get jumped or attacked by another player/party out of shock and panic, and then when I'm trying to kill said person/party, I make lots of noises and say phrases like, "Nope, nope, nope" or "Dammit!" Or a large number of swear words (this happens especially when I die, which is most of the time). It's something that I need to do as I can't get these emotions out while playing the game as it's a game and not a real life thing happening in front of us. This mostly happens for me when playing Overwatch or Team Deathmatch on Call of Duty. This happens through my own negligence and not keeping an eye on my health bar, but it'll happen on pretty much any game I play. I'm not amazing at playing games but I do my best that's for sure!

Another thing I tend to do a lot is talking to myself. I do this in my everyday life anyway, but mostly when I have to figure out puzzles or when I'm planning out a route to take/place to go on a map. I may sound insane but it helps me concentrate, and as I play single player games a lot, it helps me to figure out overall plans and where I need to head next. It's a useful tactic until I die from my non-existent awareness of space, or from being killed. Either way, it helps me play a game, even if I sound like a crazy person!

I hope you enjoyed this little snippet of my brain workings and had a fun read!

Here's to the next one!

This is Robyn signing off!

real time strategy
Like

About the Creator

Robyn Fretwell

Just a woman making her way through the world, reading and doing some fun stuff!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.