Gamers logo

IMVU: Online Experience

I'm looking for other opinions, as well!

By Ashley TobinPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

You may have seen advertisements for an online game called IMVU. IMVU is a virtual world where you can meet people online and socialize. I have been a player of this game for almost six years now, and a lot has changed since then. In this article, not only will I be telling you about my experiences with this game, I also want to hear about your experiences and possible changes that you would want to see.

When it comes to meeting new people, I have no trouble with it. It is really easy to start chatting with people from all over the world. IMVU has a ton of chatrooms for anyone to use, and if you don't find any you like, you have the option to create your own chatroom based on your interests. When it comes to meeting people from online, I've been extremely lucky to make friends that came from the computer to the real world. I know this can be a little dangerous, but I know I can trust them and I know that they are real people and who they claim to be.

While on the subject of people, you can date on IMVU and eventually get married. I have come across some users who do real life and IMVU dating, and some who would rather IMVU Only. I had one experience where I thought I met my soulmate on IMVU and it turned into a real-life relationship. Eight months into the relationship, and it turned out that we were horrible for each other, especially because of verbal abuse and obvious trust issues. Don't let my experience implicate your decision. I know so many people that started out on IMVU relationships that turned into successful relationships in the real world.

The downside to meeting people are the ones who end up arguing with you over the smallest thing. I and a friend have come across multiple new avatars that get very petty and it comes off as annoying and immature. There are also chances that you could come across someone that says they are younger than what they say. Simply flag them as they say it and IMVU should probably take care of it, no problem.

IMVU offers multiple avatar upgrades to make your experience better. One that is very helpful to get, if you are 18+, is the Age Verification Token. This tells other players that you are 18 or older. All you do is purchase the token, enter the information, and add a piece of ID, and if you do it correctly, you should have it in no time.

Along with Age Verification, they also offer an upgrade called Access Pass (AP). You can buy it for 20,000 credits if you have your age verified or 19.99 (depending on where you are from) if you don't. I have this upgrade as well, and in my opinion, you're really not missing much. All this upgrade really does is unlock the sexier side of IMVU.

One last upgrade that I want to touch on briefly is the Name Change Token. If you ever want a fresh start on IMVU (and sometimes, you really need it), then I would highly recommend getting this token. I have used it so many times and the name I currently have now is working a lot better than previous names.

So, now that you know a little bit about IMVU, I will talk about my overall experience. All in all, I enjoy playing IMVU. The game is helpful for me to escape the real world that we live in, and enter a virtual world where I don't have to worry about a thing.

The friends that I have made in this game have actually been my rock whenever I am having a bad day. I know that I am able to trust them and it really has been great that these friendships moved into the real-life world.

I'm not going to lie to you, though. I often have regrets about bringing my online relationship to the real-life world. I know it's not a nice thing to say, but honestly, I feel like it may have been better if it stayed on IMVU. But again, this is just my opinion. If you feel like your relationship is willing to take that challenge, then go for it!

I enjoy IMVU a lot, and I will continue to play it until I feel like I'll be bored of it. If you want to check out a new virtual world, IMVU is definitely worth a try. Now, if you have read this far, if you play/played IMVU, I want to hear your experience with the game, whether it is positive or negative. I'm very interested in hearing what you have to say!

pc
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.