Gamers logo

how games increase my fever to 41 degrees

my body's reaction to games

By Maria Ostasevici Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I'll be honest, I don't play very often. Not that I wouldn't like it, only that sometimes it seems to me that my body has an allergic reaction when I get my hands on PS.

When I was little, I didn't play computer games or other games that others loved.

By the way, I didn't have a computer and there wasn't much interest. I prefer to spend time outside, on the streets with friends or even in the woods. It probably sounds wild to some of you, but to me it's a nostalgia that causes me to explode with positive emotions.

I am 22 years old now. I got married last year and so it happened that my husband is totally opposed to me in terms of games. He is using the PS4 (and of course he hopes to buy his PS 5 as soon as possible). He also plays on the phone, computer, TV, anything is possible even when he is free (the good part is that he doesn't have much time, so he doesn't play much).

If I were to be characterized by a word in terms of games, it would be - competitive. I don't necessarily say about online games, I've played checkers all my life, which I'm very good at and from this experience I understood one thing: "I don't like to lose".

Slowly, we started playing in PS, Mortal Combat, Tekken .. Yes, I really love fighting and everything related to violence and even if it's aggressive, it only provokes positive emotions in me. (I know it doesn't sound very healthy, but that's the truth).

I played once, twice, then I couldn't stop. Why?

The answer is quite obvious. Adrenalin.

"Adrenaline is a hormone secreted in the blood by the medullary adrenal gland in cases of stress. It has the function of preparing the body for "fear, flight and struggle" and has intense effects on blood circulation, muscle and carbohydrate metabolism.

Once in the blood, it increases the heart rate, blood pressure, dilates the bronchi and prepares the body for a massive production of energy by burning lipids (lipolysis) and glucose synthesis. The blood circulation is activated in the central nervous system while in the digestive tract it is diminished. In the central nervous system, adrenaline becomes a neuronal transmitter, coupled with G-protein plays an intermediate role and activator of nerve receptors."

I could feel my pulse increase a few times and I wouldn't stop until I won it at all the games.

Even though we rarely play, sometimes we don't play for a few months at all, when we do, the blood in me gets hot. And here I speak literally, without jokes. I knew I had a special interest in racing games, but I never thought I could get into such a state.

Garfield Kart Furious Racing, that's the name of the game. It was somewhere around 10 pm when we decided to train our fingers. I'm not very good at racing, at every turn I go back with the remote control as if I were really in the car and if I go to the right, my car will definitely turn right too. After about 30 minutes of intense play, I felt hot, i would say even spicy.

It seemed to me that at the next race I would light up and nothing could change that. I wanted a break to go to the bathroom. When I looked in the mirror, I froze. I was so red, like I was a freshly cooked crab for beer. I quickly went to my husband to show him, and when he measured my temperature, we were even more shocked. 41 ° C. My body was boiling with so much emotion and adrenaline that it raised my fever. I drank paracetamol and went to bed. The good part was I wasn't bad. I didn't feel any discomfort, I just felt "hot".

I didn't want to accept that a game can cause something like that, so in a week or so I tried a race again. This time in 10 minutes my hands were shaking and I was like Mr. Krabs from Krusty Krab.

My legs were shaking so hard I couldn't even concentrate on the game. I lost a few times and gave up. It's not worthy of a real player, but let's be serious, I don't even consider myself one of them.

I tried to play Mortal Combat again and I couldn't stand it for even 15 minutes. I felt like I was at the most important competition of my life that I had to win at any cost.

Sounds sick, if you ask me.

The last time I played Tekken was on my birthday, July 10th.

We had a lot of guests, and a niece of my husband wanted to play. She needed a partner. Who am I to refuse, right? I didn't even think about such a variant. I killed her about 10 times. I could feel happiness filling my body. Yes, rather a kind of happiness combined with stress and paranoia. For when I got up I could see in the fog and my hands were shaking again.

I quickly ran to the bathroom and washed my face with cold water. At least I was happy, and in this life, happiness matters the most, right?

I'm not playing now. Just the thought of a good Mortal Combat game stresses every cell of mine, plus I'm pregnant in the 8th month. Out of emotions, I still give birth prematurely, I joke sometimes about this situation. But still, I don't want to risk it.

What do you think, can it be an allergic reaction?

Maybe I'm too competitive?

Maybe my body is not used to such a state?

Have you encountered such situations?

I'm not gonna lie, writing about the game created in me a craving for a game I can't even describe. Am I going to play? Definitely yes, but not now. Why? Because i'm too responsible and this for now it's a risk for me and for my baby.

But you guys, you can play for me too.

Take care.

women
Like

About the Creator

Maria Ostasevici

Communication and public relations student, Moldova

Instagram profile: maria.ostasevici;

mother of two awesome Dobermans.

BEST VERSION OF YOURSELF- THAT'S TRULY EPIC

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.