Gamers logo

Fallout 76: Revisited

Wastelanders didn't do much for the game.

By AjaxPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
My character by my floating base.

Fallout 76 was released on November 14, 2018 (or October 23 if you bought the pre-order and got the beta) and boy was that a messy launch. Not only was the game bug filled (just like many other Bethesda games) the game was just a huge boring pile of lard. The main quest-line isn't something that you could just hop right into and beat right out the gate. I tried that and got my arse whooped multiple times! So if you are a person that just wants to beat the story-line, you better be ready to die a lot, because this game puts you into higher and higher level enemy territories at a very low level if you just stick to the main quest-line.

I'm a sucker and bought this game twice. First time was on a steep discount on the PS4, I played that for a while and only made it to level 90ish or so before I got too bored of the game and sold it. (Main quest-line couldn't be beat yet since they had it go into the free dlc known as wastelanders.) I waited a good year or so before I bought a new copy of the game; this time on the PC. I got a pretty good deal for it as well. After it got released to Steam I got a free complimentary copy on steam with a couple of the classic Fallout games as well.

When I came back to the game I found out that Bethesda had put in a subscription based package that gave you a private world for up to 8 friends and unlimited junk chest. They also had gotten rid of the survival mode of the game as well. I believe you also got a monthly amount of atoms (the currency) to spend on cosmetic or repair kits. They were/are asking $15/month for that subscription. It wasn't worth the money for me to get since I didn't have any friends on Steam

Wastelanders still wasn't implemented into the game when I came back. So the old grind of doing the tadpole missions, Grafton Mayor missions, Rose's missions etc. just got tedious and made me bored once again. Only got to level 10 before I called it quits and waited for Wastelanders to come out. We were all told it would come out around the last few months of 2019, but that got delayed until April 14, 2020. It took them a year and five months to finally give us our FREE update to the game. It added some value to the game, but not much.

The promised NPC's aren't the best and you rarely see them, except for the raiders out in the world that just attack you and don't interact with you. The missions they give you are just as lame and tedious as they are in the base game when they weren't apart of it. I need you to go to this place and than after that you need to go clear across the map to this other place and after that go back to the place you just were and than back to me. You could fast travel to those places or near, but only if you have the caps to do so. I wasn't a trader/seller too much. Didn't really have anything of value to really sell or trade. Most weapons I got would be dismantled for parts, same with the armor. So fast traveling back and forth would make me broke in one play session.

The amount of cheaters in this game is beyond real. A lot of players dupe (duplicate) items in the game with some kind of glitch. When they do that they start dropping it all at people's bases or right in front of them. That's when the game starts to get laggy and it will eventually crash. I remember one time some cheater somehow took my pipboy and I had to start completely over because Bethesda support is trash and will not help you out at all. Fallout's battle royale game-mode, Nuclear Winter, is a disaster. That game is so full of cheaters it isn't even funny. Start of the match you have like a three second delay before you can even move or pick anything up, but some people found out how to cheat that and they already have a gun and killed you before you can defend yourself. There is also the cheaters that just kill every single person in the lobby at the very start of the game. I have stayed away from that game-mode and have not tried to play again. The pvp in base game is kinda cool. If a player attacks you it only takes a bit of health away from you and the only way to activate pvp is if you attack back. If you just let him/her attack you they will eventually get a bounty on them and those higher up players will strike them down. The only way there is a legit free for all pvp is when you activate a workshop. As soon as players step foot into that owned workshop, everything is fair game pvp wise.

The basebuilding is just horrible. They tried to take the building from Fallout 4, but somehow they made it worse. Some walls or plants cannot be placed in certain areas despite it being green because they need support. What kind of friggin carrot plant needs support? It grows in the ground for crying out loud! As you can tell with the picture above my base is indeed floating. I only managed that because I had found a power tower or whatever the hell those tall arse power line things are called. Anyway, I found one of those and could build in the air. So after I got finished I decided to move my base and it stayed in the air! Pretty magical and all since there are no support beams holding that big arse base in place.

They nerfed so many terrifying enemies in this game. I can kill a deathclaw in maybe 5 shots with my level action rifle while it only takes maybe half health away from me, yet a friggin ghoul can one hit me?! I used to be deathly afraid of deathclaws, now I can just walk by and not think nothing about those guys. It's those friggin zombie wannabes you have to worry about now.

I have been a huge Fallout fan ever since I played the very first Fallout when I was around 8ish or so years old. So that would've been way back in time around 2001 when I first got my hands on a Fallout game. That game made me fan, but when Fallout 3 came out and you could actually play that game in either first or third person modes; my mind blew up and made me a super fan! So it's sad to say that Fallout 76 really disappointed me and made me really start to hate the way Bethesda is ruining the great world of Fallout. I can only imagine and hope they scrap the online gaming for the newest additon to Fallout, or at least make it a whole different game mode.

Thank you for reading this hit job on Fallout 76. Didn't want it to go down this path, but there really isn't too much good things about this game to make it a fluff piece. Again thanks for reading and God bless.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Ajax

Canada/United States

Father

Horror Stories/Poems

Poems

Gaming Reviews/articles

Love the outdoors and nature

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.