Gamers logo

Fallout 4: Keeping Your Castle Game Strong

How to keep your Castle strong...

By Jay VergaraPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Late last year I wrote about my undying love for Spectacle Island and the amount of space and freedom it gave you when it came to building a settlement you can be proud of. I'm still tinkering with how I want it to look but for now I've turned my attention to The Castle, the one place I neglected the most.

For some reason, I wasn't a fan of it at first. I didn't really know what to do with it. And then I started seeing people closing off the walls of The Castle to bring it back to its old glory and I thought, sure, why not? But closing the walls was weirdly tricky. Luckily for me, I'm following in the footsteps of settlement giants. Youtube user CB9611's video on fixing The Castle's wall showed me the way and it really help kick my castle up a notch. Take a look a video and see how to bolster your castle.

I'll be honest and say that, more than likely, my rendition of The Castle pales in comparison to his (he actually uploaded an updated tour last month) but, hey, I tried.

So here we go.

I decided to close the walls off completely so that the only point of entry was the main gate. This proved to be a pretty solid decision during the quests 'Defend the Castle' and 'With Our Powers Combined.' Also, you can see I went a little overboard with the front defenses since I knew they would all be coming in there. Don't count too much on generator dependent turrets though. They get knocked out real quick if your generators blow. The majority of the perimeter defenses are heavy machine turrets. There's also a manned artillery piece in every corner of The Castle because why not.

I'll be honest, you'll need to connect every settlement you have via supply lines and most of them should have a manned scavenging station so you have enough resources for this construction. Even then, you'll have to do a lot of junk collecting and/or buying on your own to manage. The big three you should look out for are steel, wood, and concrete. There's also whatever components are needed for your turrets. For perks, you should have 'Science!' at Rank 1 to be able to build the big generators. The number that you build is wholly dependent on what you want to power. I built 3 for safe's sake. You should also at least have Gun Nut at Rank 1 so you can use Heavy Machine Turrets.

The location was kind enough to provide an industrial water purifier that just needed power so water was taken care of. For food it was all about being efficient with space. The interior of The Castle has more than enough space to house enough beds and shops if you elect to have them there. The courtyard has the power armor bays and the caravan stand for the peeps coming from Bunker Hill. I also built a 'caravaner's lodge' along the wall for them to sleep in. They don't use it in-game, but they do in my head.

I left fusion cores in all the suits in the bays because nothing is quite as stirring as seeing your Minutemen plowing through Synths or going toe-to-toe with the Brotherhood in their own suits of Power Armor.

So there you have it. If you're new to Fallout 4 or you finally got to grabbing The Castle, I hope this gave you some ideas on what to do with it.

Now go save the Commonwealth.

rpg
Like

About the Creator

Jay Vergara

I'm a SoCal based photographer and freelance writer with a love for everything nerdy.

Follow me on Instagram at Mediumblast and Twitter on @medivmblast

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.