Gamers logo

Extra Credit Day 6 Video Game Challenge: If Only I Wouldn't Have Played THAT Game

The game that tops my list of games I wish I hadn't played isn't what you probably think it is.

By Matthew BaileyPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
1

Now, before i get into this post let me say this: I love video games, all sorts of video games. I technically prefer role-playing games or first person shooters, but I'm not against trying new games when I have the opportunity. Yet there have been a few games that I have played that have been insanely popular, yet I wound up thinking to myself:

Why in the world did I ever play that game in the first place?

The game that tops my list of games I wish I hadn't played isn't what you probably will think. Honestly, I was addicted to this game for a while and all my friends probably hated me for spamming their notification panel on Facebook; because that is ultimately where this game resides- on Facebook.

You probably have an idea of what game I'm talking about now: Farmville.

Yes, the farming simulation game with social media elements. I look back on that time of my life with disdain and can't believe that i actually spent so much time devoted to building my farm and growing fruits and vegetables.

Seriously?!

Yes, I was addicted and I hated myself for it, but I couldn't stop myself.

I expanded my farm land. I bought animals. I bought new produce. I harvested my crops and I repeated the cycle. Endless hours I spent waiting for the allotted time to expire. I remember looking at the clock and plotting what to plant depending on what the rest of my day had in store.

If I knew that I wasn't going to be able to visit my farm for a long period of time then I would purposely choose the produce and animals that didn't need constant attention.

The adverse was also true, if I knew that I had absolutely nothing to do in the near future, I spent hours online running a side-by-side screen with Farmville in one browser and something else in another while I waited for the time to expire.

pc
1

About the Creator

Matthew Bailey

Husband. Father. Gamer. Cinema Lover. Mix it all together, and there I am. I love all things pop-culture and coffee; but coffee is the best.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.