Gamers logo

Dungeon Master

How DM'Ing My Own Dungeons and Dragons Campaign Helped Get over My Fear of Public Speaking

By J.M. WardPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
1

The fantastic game that is Dungeons and Dragons has come a long way since it was first introduced into the world in 1974. For the most part, people no longer believe that it is a gateway to the Dark Lord, nor that it is going to start making our little ones sacrifice to the almighty Baphomet (though, there are still some that believe that).

As the calendar rolls through, the game gets much more attention in a positive light and it is becoming a much more widely accepted means of entertainment. I've stumbled on many an article applauding the game for its ability to teach children mathematics to problem solving; how to work as a team and the flexing of one's imagination.

The possibilities of the game are truly limitless.

What I want to talk about today is how the game has affected me.

I am a self-conscious person. I overthink every decision I make and it has been something that I have battled with my entire life. I believe this is the root cause for one of my biggest fears which is public speaking.

I do not like talking to people. I mumble; nod in agreement to things that I don't really care for, and all around generally observe things around me as opposed to commenting on them.

I can almost guarantee I failed every single public speech I had to give through public school. It was so bad, I faked sick for an entire week in the seventh grade to not have to give it, only to eventually be forced to do it the last week or I would have been held back. I would never add any passion to these speeches, either. I would read the speech straight from the cue card monotonously, swaying back and forth, not caring if anyone heard a word I said.

Now, this kind of attitude is the last thing that’s needed for a Dungeon Master (or DM for short).

Even if you have never played Dungeons and Dragons (IF you haven't, stop reading this damn article and go out and play it. Now!), most people have heard the term and have a general idea of his or her's purpose; but for those who haven't, I shall give you a brief rundown.

The Dungeon Master is the one who (mostly) controls the game. They are in charge of narrating the players through the story (whether completely original or a published "module"), and in charge of all the action. If you, as the player, encounters any creatures to fight, that’s the DM. Find any treasure, the DM tells you what you've found. The DM is charge of all non-player characters that you will encounter.

And when you want to throw a curveball and kill the King you were to befriend at the kingdom that you're visiting, it's the DM's job to toss his notes in the air, think on the fly and dole out the reward and/or consequences for said actions.

Basically, the DM is the God of your game.

To get back to focus, I'm sure that a poor DM wouldn't need to be good at public speaking, which is fine. As long as the players are having fun, that is all that matters.

For me, however, when I DM, I want to create a fully immersive environment for my players that mumbling my way through a session (what it is called when you sit down and play) just won't do.

From the time I first sat down as a player of Dungeons and Dragons, I knew that I wanted to be the dungeon master. Creative writing has always been an interest and a strong suit, so it was actually the natural step (to this day I still prefer this role). I continued to play and play until finally the opportunity arose for me to step up and be DM.

I prepared my campaign for weeks prior. Creating the world, trying to think of every possible outcome (which in hindsight, for you future DM's, is almost always pointless) my players could come up with. Making every person they could possibly meet in my world ready to go.

When it was finally time to play, I sat at the head of the table, looking at all my friend's faces and I froze.

I don't know if the thought I had to talk them, with all their eyes on me, crossed my mind; or if it had, maybe I thought it would be fine because they were all my friends.

Whatever it was, those first 15 minutes were brutal. I stared at my notebook, reading what I had written (and practiced, mind you) at a barely audible level. I could almost feel my player's interest get up and walk out of the room.

But as time went on, it just got easier. I don't know what it was but it just did. After every session, I would completely forget that I was public speaking to these people and just played.

Now, I'm not saying that this will fix everything. I've been a DM for years now and every time that I get in front of a completely new group, I feel that tinge of fear, but it is never going to be like it was that very first time.

So, basically, at the core of all my ramblings, I guess I am just trying to say that there is one more thing that can be praised about D and D, its ability to help others with their public speaking skills.

I could also be completely full of crap, too, who knows.

It worked for me, maybe it will work for you.

Anyways, thanks for taking some time to stick your nose into this drivel. Now go play some Dungeons and Dragons.

table top
1

About the Creator

J.M. Ward

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.