Gamers logo

'Black Ops 4': A Girl's Point of View

The World's Most Popular Video Game Through the Eyes of a Girl

By Pending ....Published 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Call of duty Black Ops 4

Yes, I know, I'm late to the party! A typical woman, blah, blah blah...

Now, I'm not here to bash one of the most anticipated video games of the year in the way that you would probably think.

I am here simply because I love everything to do with video games. I enjoy them, I talk about them, I take pride in them, and I most definitely look too deep into everything about them. So, no, this is not about losing my boyfriend to video games or how much I hate video games, because, I, like you, am a gamer.

This all being said, I wanted to share a few thoughts I had about the newest addition to the Black Ops saga, since being a massive fan of the Call of Duty series since before I can remember.

The Modernisation of the Call of Duty Series

This has been something that has really been bugging me since around about Modern Warfare 3.

Ever since then, we've had endless amounts of new, modern, totally unrealistic maps, guns, and story modes. It gets a bit boring, doesn't it?

Back when Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 was announced, I remember seeing flurries of comments that were practically begging for developers to bring back the good old Call of Duty days we all know and love, but since, we have seen the opposite.

This yearning for real, warlike content, however, was not ignored...

DICE, the developers of the Battlefield series released not one, but TWO games for the Battlefield series that included warlike battles and realistic graphics.

This for me was a dealbreaker, I was no longer part of the Call of Duty hype. I really thought Call of Duty would pull through this year and deliver but sadly it was not what I was expecting.

The Maps

Meh.

I've seen them before. They're cliche and totally predictable.

I've always been a huge fan of Call of Duty maps, they're usually interactive, fun, big, and cool to explore, however, I am not impressed this year.

The maps are all so small and some of them we have literally seen before: Summit and Firing Range. This lack of originality really frustrated me and I got so bored of the multiplayer aspect of this game fairly quickly that this goes without mentioning the spawns...

Multiplayer Gameplay

Now, I am about to make a very bold statement: WORST MULTIPLAYER GAMEPLAY EVER!

There. I said it.

It is, quite possibly the worst.

For me, this is down to the spawning on each map. I seem to spawn in and then get killed 0.3 seconds after spawning in! It really makes no sense to me.

Due to this, the gameplay seems faster and less relaxed. This is certainly not my type of game anymore. I remember being able to hide and camp places on every map and build up a solid score streak and work towards nuking bitches. Now I'm lucky enough to even make it to an RC/XD and manage to get a positive kill/death ratio!

Guns

Again, this tails on from my first point. Modernisation of weapons has officially reached the level of stupid where it's just not fun.

The guns have become less powerful and barely have enough power to kill someone standing still! This being said, I do really like some of the weapons available, I just wish there were more and they actually worked.

Final Thoughts

To keep it short and sweet. I love the Call of Duty saga and I enjoy seeing them develop and change over time, but Call of Duty: Black Ops 4, for me, has flopped.

We asked for a Battlefield-like game but instead, we got something along the lines of Halo. It's unrealistic gameplay is really something I'm not here for, and it's one of those things that gets boring very quickly.

Overall, I would really like to see the series go back in time and create something more World War based, something realistic, something I can dig my nails into and binge play.

first person shooter
Like

About the Creator

Pending ....

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.