Gamers logo

Being a New Gamer

And What it's Like

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 5 months ago 3 min read
1
Being a New Gamer
Photo by Alexander Jawfox on Unsplash

Well, it’s both exciting and challenging. New games and games re-released with Unreal Engine 5 are definitely a draw.

On the other hand, I am a tadpole in an ocean of sharks and whales. So, navigating this new world will be an arduous test of mental will and strength.

But I’m up for that challenge.

Why Am I Only Joining the Gaming World Now?

Photo by Carl Raw on Unsplash

Yeah, I know twenty-four is a bit late to become a gamer, especially since most begin as kids.

But my parents aren’t gamers and have often said that gamers are pasty shut-ins with no social skills. And already lacking certain social skills, they wanted to keep me from that.

So that colored my opinion of those who played video games more than a couple of times a week until the last few years.

I started making friends who were gamers, and my opinion about it began shifting a bit. However, several of them treated it like it was their job even though they weren’t professionals, which annoyed me greatly. 

But it wasn’t until my second trip to Texas that I realized gaming can be fun. Or at least virtually hanging out with people.

So What Am I?

Created by me with DALL-E

Well, according to the gaming world, or at least my gamer friends, I am what is called a blueberry. Now, brand-new gamers or new players of a game are called blueberries.

I believe it’s because we show up as blue to other players or something like that, but I’m unsure as to the specific reason. I think the term is funny, though.

And I think it’s mostly used with multi-player games.

How Are My Gaming Skills So Far?

Photo by Andre Hunter on Unsplash

Well, that depends on which aspect of gaming you’re referring to, as several exist.

Controller Usage

Regarding controller use, those skills definitely need improvement. 

Having ADHD, my hand-eye coordination isn’t the best, so using a PlayStation controller has pushed and pulled my reflexes to the max. 

My characters die a lot.

Game Play

While my ability to use my controller effectively is in the works, I seem to be able to adapt to games and unconsciously see patterns. 

M has told me this multiple times, and thinking back on it, I was a pretty good mobile casual gamer. Think Angry Birds, Candy Crush, and others similar.

So, hopefully, those instincts will transfer into more involved games.

Attention Span

So far, I can only do about two hours of gameplay before I have to stop, at least to take a break.

It gets overwhelming; I tend to see everything while gaming, so it’s difficult to focus on one thing, which often gets me killed.

Team Play

I haven’t had much experience with this one yet, but I often struggle working in a team in real life. I have a hard time pulling my weight. Not because I’m lazy but due to confidence issues.

Luckily, I have a supportive group of gamer friends, so I can strengthen this skill in both areas.

My Gaming Set-Up

My gaming set-up

Yes, it’s on my dresser, haha.

It isn’t much since I have to game in my closet-sized room, but at least I get some form of privacy. And my parents don’t have to worry about me hogging the TV whenever I hang out with my gaming group.

What Games Do I Have?

Photo by Denise Jans on Unsplash

Only a few.

The main ones I got so far are Destiny 2 and Overwatch 2 since they’re free to download, although I haven't tried Overwatch 2. And I haven’t found any more free ones so far.

Most of the video games I want to play aren’t free to download, which is a bummer. And I’m not being a cheapskate about it. I just don’t have the funds to support all my gaming desires.

Yet.

Will I Become a Hardcore Gamer?

Photo by ELLA DON on Unsplash

Probably not.

Like I said earlier, I’m coming into this in my mid-twenties, and most hardcore gamers become that in their teens. So, gaming won’t rewire my brain like that.

Plus, I enjoy writing, reading, socializing, and watching movies/TV too much. Also, I’d prefer to put much of my mental energy into my work.

But I’ve been giving gaming an honest try with an open mind. 

And I like it.

Should You Try Gaming?

Created by me with DALL-E

I mean, if you want to. No one’s gonna force you. 

Beware, it does take up time and money unless you are lucky like me and get a used console for free. So, if you’re not okay with either or both, I would advise against it. 

But if you are okay with those caveats, gaming is an excellent way to make friends and explore people’s imaginations. Much like reading or watching movies.

The choice is up to you.

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

console
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • K. Kocheryan5 months ago

    I have never in my life heard of the term blueberry for new gamers. Lol. But if you want free games, you can download steam on your PC or laptop, if you have one, and look through all their free games. A lot of them are from smaller developers, but it's usually computer graphics/memory friendly. I also believe the sims 4 is free, a super comfy chill game.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Loved your story and it was very informative for a non-gamer like myself!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.