Gamers logo

Asphalt 9

A Game Review.

By Steven MoonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Asphalt is an arcade racing game you can play on your PC, Xbox, Switch, Android and a few other platforms apart from Playstation. What I think of the game is that it's a great game in general, apart from sometimes lags on my Xbox One. What I enjoy about the game is that I get to drive exotic cars, muscle, supercars and prototypes. The graphics is colourful, sharp, looks pre ray tracing era because I think that was 2019 or something, and lively. I don't really care for the music to be honest, because it feels way out of my own tastes. However that's fine because I expect it to be different for everyone. The car choices are rather diverse from different nationalities, and the likes. Well maybe not 4x4 to drive sadly. Well apart from the likes of the Mitsubishi Evo XI and one of the more recent Subaru models.

Location choices are awesome but slightly out there. Racing down the Himalayan mountainside wasn't expected, but's a pleasant surprise.  Did I mention that the physics are slightly goofy at times? No, however the physics sometimes contradicts. If I wanted to spin my car like a Beyblade and ruin someone else's day, but if they do it to me, my day isn't ruined. The takedown mechanic brings back a lot of a lot of Burnout Series memories, and it works well. The car upgrades you have to do it in stages, and it's not like Forza, or even Need For Speed, no, you have to keep pressing on up to stage (Add number here) that isn't the worst crime. The worst crime is that at times if I'm doing multiplayer, is that it says losing connection, despite from having 56mbps. 

Speaking of multiplayer and community events, you can enter them and win credits, car cards, import upgrades and a few other things. Of course some things are only limited time events and the likes, so don't feel disheartened if you haven't got your dream car, because at some point, you bound to have another opportunity, even if it's done through single player. Don't you worry, they do pay homage to national days if that is your sort of thing, as a racing fan, as they did one for Mexico, when I played it and same for France if I remember rightly.

To unlock new cars, you will need to collect cards up to a certain number depending on the car. You can also upgrade their star stats but that takes a bit of doing though. You need to either shell out money (come on it's a free to play) on packages, or even grind a lot  to gain said cards. Whilst grinding isn't for everyone, but I'm reasonably fine with it, if it doesn't feel like an actual chore. Would I want to see more cars because I'm somewhat a wee bit insane with car collections. Having a few cars in your garage when it comes to having a lot of money and very little amount of cars in your garage isn't very cash money.

How many races am I allowed to do with my car? Well, that's a good question Billy. You can only race 6 times with your car, and wait until it refills and believe me it takes an age for that to happen. Unless you have enough tokens and or levelled up as a driver and get free refills for all of your cars. The good news is that, if you've got cars in the same performance bracket, you can use them whilst your preferred car get refilled. 

product review
Like

About the Creator

Steven Moon

I write game and film reviews mostly. My other main thing(s) I want to do is talk about history and motorsport, but mostly Formula One.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.