Gamers logo

5 Things I Hate and Love about Pokemon Let’s Go

Gotta catch them all

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

I’ve played Let’s Go Pikachu and Eevee for about a year now. It’s good to be back in Kanto again. I really like the game, but there’s some things I really love and some things I really don’t like so I decided to list them. These are all my personal opinion. I’ll start with the dislike then I’ll go with something I liked.

The first thing I didn’t like about Let’s Go was only being restricted to Kanto. It’s a great region with lots of nostalgia and things I remember from the old games and the GBA remakes, but it would have been nice to include other regions or even the Sevii Islands from Fire Red and Leaf Green. With the Pokemon world being so big with lots of regions, it would have been nice to discover them again. Even if it’s just one or two regions is better than nothing. Indeed like staying in Kanto is just milking of nostalgia and feels restrictive. I know this game was meant to compliment Pokemon go, but Pokemon Go has had a lot of upgrades and it would be nice if Let’s Go had the same. I wouldn’t have minded an expansion pass with a regional dex like what’s coming with Sword and Shield.

First thing I love about Let’s Go is that Alolan forms and mega evolutions are included. It helps makes the games more fun and through Pokemon Go and in-game trades they’re not that hard to get. My personal favourite Alolan form is Ninetales because of how pretty it looks and it’s typing of ice and fairy is really different to its old fire type, but works really well in battle.

My second dislike is not being able to use moves outside of battle. In the old games, when I had a Chansey on my team I always used Softboiled to heal my team up so I would only need to use potions and full restores on Chansey. I also sometimes used dig to get out of caves which was very convenient. It’s a minor thing, but I wanted to mention it now cause it leads into my second like.

Which is the hidden techniques that replaced Hidden Moves from the old gens. I really love it because it saves move slots, no need for HM slaves and I like how we get to see Eevee/Pikachu on a surf board. It’s also really majestic flying on a charizard when a wild Charizard appears out of nowhere.

Third thing I dislike is not including all of the other evolutions from other generations. Preevolutions I can understand hecause there’s no breeding mechanics in the game. But it would have been really cool. I know that some of them where planned to be in the original first generation games. The Galarian forms are absent, which is understandable since these games came out before Sword and Shield, but it would be great to have an update which included them. I don’t really see this happening now as it’s been a while since the games have come out and they haven’t had an update in a while.

Third thing I love about the games is how easy it is to train Pokemon. Catching Pokémon in succession gives you candies for certain stats, (plus a higher chance of a shiny Pokemon) They have spesis exclusive candies similar to the ones in Pokemon Go. I like how catching Pokémon gives you a chance to get a candy of that pokemon and it raises all the stats. I think the stats can be raised up to 200 each. The results: you can get some super beasts in battle.

Fourth thing I dislike... this is quite tricky since I love the game. I’ll go with obtaining Mew. I don’t see the original Mew glitch as a glitch because it was added on purpose. There are two ways to obtain Mew: transfer it from Pokemon Go or buy a Pokeball Plus which comes with Mew. Pokeball Plus is a cool feature but I think the full retail price is expensive for what it is and I was lucky to get it from the post-Christmas sales. I think it would have been cooler to obtain Mew within the game like we could get Deoxys in Alpha Sapphire and Omega Ruby.

On the other hand, leading onto my fourth like, I like using the Pokeball Plus as a controller. It’s fun and feels authentic. I also like if you walk around with it and take one of the Pokemon for a stroll you get some rare items, like Mewtwo candies if you stroll with Mewtwo.

My final dislike in Let’s Go Pikachu is only battling the wild legendaries. All the Pokemon in your team get experiance points when you catch a Pokemon, but I think it would have been good to battle Pokemon in the wild too and not just the legendaries.

But the final thing I love about the games is unlimited battles with gym leaders and also battling Blue, Red and Green. Their teams appear to be inspired by the manga series which is a nice shoutout. There’s a lot more things I love about the games, but I want to save them for another article. Thanks for reading!

adventure games
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.