Gamers logo

5 Must Play Games for Casual Gamers

I let you in on my top five favourite games to play.

By NixaphiraPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like

The purpose of this is to share with you my favourite games to play as a casual gamer. I say casual gamer because I don't tend to play competitively and when I do play it's as a hobby and time-filler.

I also want to let you know that this selection of games is based on my own personal tastes and preference. I'll write a little description about each game so you guys can decide for yourself whether or not it's something you want to play, and I'll also make Amazon links to each game.

Enjoy!

I'm sure most of you will of at least heard of the mobile version of this world-famous franchise, Pokémon Go. But before that there have been, and still are, plenty of Nintendo based Pokémon games being released. My personal favourite is shown above. This one game alone has given me hours of fun and multiple completions of it. Like I said, this is my favourite, but everyone I know has their own preference.

In my opinion, the best parts about this game are the battling and the collecting of Pokémon through capturing them to fill your Pokédex. The region is fun to explore and the story is also great, but tends to be similar with each installment of the series.

The majority of these games are DS based, with the oldest ones for Game Boy and the more recent ones exclusive to 3DS and 2DS systems. There are also games available for the Nintendo Wii.

All in all, the Pokémon games are fantastic and will entertain you for hours. They're typically aimed at kids, but those of us who grew up watching Pokémon just can't resist.

I'd never even heard of the Dragon Quest games before being given this one for my birthday one year. I fell in love with this RPG and still play it to this very day, several years later.

It's a gorgeous game with a rich story, awesome bosses and a turn-based battle mechanic. You have full customisation over yourself and another characters you create to add to your party. There are also multiple vocations to experiment and play with and an abundance of goofy monsters with re-skinned cousins.

I haven't played any earlier Dragon Quest games as some are only available in certain countries. But the newest title (Dragon Quest XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age) is currently out in Japan for 3DS and PS4 with a Nintendo Switch version on its way, and will be translated into English, French, Spanish, Italian and German for Western release in 2018. Keep an eye out guys it's gonna be awesome!

I know that the very awesome Sims 4 is out now with expansions, but The Sims 3 will always hold a piece of my heart. It's the ultimate life simulation game with so many different ways to play and a ton of expansion packs available. There were a few years where I'd play this every free second I had, and I loved it. I never was able to play The Sims 2, but I know that it also was adored by players, and so is its sequel!

I've linked the PC and MAC disc version of the game, but it's also available for PS3, Xbox 360, DS and Wii as far as I know. You can also buy and install the game digitally through Origin.

I love how many possibilities there are in this game, so many social interactions as well as skills, Sim creation and even ghosts just scratch the surface of this incredible game. And if you get bored of the base game, adding expansion packs gives you even more choice and endless opportunities for fun.

My expansion packs of choice are Ambitions, Late Night and Supernatural. There's also a massive community of people online where you can buy extras for your game and create and share custom creations with other players.

Ah, good old Minecraft. This is an extremely popular sandbox game with a huge number of possibilities limited only by your imagination. You can build things, kill monsters and there is a sort of story you can follow that leads to battling the Ender Dragon. You really have to play it to experience it, and it can be played in different modes that change the difficulty when it comes to monsters or gets rid of them completely, making for a peaceful, rather than survival, game.

Although the link is to the PS4 version of the game, I've only played on PC, so I don't know the differences between each platform. I do, however, know that it's available for PC and MAC, PS3, PS4 PS Vita, Xbox One, Xbox 360, Wii U, 3DS, Nintendo Switch, iOS and Android.

I prefer to play on PC for easier controls and the ability to add mods, skins and texture packs. I know you can so this on other platforms, but PC is just what I'm used to.

Okay I'll admit that Overwatch is more of a competitive first-person shooter game, but I just love it so much that I had to include it!

As I said, it is a first-person shooter, but it has awesome playable characters, with more regularly introduced, sweet unique abilities for each and an assortment of playable maps and game modes.

What I like most about this game is the time and effort put into giving the heroes stories and personalities; each has their own set of abilities and an ultimate, with some even having animated shorts giving more depth to the character.

The most recent hero, Moira, is to be released adding another awesome playable character to the 20+ that already exist. Blizzard have also recently released an animated short for hero Reinhardt, which you can check out on YouTube.

Adding to that, there has been a recent crackdown on players cheating, making it a lot easier for genuine players to have fun and show off their skills. You can try these out during the competitive seasons to see where you place and how high you can get your score before the season ends.

Of course you can also earn loot boxes, getting you new skins and other customisables. There are also new skins made for events including the most recent Summer Games and Halloween skins.

I feel like there's so much more I could tell you about this awesome game, but I don't want to rabble on for too long, so I'll let you find out for yourself.

So there you have it: five must play games from the opinion of a casual gamer. Hopefully, I've helped you in finding a new game to play to add to the list. Enjoy!

product review
Like

About the Creator

Nixaphira

Hi. I'm a known introvert, fantasy book lover, casual gamer, all-round lazy student and proud to be.

Follow me on Instagram: saphira_night

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.