Gamers logo

40 Riddles to make your Mental Wheels Turning

Challenge Your Mind with These 10 Tricky Riddles

By Divine DawnPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
40 Riddles to make your Mental Wheels Turning
Photo by pure julia on Unsplash

Riddles have been used for centuries to exercise the mind and test one's critical thinking skills. They are a fun way to pass the time and can be enjoyed by people of all ages. In this article, we have compiled 10 tricky riddles that will make your mental wheels turning.

What starts with an E, ends with an E, but only contains one letter?

Answer: An envelope.

I am not alive, but I grow; I don't have lungs, but I need air; I don't have a mouth, but I need water to live. What am I?

Answer: Fire.

The more you take, the more you leave behind. What am I?

Answer: Footsteps.

What has a heart that doesn't beat?

Answer: An artichoke.

I am not alive, but I can die if I fall from a great height. What am I?

Answer: A snowflake.

I am taken from a mine and shut up in a wooden case, from which I am never released, and yet I am used by almost every person. What am I?

Answer: Pencil lead.

What is always in front of you but can't be seen?

Answer: The future.

The person who makes it doesn't need it; the person who buys it doesn't use it; and the person who uses it doesn't know they are using it. What is it?

Answer: A coffin.

I am light as a feather, yet the strongest man cannot hold me for much more than a minute. What am I?

Answer: Breath.

What goes through towns and over hills but never moves?

Answer: A road.

What is so fragile that saying its name breaks it?

Answer: Silence.

What comes once in a minute, twice in a moment, but never in a thousand years?

Answer: The letter M.

I am an odd number. Take away a letter, and I become even. What number am I?

Answer: Seven.

I am not alive, but I grow; I don't have lungs, but I need air; I don't have a mouth, but I need water to live. What am I?

Answer: Fire.

What gets wet while drying?

Answer: A towel.

I have a heart that doesn't beat, a mouth that doesn't speak, and a soul that doesn't live. What am I?

Answer: A painting.

I am taken from a mine and shut up in a wooden case, from which I am never released, and yet I am used by almost every person. What am I?

Answer: Pencil lead.

I am always hungry; I must always be fed. The finger I touch will soon turn red. What am I?

Answer: Fire.

What goes up but never comes down?

Answer: Age.

The more you take, the more you leave behind. What am I?

Answer: Footsteps.

What has a neck but no head?

Answer: A bottle.

What has a heart that doesn't beat?

Answer: An artichoke.

I am light as a feather, yet the strongest man cannot hold me for much more than a minute. What am I?

Answer: Breath.

What is black when you buy it, red when you use it, and gray when you throw it away?

Answer: Charcoal.

What is always in front of you but can't be seen?

Answer: The future.

The person who makes it doesn't need it; the person who buys it doesn't use it; and the person who uses it doesn't know they are using it. What is it?

Answer: A coffin.

I am not alive, but I can die if I fall from a great height. What am I?

Answer: A snowflake.

What starts with an E, ends with an E, but only contains one letter?

Answer: An envelope.

I am an odd number. Take away a letter, and I become even. What number am I?

Answer: Seven.

What is always coming but never arrives?

Answer: Tomorrow.

I have cities but no houses, forests but no trees, and water but no fish. What am I?

Answer: A map.

The more you take, the more you leave behind. What am I?

Answer: Footsteps.

I am not alive, but I can grow; I don't have lungs, but I need air; I don't have a mouth, but I need water to live. What am I?

Answer: Fire.

What gets bigger when more is taken away from it?

Answer: A hole.

What has a head and a tail but no body?

Answer: A coin.

What is always in front of you but can't be seen?

Answer: The future.

I am taken from a mine and shut up in a wooden case, from which I am never released, and yet I am used by almost every person. What am I?

Answer: Pencil lead.

What has a heart that doesn't beat?

Answer: An artichoke.

I am light as a feather, yet the strongest man cannot hold me for much more than a minute. What am I?

Answer: Breath.

What goes up but never comes down?

Answer: Age.

These riddles may seem easy at first, but they require careful thought and attention to detail to solve. They are a great way to exercise your brain and improve your problem-solving skills. Have fun solving them!

puzzlefact or fictionadventure gamesaction adventure
Like

About the Creator

Divine Dawn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.