Gamers logo

2000's Nostalgia

The childhood memories of a Millennial.

By Michelle PattisonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

It’s a hot summer night in the year 2000. Mom and I just finished cleaning up dinner and I ask her if I can ride my bike up to the corner store like I do every Friday evening. She slips me a $5 bill from her wallet and tells me to be safe, make sure I look both ways before crossing the street. I give her a kiss goodbye and run out to the back shed to pull out my bright yellow mountain bike.

Slipping the strap of my helmet off my handlebar, I fasten it to my head. Mom would freak if she ever saw me riding without a helmet. I start pedaling down the driveway and turn right to head to the store, staying on the sidewalk as Mom doesn’t want me riding on the road. I pedal past the neighbour’s house, past the walkthrough that leads to the playground, and stop when I hit the bend in the road. I look both ways before crossing the street. I pedal through the parking lot of the plaza and stop in front of “Video 99”. I lean my bike up against the front of the shop, unsecure my helmet hanging it on my handlebar, and go inside.

I say hello to the nice man who owns the shop, he smiles with recognition when he sees me walk in. I head over to the wall of N64 games available for rent and scan my options. I see a few games that I already have at home: Mario Kart, Pokemon Snap, Super Mario 64, and Diddy Kong Racing.

I see a few other games that I have rented in past weeks: Super Smash Bros, Kirby 64: The Crystal Shards, Pokemon Stadium, and Rugrats.

I pause as I see a new game I haven’t rented before: Iggy’s Reckin’ Balls. I take it off the shelf and admire the front picture: it has a smiling green ball on the front and looks like some kind of racing game. I wonder if I should try this one or stick with my favourite rental that I know I'll enjoy. I scan the shelf to see if it’s there.

Not seeing it, I ask the shop owner if he has Mario Party 3 available to rent, he responds that he doesn’t. Not surprising. It is one of the most popular games and is usually rented. I guess I’ll go with the new green ball game. I bring the game up to the counter and give the owner the $5 bill. He changes the money in the till and gives me back $2. He puts the game into a “Video 99” bag and reminds me to bring the game back Sunday by 5pm. I promise that I will, thank him, and leave. Then I go next store to the convenience store.

I head straight for the candy aisle and scan my options, wondering what I should spend my remaining $2 on.

Baby Bottle Pop – always a good option.

Push Pop – amazing, but it’s best to eat it in one sitting, or else it gets stuck when you try to push it back up.

Ring Pop – another good option, but again, you have to eat it in one go.

Airheads – no way, I don’t understand why the kids at school love them so much.

I pick up two boxed options: Nerds and Bertie Bott's Every Flavour Beans – the newest product.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was just released. Mom and I have been reading it together before I go to sleep every night. I turn over the box to look at the flavours of Every Flavour Beans: Cinnamon, Cherry, Candyfloss…so far so good…Earwax, Soap, Vomit. I put the box back on the shelf. I’m not brave enough to try soap or earwax.

I settle on the Nerds and take it to the front to pay the shop keeper. I give her the $2 and she gives me back 75cents. I ask the lady if I can spend the rest on single Fuzzy Peaches and Sweedish Berries from the scoop boxes, and she lets me know how many I can take. I add my little bag of single treats and my Nerds to my bag with the rental game and head back to my bike.

I take my helmet off my handlebar and replace it with my bag full of goodies. Securing my helmet to my head once again, I mount my bike and head back across the parking lot. Being careful not to let the swinging bag hit the front tire, I stop at the street to look both ways before crossing. Then I continue pedaling around the bend, past the walkthrough that leads to the playground, and past the neighbour’s house. Turning left onto my driveway I pedal to the back shed and put my bike and helmet away.

Running back into the house, I greet my mom and show her excitedly all the goodies I bought. She smiles and shakes her head; she doesn’t understand why I like those silly Nerds so much.

I head to the living room and jam Iggy’s Reckin’ Balls into the console. Flipping the switch, I am met with a plain black screen…Hmm. I pull the game back out and blow into the open side. Jamming the game back into the console I try again, success! It’s going to be a good night.

nintendo
1

About the Creator

Michelle Pattison

Psychology (BA)

Professional Writing (BA)

Fantasy book lover, overthinker, and all-around knowledge seeker

Simply trying to convince myself that I belong here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.