FYI logo

What to do when you are going through a bad patch in your life?

Life sometimes does not go according to your plan

By s naickerPublished 2 days ago 3 min read
Image made with AI LinkedIn

"Hardships often prepare ordinary people for an extraordinary destiny." – C.S. Lewis

Life is unpredictable!

No matter where you are on this planet, the above pertains to you.

As tempting as it is to throw in the towel and give up because things are just not going your way, a wiser direction to take is to just take on the obstacles as they come and find a new path forward. Yes, the key is to keep going forward.

Run, walk, or just crawl! Just keep going forward.

I have been through my fair share of bad patches and obstacles in my life. In the worst of times it is vitally important to follow some extremely important practices to get through those dark times.

I am going to share what I did and still do when I go through difficult times.

1. Talk to yourself. Not just in your mind but hear yourself talk to yourself. This practice I have found to be more helpful than just thinking about something.

2. I exercise more! I know it is not easy to do this, especially when things look bleak, however exercise does help with thinking more clearly. Exercise also helps with improved focus with the important tasks at hand. It also gives you that push to automatically help your mind in the direction of being positive. I always ensure I follow a good exercise routine. It always helps me with my stress levels.

3. I aim and remind myself to stay in the moment. What does this mean? Well, if I am eating a yummy sandwich, I focus on the sandwich. I focus on the gifted moment of having my delicious sandwich.

4. I practice being grateful. I know it is not easy being grateful when your life may seem to be crumbling, however, practicing gratitude for every small thing does wonders. It also attracts more positive energy into my life. Even if it comes down to just being grateful for my feet to take you from point A to point B, I do it!

5. Through my hard times, I always pray. Prayer helps me deal better with everything.

6. I always focus on keeping good and positive people in my circle. Being around a negative person or people does not help when one is going through a tough time. I never isolate myself from those close to me like family and friends.

7. I always aim to eat a balanced diet and get decent sleep. This is very important to assist with thinking clearly.

8. I keep a journal. I always write. I write down feelings, thoughts and ideas. Writing helps me in more ways that I could ever wish for. It is my therapy.

9. I dream. Yes, I dream! Not just day-dreams but also have dreams when I go to sleep. I literally force my mind to dream at night. I am weird! I cannot hide this fact. Once my head hits my pillow, I think about my crazy passions. Where I want to visit, What I want to tick off my bucket list. Sometimes I think I am on an adventure on an island. All these thoughts leads me to have the best of dreams. Try it! And tell me if this works for you?

10. I also listen or watch something motivational on youtube. This helps me force a laugh or a smile even when I do not want to.

These are some of my methods to help and guide me through those tough times.

Always remember through your toughest times, you can learn so much more about yourself. The important thing is to always work towards your desired goals and have the deepest faith that life is in fact working for you and not against you.

Until the next time. Take care and keep strong! Sending good energy and positive vibes your way!

And oh, before I go, here is a gift from me to you. Get your FREE copy of this amazing ebook titled, “ Live the Life you know you Deserve.

Stay blessed!

Humanity

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SNWritten by s naicker

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.