FYI logo

There is a downside to becoming a successful online writer

Are you prepared for what comes with obtaining a lot of reads, going viral and making money

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
1
There is a downside to becoming a successful online writer
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

The downside to online writing success

Vocal Media is a great writing site and they encourage the community and reward contributors in many different ways. If, however, you should gain a lot of followers and your views increase on a daily basis, there are some realities you should be aware of. Some may consider this to be a downside so to speak for being successful but it happens on Vocal as well as other writing sites.

Increased negativity from readers

The more people who read your work opens you up for increased comments and many of them may be negative, critical, racist, or homophobic. Some readers feel empowered to say things behind a computer or cell phone that they would not say to your face. On NewsBreak at least 10 contributors have admitted to getting death threats from those who do not agree with their views.

You may also find as many of us have that sharing your creativity all over social media does not work and that it is not family and friends who enjoy what we write. It is random strangers who enjoy the article rather than loved ones who desire to be supportive. They see us and interact with us all the time so reading our work might seem like overkill.

Online Stalkers and jealousy

There is also the chance of stalkers and trolls who search for you across social media networks leaving comments on Facebook or sending inbox messages or emails if your profile allows. If you are strong enough to be chased down by strangers and criticized and can continue in your craft without being offended you will succeed.

You roll with the punches and keep writing and I will share my testimony. I have been watching soap operas since 1972 and writing about them since about 2012. I was hired by a media company to write soap spoilers but ideas had to be pitched to the owner of the site and could be rejected. There was a Skype group where the writers could mingle but from day one I felt rejected.

I would say good morning and no one would respond and when the owner made suggestions for articles several people complained because I was usually the first person to get the good ideas. I was fired from this job after someone reported that I was freelancing and writing my own soap opera stories for Vocal and Hubpages. Was it simply jealousy or racism because I was the only black employee or both?

By Guille Álvarez on Unsplash

Changes on writing sites can affect you

On NewsBreak I was getting several million views a day and had 2 or 3 viral stories each week. The platform shifted and discouraged nationwide articles saying their heartbeat is original local articles. Now we have to write for our city or state which has slashed my views and decreased my income. There are even downsides to success for Vocal Media. Three times when one of my soap opera stories got a lot of views in one day it took over 3 weeks after a request to get paid. I was told they had to make sure all the views were legitimate and I understand.

Recently Vocal began rewarding creators with the Leadership Board and 5 weeks in a row I won for the most views. This week that category is no longer listed so I believe one of 2 things happened and perhaps both. Some contributors complained that the same person was winning all the time or Vocal decided not to have a category where the same contributor had the most reads. Either way, I have been penalized for being successful. it's their site and their rules.

There is no secret to success

Writing about daytime drama is not my first choice but I have found that is where the money is. I am a widow and lost my husband's income and do not get his pension so I have to write from my heart and also for survival. I write about the 4 remaining soap operas and share breaking news as well as spoiler alerts. I belong to 60-plus Facebook groups where I share and believe me this is time-consuming.

I watch the soaps daily and have discussions with others who enjoy them and read the comments left on social media. 5 decades of experience is inside of me beginning with watching with my great-grandmother at the age of 12. It is not simply writing about "the stories" it is giving of myself and knowing 50-plus years of history. There is no magic charm to getting views it takes hard work and building your brand.

I also have my own soap opera page on Facebook where 5,000 people are following me thus far and I am certain this adds to my success. Soap fans are loyal and want to know the latest about their favorite shows and characters. Even so, I always keep in mind that the owners of the sites I write for can change things and they will not always be in my favor. I hope this information has encouraged-informed and been a blessing to someone reading.

Pop Culture
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.