FYI logo

The Golden Goat

A Hole in One

By HappydazegtPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Old Gold Mine Shaft

Charters Towers

Town in outback Australia that has now started profitable gold mining operations again

Charters Towers is a town within the Charters Towers Region in northern Queensland, Australia. It is 134 kilometres inland from Townsville on the Flinders Highway. At the 2016 census the population was 8,120 people. During the last quarter of the 19th century the town boomed as the rich gold deposits under the city were developed. After becoming uneconomic in the 20th century, profitable mining operations have commenced once again. June – August is the busiest season for tourism in Charters Towers, so lodging and other accommodations could cost more than usual. Spring (September through November) Spring daily highs range from 87.4°F (30.8°C) and 79.2°F (26.2°C), which will feel very nice given the humidity and wind but be prepared for the occasional dust storms that spring up out of nowhere.

Many years ago most of the gold mines were abandoned when the gold started to run out and one of the main problems was that the cost of buying supplies like food and even fresh water cost more then the miners were making from the gold they found. It could cost over $3.00 dollars for a loaf of bread for example when the daily wage was around a dollar a week.

At a time when Australia was not yet a nation but still a number of separate British colonies, gold was discovered in a number of places, and the gold rush that followed changed our history. In the early days, traces of gold had been found but were hushed by the government, in fear that convicts and settlers would abandon the settlements to seek their fortunes.

This got me thinking, that there has to be some profitable gold mines left as the miners just walked out on them due as I said to dwindling gold finds and the increasing cost of supplies

Having some time on my hands being retired I decided to pay the area a visit and try my luck in finding gold in one of the many gold mines in the area.I searched around much of the area and found one mine shaft that went straight down.

Not having any ropes or ladders gave me a problem on how to get down into the shaft to collect some samples of the ore laying around just as the miners had left it years ago.

Not being able to see how deep the shaft was I looked around for a large rock or stone that I could drop down and listen for the sound when it reached the bottom, that would indeed give me an indicator or how deep the shaft was.

After much searching I found large rock I could lift and dropped it down the shaft BUT did not hear it hit the bottom!

I decided to look for something bigger that may do the job and after much searching around spotted a old Railway Sleeper.

After a bit of a tugging and pulling I managed to drop the old railway sleeper down the shaft, when suddenly I saw a huge wild looking goat with big horns and a nasty look in it eyes, charging straight at me!!

I luckily managed to step aside quickly and the goat went straight pass me and went down the same shaft I was trying to bottom out on!

Later that day, I mentioned the incident to one of the local farmers who lived very close to these mine shafts.

He said, I've got a Goat but it couldn't be my one as I have it tied to a old Railway sleeper !

Needless to say I left the area in a hurry!!

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.