FYI logo

Mindfulness and the ADHD Brain

Good for all, but especially if you're not neurotypical

By Taucha PostPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2

Mindfulness Science

I'm a skeptic. I like concrete, measurable results, which is why for YEARS after I started yoga, it was still just exercise to me. That was it. Don't talk to me about spirit, meditation, or expanding my consciousness. No thank you! I'll do my sun salutations and go, because I can SEE the results those have on my arms, legs and abdomen, thank you very much!

I've come around. You can talk to me about spirit, meditation, and expanding your consciousness all you want now, but I needed data to get there. As mindfulness researcher, Jon Kabat-Zinn says, "It's different doors to the same room". Thankfully, science delivered, so just in case you're like me, lets talk about some science.

I come from a psychology and neuroscience background, so I like learning about the brain. The most amazing thing about it is that it's plastic which means you can actually change it with your behaviours.

Studies on mindfulness have found that it reduces stress and stress-related illnesses, depression, and panic, and it improves the response of your immune system. It positively effects the way the brain processes difficult emotions by shifting the activation in the prefrontal cortex from the right side to the left, creating greater emotional balance. The prefrontal cortex also improves focus and alertness.

Studies have also found that mindfulness thickens the hippocampus, which plays an important part in memory and learning. It also thins the right amygdala, a small almond-shaped brain nugget responsible for fear-based reactions to perceived threats (such as failure).

Mindfulness also increases dopamine levels, a brain chemical important for reward-motivated behaviour. Too little dopamine is associated with reward-seeking behavior and social anxiety.

Many other studies have reported changes in many other brain structures, but lets just stick with those for now.

Why is this important for ADHDers?

ADHDers' brains are different! All of the brain areas affected above, are underdeveloped in people with ADHD. Also, ADHDer brains either don't make enough dopamine, don't have enough receptors for it, or don't use it efficiently. ADHDers have a lot to gain from practicing mindfulness.

What is Mindfulness?

Mindfulness is a form of meditation. It is the practice of kindly, patiently, and nonjudgmentally guiding your attention back to the present moment, over, and over, and over again. It is NOT "emptying your mind". It is FILLING your mind with the present moment and exploring it with your senses as though you are experiencing it for the first time because, in truth, you actually are. You will never experience those same combination of sounds, smells and sensations again.

Practicing Mindfulness as an ADHDer

If I had to describe my mindfulness practice in one word, it would be: "inconsistent".

Yep. Even though I believe in its benefits with all of my heart and all of my mind, I don't practice consistently. Why? Because I have ADHD. Inconsistency is a hallmark trait of ADHD. Besides brushing my teeth, I haven't done anything consistently in my life. It's just not how my brain works and that's okay.

I'm not going to beat myself up over not being consistent, because expecting my brain to be different overnight sets it up for failure. My failure leads to feelings of shame and then my shame leads to avoidance, which results in more inconsistency. That's not helpful.

No more shame!

I have powerfully decided that mindfulness is good for me, and I will return to it over and over and over again no matter how big the gaps are in between. An inconsistent practice is better than no practice at all.

Mindfulness Goals

Slowing down stresses me the heck out. I always have this looming feeling that there is something I should be doing, or something I'm forgetting, so I just keep DOING in order to avoid feeling uncomfortable.

It's not a healthy strategy. Keeping yourself in a constant state of hustle isn't good for your mind or body.

Mindfulness research has found that one of the keys to changing your brain during mindfulness practices is having a goal or intention for your practice and staying focused on it. At the beginning of each practice, you think of your goal and hold it in your mind.

So I recently did a little journaling to figure out what my intention for my mindfulness practice would be, and I came up with this:

I am building a tolerance for slowing down.

Like I said, picking a goal for your mindfulness practice is a key component of its success, so take some time to think of your goal. What attracted you to mindfulness? What are you cultivating?

Write it down as a reminder before every practice.

PS. My membership takes care of ADHDers' bodies, minds, hearts, and souls! Seriously. SERIOUSLY!

It includes:

-Yoga classes for all levels with time for questions after each class

-Mindfulness practices and pose tutorials in a HUGE recorded library

-Body doubles so you can work along side other ADHDers to help you do the hard/boring things

-Powerful live guided journaling practices

-Special events to help you set intentions and follow-through

-ADHD-friendly supports to prevent any shame surrounding consistency

-And membership to a non-judgmental, supportive, loving, and hilarious ADHD Slack community (Seriously, I love them SO MUCH!!!)

Follow me at @adhd.yoga and check out my online studio at adhdyoga.ca.

ScienceHumanity
2

About the Creator

Taucha Post

ADHDer here! I'm a certified yoga teacher and ADHD coach-in-training. I empower ADHDers to take care of themselves through movement, breath, and the occasional f-bomb. Follow me at @adhd.yoga and check out my online studio at adhdyoga.ca.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.