FYI logo

Love Letter to Punk

deconform, transform.

By Jordan FiddlerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Punk from the early 70s/80s is always very fascinating to me! If we were to conform to punk fashion, what would we be conforming to? Punk is a culture that seems to grow a cult following rather then a generational fad. Right now, it is still a growing community of people. Punk from the 70s/80s is remarkably interesting to me because it was very pure in its form and very dark and mysterious. It was the dawn of a new age, literally.

Right now, a lot of younger people on social media are experimenting with style. Even I am! I think embracing your identity in your clothing is extremely rewarding because everyone around you will be shocked by the glitz and glam. I do not think punk is defined by a set of rules, but a way to break ideas of normalcy. I believe that breaking boundaries in art is important to create a meaningful message which is why I think punk is visually striking! It is a literal movement to claim your own identity!

To conform is the reckoning of punk. To follow an order, to live by rules that you do not believe in. Punk is not only clothing, but the very idea of nonconformity. Why would anyone want to be like someone else? Why would YOU want to be someone else? It is important we all create our own identities, and punk will allow that for all because PUNK DOES NOT DISCRIMINATE, it is welcoming of all shapes, sizes, personalities, race, or even hair! It is the epitome of breaking free!

I hope to see punk fashion to skyrocket to be a mainstream theme, to be fully accepted in light. Although punk culture strays from the mainstream, to be encased in the darkness, it would be interesting to see the limelight on a fashion choice that is vey outrageous and clever. I hope that one day, we can all wear what we want without being judged. That is my own personal goal, and hopefully everyone will soon find their own goal with their identity.

The mohawks, ripped jeans, chains and spikes are all part of the fun. You do not have to, but you may want to. Embracing yourself to be whoever you want, to be free of a set of rules. That is what punk is about. When I found out about this challenge, I thought it would be particularly important to share these words because I personally believe that punk accepts everything, from a Victorian corset to the clothes on a baby. I hope that someone will read this and be influenced and inspired to try something new and different, rather than do something that someone else has already done.

It will also pave way for new fashion. Want a coin dress? Do it! You want to wear rainbow, but make it scary? Go for it! You can even wear wigs as shirt! Glue stick dress! Juice box shirt! Once the door is open, the possibilities of what you can do are endless. Punk does not conform, so why should you?

I hope that, one day, I can walk out the door with an array of different memorabilia from my closet. I find that I want to put items on my body, or even wear something outrageously different from anyone else. This is my own identity, and it does not conform to anyone. I hope that, one day, it is not considered punk to wear chains and spikes, but just a normal outfit. I hope that one day, an elder will have a mohawk.

Transform, create, be yourself.

Historical

About the Creator

Jordan Fiddler

aspiring actor, writer and filmmaker.

current drag queen

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jordan FiddlerWritten by Jordan Fiddler

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.