FYI logo

Libra: Aphrodite’s Romantic Daughter

Love, beauty, and justice captivate the heart and eyes of the Libra.

By She WritesPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Andy Warhol’s interpretation of “Birth Of Venus”.

The life of the Libra is all about beauty, harmony, and balance. We are ruled by Venus, also represented as Aphrodite in Greek and Roman mythos.

The Libra often finds pleasure in aesthetically pleasing, material things and generally strives for peace. However when one thing is thrown off of balance in the Libra’s life, their entire life is thrown out of whack.

Balance & Harmony

Libras are very disturbed by war, poverty, greed and other injustice in the world. As a Libra, I often find myself daydreaming about how I can help end suffering in the world.

We strive for equality, balance, and wellness of others. When I get into disagreements with those that I love or anything is out of tune emotionally, I become rattled and unable to concentrate.

Libras are also obsessed with symmetry and balance in art. We are easily drawn to photography, art, or beautifully shot cinema. This would explain why Stanley Kubrick is my favorite director when it comes to cinematography.

Stanley Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey.

Justice & Equality

An interesting fact about the Libra is that it is the only sign that is represented by an inanimate, non-living object. The sign of the Libra is the scale, which represents balance and justice.

Accordingly, the scale is a representation of these themes in art. The Libra’s symbol may not be a living creature, but our burning passion for social justice and equality is very much alive.

I often find myself immersed in civil rights activism and scholarship. I admire women like Ida B. Wells and Rosa Parks who have helped pave the way for African American men and women today.

Justice Scales by Emory Douglas. Photo Courtesy Emory Douglas.

Cardinal Sign

Along with the 4 seasons there are 4 signs in the zodiac that mark the transition between each season. These are known as the 4 Cardinal signs. Libra is the sign that transitions into fall.

Accordingly, cardinal personalities correspond with change and innovation. We like to try new things and always seek to have fresh ideas. We are known as the initiators of the zodiac.

I can definitely relate to being a cardinal sign as I aspire to become a producer and movie director. I’ve dreamed about it since I was small.

What attracts me to being a filmmaker is having my own creative control, working with visuals, and being independent. It is a freeing job that lets you be create, powerful, and imaginative. All virtues of a cardinal sign.

Air Sign

Of the four elements, Libras are air signs. To understand intelligence, logic, and great communication is to breeze through the wind like an air sign and understand us better.

To understand a Libra is to peel back many layers of a beautiful, soft pink rose until you find its core. Sometimes, it takes time. We don’t like to just open up to anyone.

We have to feel comfortable and trusting in order to let our guard down. Because we are air signs, we pay close attention to detail and data.

We analyze people. We like to think with the intellect, and put our emotions to the side when making decisions.

As I write this now I'm replaying in my head the time my fiancé sat me down and told me that he wished I would be more vulnerable and transparent. As one of the three air signs, Libra’s are perceived to be distant and detached from their emotions.

Although it seems that way, it is very far from the truth. Libras are obsessed with love. I love my fiancé with all of my heart and soul and even daydream about him all of the time! I love...love! Sometimes, I just need a little space to get my thoughts together.

Air signs tend to have their heads in the clouds.

Charm & Diplomacy

Libras are often known to be physically beautiful people. The stunning, talented Italian actress and model Monica Bellucci is a Libra. She is without a doubt one of the most beautiful women to grace Hollywood.

Monica Bellucci’s stunning beauty shines through in Under Suspicion. Photo courtesy Getty Images.

Aside from beauty, Libras are also known as being charming and diplomatic. I often catch myself complimenting others, because who doesn’t love compliments? Whenever people around me quarrel, I tend to help them work things out with each other.

My friends always come to me to vent out their problems. Because of my analytical mind, I often process information as they tell me their issues and try to help them come up with a resolution.

Libras are social butterflies and can handle difficult or stressful tasks without upsetting anyone. Our essence is Holly Golightly in that crazy party scene in Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

Style & Aesthetic

Thinking about my closet and all of my clothes stresses me out. Libras are known to have an affinity for material things. We love clothing, art, fine wine, and jewelry. We love fashion and trendsetting.

When I was younger I didn’t identify with this quality as much, but now I find myself heading to the mall to shop anytime things are thrown off balance. Diamonds after all, are a girl’s best friend!

Libras tend to have elegant but sexy taste. We love to be modest but tease a little bit of skin while showcasing our class. It’s all about finding the perfect balance for me when I’m looking for an outfit.

Women like Kim Kardashian and Gwenyth Paltrow are perfect examples of trendsetting, stylish Libras. They are beautiful and elegant, and sexy yet classy. They are women of fine taste. All in all to know a Libra is to love A Libra...and to take us shopping!

Humanity
1

About the Creator

She Writes

Freelance writer.

G o o d v i b e z o n l y .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.