FYI logo

Get to Know My play “BOYS LIKE US”

Get to know my one act poetic drama play Boys Like Us

By Gladys W. MuturiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Cover design by Glen C. Kinnaird

Get to know my one act poetic drama play Boys Like Us.

I have been working on my first original one act play Boys Like Us for quite some time now and I would like to tell you all about it. I’ll might publish it on my playscript introduction so you’ll probably see it soon.

Who knows!!!

This is where it all begins...

It all started when I was at home in my bedroom watching Netflix with my sister Josephine and I, we were watching When They See Us, a limited series based on five teenagers (Four African Americans and 1 Latino) who were accused of brutal sexual assault of a female jogger at Central Park in the middle of the night.

The series was created by Academy Award nominee filmmaker Ava DuVernay who directed Selma and A Wrinkle in Time. I never knew about the story of the Central Park Five because my mother didn’t come to the US until the nineties she didn’t know about their stories as well, and I wasn’t born until October 6, 1995.

After I completed watching the whole limited series, I was astonished by the whole series praising all the actor's performance, Duvernay’s direction for creating and putting their lives on screen. Also, I noticed how it reminded the time when I was a freshman in high school reading To Kill a Mockingbird, a novel written by Harper Lee about of a young girl, her brother, her mysterious neighbor and her father who is an attorney representing a black man who was accused of sexually assault of white woman. At my English class while we were reading the novel, my teacher taught a brief history of the Scottsboro Nine, a group of African American teenaged boys who was from Georgia and Tennessee traveling on the train to find work. The story was inspired by them even though it was partially about Harper Lee’s childhood and her father and the Three years ago, I saw on Instagram a trailer of a stage play called “Anne & Emmett” A play written by Janet Langhart Cohen.

It shows two actors portraying as Anne Frank and Emmett Till, two young historical figures that changed history and another two sets of actors playing as Mamie Till Mobley (Emmett’s mother) and Otto Frank (Anne’s father) with a voice of Oscar Winner Morgan Freeman as the narrator. In the play, Anne Frank and Emmett Till meet in an imaginary place called Memory, a non-specific where they have a conversation with each other. They share their differences, time, and events with each other and the audience especially the young ones. In my play,BOYS LIKE US, the Central Park Five Boys and Scottsboro Boys were arrested after they were accused of rape. The two groups of boys would met in a magical imaginary dream. The Boys would have a conversation with each other, compare their events with each other and perform some poetic Performance pieces which some of the poems I have published on Vocal Media.

Check on my Vocal Media page!

My plan for Boys Like Us, after I complete the script send it to each play festival that would hopefully select and produce it. If not, I am plan on taking it in the matters of my own hands by saving money to produce and direct my play. If you would like to support my play, you can pledge or tip on my Vocal Media.

https://vocal.media/authors/gladys-w-muturi

Or you can support on my Paetron page.

https://www.patreon.com/gwmuturi

I have thought of creating Kickstarter and Indiegogo for the production companies: GM Films Production & Broadway Bug Productions but I was afraid to fail another campaign page. So far, I have already created Kickstarter campaign for Boys Like Us for the scripts, the campaign was successful.

and I am planning to send scripts soon.

Comment below and tell me what you think about the information of my play.

HistoricalPop CultureHumanity
Like

About the Creator

Gladys W. Muturi

Hello, My name is Gladys W. Muturi. I am an Actress, Writer, Filmmaker, Producer, and Mother of 1.

Instagram: @gladys_muturi95

Twitter: @gladys_muturi

Facebook: facebook.com/gladystheactress

YouTube: @gladys_muturi

patreon.com/gwmuturi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.