FYI logo

Do The Stars Really Align?

Taking an in depth look at my zodiac sign for the first time ever, and seeing just how accurate it is.

By The Marvelous Mr. EdenPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Do The Stars Really Align?
Photo by Jacob Spence on Unsplash

would like to start off by being blunt. I have never cared much for Zodiac signs. I've always believed that people carry their own thoughts and ambitions, none of which is dictated by the movements of the stars. Much as Vocal as challenged me to write, however, they have now begun to challenge me to learn. In this little article of mine, I will be writing my thoughts as I research my own Zodiac sign.

To begin, let's look at what a Zodiac sign is. According to Marriam-Webster, Zodiac is as follows:

1) a: an imaginary band in the heavens centered on the ecliptic that encompasses the apparent paths of all the planets and is divided into 12 constellations or signs each taken for astrological purposes to extend 30 degrees of longitude

b: a figure representing the signs of the zodiac and their symbols

2) a cyclic course

In this case, we'll be looking at the zodiac signs themselves. Each sign is relative to a set of dates that determine what a person's sign is.

Aquarius

January 20 - February 18

Pisces

February 19 - March 20

Aries

March 21 - April 19

Taurus

April 20 - May 20

Gemini

May 21 - June 20

Cancer

June 21 - July 22

Leo

July 23 - August 22

Virgo

August 23 - September 22

Libra

September 23 - October 22

Scorpio

October 23 - November 21

Sagittarius

November 22 - December 21

Capricorn

December 22 - January 19

One who isn't educated on the subject, such as myself, may believe that your Zodiac sign equated to your birth month. After some study, however, I've found that this is not the case. A zodiac is determined by the position of the sun in relation to various consolations. Furth study showed that even though these dates are seemingly set, the wobble of the Earth's axis has potentially made such dates inaccurate. If you've spent your entire life going by the signs and believing you're a Sagittarius, there's actually a chance that you never were. For those that deeply believe in the Zodiac signs, this information could easily explain why their personality doesn't necessarily line up with what the sign they believed they were had predicted.

Now then, we should look at how Zodiac signs really align with behaviors and personality. It's easiest to do this by looking at my own sign. Without mapping out the stars and spending potentially years learning how to do so, I'll have to settle for the potentially inaccurate dates. Because my birthday is January 22nd, I fall under the Aquarius sign. Now let's look at what the Zodiac says defines someone who is an Aquarius and compare that information to myself in order to determine the accuracy of the Zodiac.

A quick Google search states the following: "People born under the Aquarius sign are said to be progressive, independent, intelligent, unique, and idealistic. Their elemental sign is air, the same as that for Gemini and Libra. Like air, Aquarians don't have a single, clear shape and seem to defy categorization."

Something that I believe is immediately worth noting is that the element associated with Aquarius is air. This, in my personal opinion, makes a collective total of no sense. Not only is the term "aqua" literally in the name of Aquarius, but the symbol for Aquarius is literally referred to as "The water barer". This, perhaps, ties into the supposed rebellious nature of Aquarians. A trait that I would say holds true for myself to a certain degree. I myself have some rebellious tendencies, often going against social norms and beliefs. This is often for comedic purposes rather than being truly rebellious, but dressing as a pirate in inappropriate situations because I think it's funny is still probably a bit rebellious in its own right.

Overall, I would actually say that these qualities actually fit me quite well. I find myself wanting to be progressive, having gone so far as to write on social issues and topics as such that matter heavily to me. I find myself being independent, often opting to do my work by myself instead of having help from others. I don't really want to make a comment on being intelligent, as I feel it's rude to sit here and call myself smart when I could honestly just be a blithering idiot. I go out of my way to be unique in both writing and every day like, see above paragraph where I talk about dressing as a pirate because I think it's funny. I am also very idealistic, as reflecting on ideals and creating values based on them is actually something I do quite often. Having just looked at this result on Google, it's easy to see how these qualities could be taken as being accurate. With this in mind, you can see where the Zodiacs were meant to be vague.

While I do have the qualities listed above, they don't encompass the entirety of who I am as a person. You can see where the author even left themselves a margin for error, stating that Aquarians "seem to defy categorization". As someone who doesn't believe in star signs, I am absolutely taking this with a grain of salt. I had intended to pick more holes in definition of Aquarius, but this was actually quite an accurate descriptor. I'd like to leave off with one request for you, dear reader. If you're like me, and you came into this article without having any real knowledge regarding the Zodiac signs, please take some time to learn. You may not end up believing in it, much like myself, but learning about them and specifically the one that is my own has been fascinating. As I said above, Vocal has challenged me to learn. Now, I challenge you to do the same. Perhaps you'll spend a bit of your day studying something that will occupy your mind for years to come.

Humanity
1

About the Creator

The Marvelous Mr. Eden

I am The Marvelous Mr. Eden. I'm an aspiring photographer who also enjoys writing articles in his free time.

Vocal is a wonderful platform that allows me to share my world views and ideas in written form. I hope to inspire you with my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.