FYI logo

Celebrate Samhain the Witchy Way

Blessed be my loves πŸŽƒ

By Rosie J. SargentPublished 7 months ago β€’ 5 min read
Top Story - October 2023
24
Freestocks - Unsplash

'Tis the Season of the Witch and it’s time to get spooky. I love Halloween. It has always been my favourite holiday since I can remember. When I reached the age of sixteen, my mum introduced me to the world of witchcraft and everything heathen. I felt like Sabrina the Teenage Witch joining my coven and I finally felt like I belonged somewhere.

I grew up near Stonehenge so the Wicca, Druid and everything witch is strong, with a sense of magic in my part of the country. As well as the aura of sage and dragon's blood. One thing about us pagans is we are self-taught bookworms that can see the beauty in the darkness, the weird and the wonderful. This is our New Year's Eve, so it's a time to party, celebrate and get spooky.

Alina Vilchenko on Pexels

Every pagan has their own way of doing things, so there is no right nor wrong. So please ignore WitchTok as best you can. It's just a bunch of people thinking they are right in their beliefs telling everyone else they're wrong, which goes against what paganism actually is. It's a free spirited craft that you get to decide what is your faith and what isn't. As long as you are respectful to others and the planet, that's all that matters. That's why no two books of shadows will ever be the same.

Also quick side note: DO NOT pay for a reading. This is like the golden rule: you do not charge people for a reading from the universe, because the universe doesn't send an invoice to send messages, so why are you something that is a part of the universe paying for it?

The Daily Dish Via Deposit Photos

Anyway, if you didn't already know, Samhain originates from Celtic Ireland, and was used to celebrate the end of the harvest, say goodbye to all those who lost their lives in the year, and prepare for the long night ahead. Winter is long and dark, so it's a great time to party the night away before we all have to hobble indoors, away from the freezing cold. Obviously we have come a long way since those days, with children dressing up as monsters begging for sweets, pumpkin spice lattes and the must have Hocus Pocus re-watch.

So what is it exactly do us heathens do on o' Hallows Eve? As I've said it depends on the person, but here are three simple things I do to Celebrate Samhain the Witchy Way:

1. Keep the Spirits Away

Always have a pumpkin outside the home, or a horseshoe. Superstition tells us we do this to protect our homes from bad spirits and evil witches entering our safe spaces. After all, the veil is very very thin, allowing the dead to walk freely among us, which is why we have pumpkins in the first place and carve scary faces onto them. Think of them as a festive gargoyle they keep the bad sprits a bay. Pumpkins (or horseshoes) protects us and makes great soup also (not the horseshoes). Let's not waste a single thing!

You're also welcome to put salt on your window seals and by your front door. Additionally, a witches bell is good for keeping the spirits out (that's if you don't want them of course). I on the other hand don't mind, as long as they are good and will do no harm, then I am not fazed. After all, the living can do more harm than the dead.

Toni Cuenca on Pexels

2. Cleanse, cleanse and cleanse

This is the perfect time to cleanse your home by getting rid of things you no longer need. It is the perfect season to so goodbye to the old before welcoming the new in the Spring. Don't forget to cleanse yourself. It's also a great time for you to let go of any negativity in your life. Maybe there are things that are weighing you down, allowing toxicity to invade your peace of mind. Fire spells are great for cleansing and earth spells are great for banishment. Depending on your intention depends on the spell incantation.

Remember, spells should rhyme, so poets, it's your time to shine! Oh, and spookily enough the moon is going to be in a Waning Gibbous phase, which is once again a perfect occasion to cleanse your space, and banish the bad, bringing yourself a little bit of closure. After all, that is what Samhain is supposed to be about.

Erik Mclean on Pexels

3. Feast

Have a feast. It is a time of celebration! The end of the harvest happens on 30th October, so get those meats, cheeses, and gather your apples and grapes. Whack out the wine and party until the sun comes up. Oh, and grab yourself a yule log. Winter is coming, so why not have one at the start of the season, and then another midwinter? Treat yourself. There are no tricks here, well, except for the spells, of course.

Don't forget to invite your neighbours, family and friends to your feast, funnily it is also a time for giving, which is why we give out sweets and treats to the little monsters who come knocking on our doors.

That's the funny thing about traditions, they don't stay the same; they recycle themselves, appearing to be something new.

Other forms of celebration can include:

  • A Nature Walk
  • Tarot Readings
  • Bonfires
  • Seasonal Decorations (more pumpkins)
  • Ancestral Altar
RDNE Stock project on Pexels

And that's pretty much it in a quick and very brief nutshell. Ooh nuts, they're good to have at a feast!

To get yourself into the spooky season, don't forget to enter the new Vocal Challenge Under a Spell and remember spells should rhyme, there is power in words that rhyme (x3):

I've also added in a Facebook group called Ancient Pagan Witches Shamans and Heathen Souls. There's a lot of us across the world all chilling together in one space. It's nice:

Happy Samhain and Blessed Be Brothers and Sisters!

__________________________________________________

Thank you for taking your time to read my work. It means a lot to me, and I really appreciate every like and comment.

If you like what I do, feel free to leave a tip, show some love and don't forget to subscribe!

And as always;

Stay safe, stay hopeful and stay blessed! :)

Pop CultureHumanityHistorical
24

About the Creator

Rosie J. Sargent

Hello, my lovelies! Welcome, I write everything from the very strange to the wonderful; daring and most certainly different. I am an avid coffee drinker and truth advocate.

Follow me on Twitter/X @rosiejsargent97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barrogaabout a month ago

    Yes, exploring the customs and rites related to Samhain gives the season a whole new dimension. God bless you!

  • I was sure I had read this excellent story, but left no comment or heart. I have now

  • You have offered great insight with this article, and it is well organized and written with a sense of pureness. Thank you!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    I love Halloween too! I will feast and cleanse and have a reading and go to a haunted graveyard!

  • Leslie Writes7 months ago

    Very cool πŸŽƒ

  • Celia in Underland7 months ago

    Super interesting read and love your thoughtful but clear writing style! Congratulations of Top Story! 🀍

  • Margaret Brennan7 months ago

    AWESOME TOP STORY. Congratulations. My niece is Wiccan. I never thought of me being one but ever since I was a child, I've been reading cards. My grandmother taught me to read regular "playing" cards since she didn't own a Tarot deck. I bought my own later on and now, 50 years later, I still have it. I keep the deck in a wooden box with a small crystal.

  • Kelsey Clarey7 months ago

    Loved this article. Congrats on the top story!

  • Conor Darrall7 months ago

    Hello sister, nice to meet a fellow draoi. Love this, and you write with such nice flow as well!. Lovely overview of some of the salient points! Hope it gets some people interested! (Also, the turnip was actually used first to make what we call Jack-O-Lanterns, so a turnip with a carved face is also a brilliant thing to use!)

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    Love this!! 😍😍 And yes, horseshoe soup is not on my menu hahah

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    I swear that I have Samhain and Imbolc in my hands as I read your story. I have been reading them for a while, the library is now threatening me. The potions, spells and info on the seasons is fascinating. Congrats on TS.

  • Joelle EπŸŒ™7 months ago

    Love this article!! πŸ‘‹πŸΌ hi from a fellow witch βœ¨πŸ’—

  • Nice and I Love Sabrina πŸˆβ€β¬›β™₯️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.