FYI logo

30 Facts About Game of Mass Destruction

Written by the author

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
2
Yuzuko's perfect world is disturbed when she is forced to take part in the 30th season of Game of Mass Destruction, a reality tv show where twenty contestants have to fight robots and each other for a chance to become a billionaire. Each robot they destroy gives points, but extra points are rewarded for acts of sex and murder. Whilst Yuzuko is united with online friends, she discovers dark secrets about her family as she confronts the gameshow's owner the notorious Sia Bucks. Will she survive and become victorious or will it be a comedy of errors with violence and chaos?

"Battle Royale meets Westworld in this high-energy dystopian thriller by Chloe Gilholy. Game of Mass Destruction takes place in 2062, a future not too far away. Social issues, such as which restrooms transgendered people use, immigration, the proliferation of fake news, climate change, and a reality tv show with the power to shape not only entertainment, but also the scientific world, are topical and relevant." - Indiestoday

I’m writing this for two reasons: the first is to celebrate my book’s 1st birthday and the second is to celebrate the new Vocal community, FYI. So I hope you enjoy these 30 facts about Game of Mass Destruction written by the author, herself.

1.THERE WAS ORIGINALLY GOING TO BE FORTY CONTESTANTS

The reason I changed it to 20 was to make it easier to manage and give time for the characters to develop and meet their fates. I also wanted them to be unique by having different kinds of relationships and having all the pairs be from diffrent countries from around the world.

2. IN THE OLD FAN FICTION VERSION, SIA’S ROLE WAS FILLED BY HARLEY QUINN

I really think these two should get together and drink shots.

3. DESPITE BEING A FAN FICTION FIRST, GAME OF MASS DESTRUCTION IS NOT A PULL-TO-PUBLISH

That’s because the characters, setting and world are changed. The only thing that remains from the fic to the book is the point system, the moment of silence for the fallen ones and having an eccentric woman as the hostess.

4. BOBBY FISHMAN WAS ORIGINALLY GOING TO BE THE MAIN CHARACTER

It was going to be a direct sequel to Fishman.

5. THE BOOK GOT BANNED ON SCRIBD

When I uploaded the book on Draft2Digital, got an email to say Scribd had blocked it. Maybe because of the adult content or maybe because it was already published on there before via Smashwords, either way I feel like a rebel. I officially have banned work.

6. THE NOVEL VERSION DID BETTER THAN THE FAN FICTION VERSION

It had over 10K hits online between Wattpad, Webnovel and other sites, and was voted over 5oo times on Wattpad. The fan fic version has half of that.

7. I SENT COPIES OF MY BOOK TO CELEBRITIES I ADMIRED

Never heard back from any of them though.

8. SIA IS NAMED AFTER MY FRIEND’S DAUGHTER

I’m sure the real Sia will not grow up to be as evil an as twisted as the book’s villain. Her mum thinks it’s cool.

9. MY FRIEND BETH COMPLAINED THERE WAS NO CHARACTER IN IT CALLED BETH

I gave her a copy for her birthday. This was her only criticism about the novel.

10. THE ORIGINAL TITLE WAS GONNA BE GAME OF MASS DESTRUCTION: ZERO SYMPATHY

The zero sympathy was used to seperate it from the fan fic. Now, I just have the fan fic called President Joker’s Game of Mass Destruction.

11. I’VE READ SCENES OF THIS BOOK OUT IN LOCAL WRITING GROUPS

I’ve read both the fan fic and book versions. I got lots of good feedback for them both. I miss the groups. Zoom meetings are great, but they’re not the same. Can’t wait to see them all again.

12. FANNY BRU’S NAME IS INSPIRED BY A SODA ADVERT

Iron Bru is a brand of fizzy drinks from Scotland. hey’re really nice. I will never forget them for their weird adverts. One of them was a scene with a woman carrying her newborn daughter and she wants to call her baby, Fanny. The guy is appalled until he takes a sip of Iron Bru. That’s how I got the character’s name Fanny Bru. Her birth name, Barry Garlow is Gary Barlow’s initials swapped around.

13. THERE WOULD ORIGINALLY BE MORE SURVIVORS

But that was because I was gonna have forty contestants. I thought too many survivors would damage the messages I was trying to portray in the book.

14. IT IS THE THIRD BOOK TO FEATURE TODD PATRICK

Todd’s grandmother was the main character in Emerald Oasis. He’s a main character in Fishman and he is another standout character in this novel too.

15. I LEFT SIGNED COPIES IN COFFEE SHOPS, TRAIN STATIONS & BOOK SWAP VENDORS

I got one person contact me on Instagram. He gave it to his daughter who was going to Uni. He was the only one who contacted me, I thought it was worth it and cute.

16. I DONATED COPIES TO CHARITY SHOPS

I signed them too. I hope whoever read them, loved it. I never found out who ended up reading them, and most likely never will.

17. MY FAVOURITE CHARACTERS ARE LAVENDER, MARIANGELA, YUZUKO, BOBBY AND SOOK-JO.

Lavender mainly because of her name. Mariangela is a strong character whose been through a lot. Yuzuko is a girl who tries to please the world, but can’t make herself happily and Sook-Jo is the same. I think Sook-Jo has the best development.

18. I HAVE POKÉMON IN MY GAMES NICKNAMED AFTER MY CHARACTERS IN GAME OF MASS DESTRUCTION

In Pokémon Shield, I have a whole box of Pokémon nicknamed after characters from my novel. I have a matcha cream Alcremie called Yuzuko because Yuzuko loves matcha lattes for example.

19. IT PEAKED NUMBER 3 ON AMAZON’S EROTIC SCI-FI BESTSELLER LIST

This is one that surprised me the most. I was pleased to see this book be on the page. At the moment it’s in the top 50 of the erotic science fiction paperback chart in the UK. Even though it has sex scenes, I don’t know if I would consider it, erotic.

20. GAME OF MASS DESTRUCTION IS A STAND-ALONE, BUT I’M OPEN FOR A SEQUEL

Yeah, it is meant to be a stand-alone, but I think it has the potential to be a series or a whole trilogy if I wanted it to be. I still have lots of fan fics I haven’t finished.

21. I DESIGNED THE BOOK COVER MYSELF ON CANVA

Canva is a great sight for people who want to create professional covers by themselves. I wanted a dark, simple and effective cover, and I think I achieved it with this one.

22. LAVENDER IS GOING TO BE A MAIN CHARACTER IN MY UPCOMING NOVEL, NO TEA NO SANITY

I remember Lavender topping the popularity poll I made on Wattpad many months ago. Everyone loved her funny name. No Tea No Sanity will take place just before the events of Game of Mass Destruction and explains how she got nominated to take part on the show.

23. I WANT GAME OF MASS DESTRUCTION TO REACH AS MANY DISTRIBUTION CHANNELS AS POSSIBLE

I don’t mind losing a small percentage of royalties if it reaches a wider audience. Even though I haven’t made a lot of sales outside Amazon, it’s still nice because the odd person has bought it on Barns & Noble and Kobo. I’m also aware that not every reader has access to things like libraries, e-readers or money to buy books. That’s why I still keep my old drafts of novels online and I also plan to keep uploading my books on Vocal in instalments.

24. YUZUKO’S BACKSTORY WILL BE A KEY FOCUS IN MATCHA LATTES AND CHERRY BLOSSOMS.

Yuzuko lives in a dystopian Japan where senior high school students are forced to get married and have children to repopulate the country. Her husband is already dead at the beginning of the novel and we don’t see her son much in the book. This upcoming book will make up for it.

25. I PLAN TO REWRITE GAME OF MASS DESTRUCTION IN YUZUKO, ARON AND LAVENDER’S POV.

They’re the most interesting and popular characters in the book, so I think it would work well and be able to see the characters in a whole new light. I think I will learn more about my characters if I write this.

26. MARIANGELA’S NAME COMES FROM THE LEAD SINGER OF TRISTANIA.

Tristania are one of my favourite bands and Mariangela is a cool singer.

27. THE LAST FOUR ROBOTS ARE NAMED AFTER THE COLOURS USED IN THE POKÉMON GAMES.

Red, Blue, Gold and Silver are four games that really made my childhood awesome. They’re essentially the same robot, but in different colours which is why they seem to get on so well.

28. THE SCENE WHERE THE ROBOTS RANT IN THE CAFETERIA IS INSPIRED BY TOMODACHI LIFE

This scene was fun to write. I almost cut it out because I thought it would do nothing for the story, but I think it gave insight to the robots and how they are just as crazy as the people who created them. I remember picking up Tomodachi Life and playing it after so long. When I saw the cafeteria scene, I just thought I had to include a scene like this in my book.

29. HUNGER GAMES BY SUZANNE COLLINS AND BATTLE ROYALE BY KOUSHUN TAKAMI ARE THE MAJOR INFLUENCES

These two books are huge inspirations and two of my favourite books of all time. The movies themselves are also worth watching too. I just get so fascinated about these two fandoms and franchises in general. Survival of the fittest contests have been around since the beginning of time, but Battle Royale and The Hunger Games bring it to life so much.

30. YUZUKO’S NAME IS A ROUGH JAPANESE TRANSLATION OF CITRUS CHILD

There’s a Japanese manga series called Citrus that has a character named Yuzu who falls in love with her step-sister. I bought the first volumes of the manga in a comic shop in Amsterdam. I won’t deny tat reading Citrus helped build the book’s main protagonist.

Pop Culture
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.