FYI logo

2 Indoor Games To Spice Up Date Night

Keep the fire burning

By Mrz. PGPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
2 Indoor Games To Spice Up Date Night
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Going out to dinner is the most popular date night activity.

Since the pandemic began 24-months ago, studyfinds.org reports that 54% of couples struggle with not enough having enough date nights. The importance of keeping the date night fire burning helps break the routine of day-to-day responsibilities that come with family, work, and life.

Finding creative ways to nurture the intimacy between you and your partner is important and just got easier.

One thing you can do to keep your relationship healthy is by incorporating this one activity…

The Games You Play

Games Night is the one activity you can easily do at home any time of the year. Playing games with your significant other is a fun way to connect with them.

Relationship experts say that playing games with your spouse can give you insight into how your partner thinks and problem solves. Imagine how dope it would be to apply what you learned about your spouse during a game to approach situations at home differently.

Fill yourself with child-like joy and laugh with Bae on your next date night with these 3 games:

UNO FLIP!

The photo was taken by the author

The iconic Uno Card Game is a staple to families all across the world.

Uno was created on the kitchen table of barber Merle Robbins Ohio home in 1971. It was the solution to an argument Merle was having with his son about the rules to Crazy Eights, another classic card game. He later sold the game to Mattel which would produce 519 spin-offs of Uno.

The BEST version you should play at game night is UNO FLIP!

You play UNO FLIP! the same way you play the original UNO card game. You want to be the first person to play all your cards and say “UNO OUT”.

UNO FLIP! Stands out because it’s a double-sided card game that starts on the light side. You can change the direction of the game at any point using a “Flip” card. There is a flip card for both the light and dark sides.

If you play the “Flip” card while on the light side you must flip the cards in your hand to the dark side and vice versa. The game gets competitive on the dark side with the addition of Draw 5, Skip Everyone, and Wild Draw Color specialty cards.

When you play Draw 5 the next person has to pick up five cards. Skip Everyone you basically get to go twice. Wild Draw Color means that a new color is chosen and if you don’t have that color you must continue picking up a card until you pick one that matches the new color. You also LOSE a turn!

I played this game with my husband and another couple and it was a lot of fun. The dark side is where all the action took place.

I had used the “Flip” card three times in one round. Each time I used it, it was right before someone could say UNO OUT! My husband wasn’t a fan of my strategy because two out of those three times I flipped the game I stopped him from winning.

Sorry, not sorry!!

He was looking to get even.

One reverse later, the order changed and my husband’s turn comes before mine. I had one card left and guess which card he plays???

If you said Wild Draw Color you guessed correctly, but I ultimately won the round!

The Chameleon

The photo was taken by the author

The Chameleon is a board game by Big Potatoe Games that are sure to get everyone laughing. There is a secret word that everyone knows except one person, the person holding the Chameleon card.

The object of the game is to use specific word clues and codes to find out who the Chameleon is. They have blended in and are trying to figure out what the secret word is.

The night I played this I was called the Chameleon more times than I can count. I learned that my clues were either too broad, too obvious, or way off base. There was one instance where I was read the secret word incorrectly so everyone thought I was the chameleon based on my description.

Once my husband understood the logic behind my clue we just burst out laughing.

The secret word was telephone, I read telescope and the description I used was starry. Clearly starry and telephone have nothing to do with each other so everyone including the real chameleon thought it was me.

There were times during the game that I was actually the Chameleon and I got away.

Closing

The next time you’re setting up a date night try these games. Be ready to laugh and be open to the fact you just might learn something new about the person you love.

It doesn’t matter the length of time you’ve been with a person look for ways to get creative with date night.

Try these games out and see how much you have fun! If you enjoy my content consider subscribing or leaving a tip.

Pop Culture
Like

About the Creator

Mrz. PG

My superpower is in the silver lining.

Let me show you how to see through a different lens.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.