Futurism logo

Zodiac Fingerprint

An Eccentric Woman read my chart

By AsiyaPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
13
Art courtesy of Women's Health magazine

It was December 10, 1996. I had just arrived in Arizona. I was a 23 year-old Egyptian woman who traveled from Cairo, Egypt to the small town of Sierra Vista. I hardly spoke English, but I landed a job as an Arabic instructor at the University of Arizona. I definitely felt like I did not deserve the job.

That day was the staff meeting and time for me to meet everyone. An Iraqi instructor gave me a brief introduction and warned me to avoid Professor Ellen. “Not that she would talk to you – she never speaks to anyone – she is eccentric.”

I did not know what the word eccentric meant, but I did what I normally did at that time: I nodded and took a mental note to look it up when I returned home. We entered the large conference room and Professor Ellen waved at me cheerfully and invited me to sit next to her. I had no idea why.

After the meeting, she asked me to follow her into her office. I did not know how to say no. Refusing was impolite in my culture. It also required more language proficiency than I had. It was easier to nod and obey. She explained. “I invited you here today because we are meant to be best friends. Are you by any chance born between June 19 and June 24?”

I did not respond. It took me a moment to process how she guessed my birthdate. She rephrased the question to make sure I understood. I finally replied, “Yes, but how?”

Ellen laughed. “Well, because I am born between September 11-18. People born in these two weeks are meant to be best friends. You and I have always been best friends in all the different lives we have had.”

To say that I was shocked would be an understatement. I felt like I was in a trance. She noticed how I got very quiet. She added, “You are a Cancer. A Cancer needs a Virgo and having a Cancer friend soothes the Virgo’s soul. See, Virgos are very critical of themselves and others. They can also easily feel guilty. Having a close Cancer friend will do wonder for Virgos. Did you have other Virgos in your life?”

“Yes, my sister and my husband were born on August 30 and 31.”

“Did you say husband? A Virgo husband, that’s unfortunate. Are you still on your first marriage?” I felt angry and stood up. In my culture divorce was frowned upon and it felt like an insult to imply that I could be divorced. In retrospect, she was right but what did I know? I was technically in my honeymoon phase. Ellen gently touched my hand and asked me to sit down.

“Ellen, you are a professor of psychology. Do you really believe in Zodiac signs?”

“Oh dear, as a professor I know that there are so many things you can’t begin to understand in the universe. You believe in God. Do you think that the Deity that created the universe would not use a design system for humans? It’s not about one Zodiac sign; it’s about the alignment of stars when we were born. Let me do your chart and I can explain everything to you. A chart is like a Zodiac fingerprint. Each one of us is unique.”

I gave her my place, date and time of birth. It took a few minutes. Ah, the old times of slow Internet. By the time I was done with my tea, Ellen had deciphered every aspect of my character.

“Your ascendant is in Libra. We share the same ascendant. You and I will get along swimmingly. Libra is the balance. You will always be drawn to Libra because they are very rational people.”

Art courtesy of Prep Scholar

I was trying to understand what she said. “Excuse me Ellen, what does ascendant mean? And are you saying we should go swimming?”

Ellen laughed and said, “Ascendant is your rising sign and social character. Oh dear, swimmingly is just an expression. Always ask me if you feel you misunderstood.”

I was hesitant at first, but I started to ask Ellen questions. “Ellen, can you tell everything about me from the chart?”

“Yes, but let me tell you this. Your chart is complicated more than hundreds of charts I have seen. You always want to learn and do new things. It is like every 18 to 24 months you will lead a new life. You have many interests. Your Venus is in Cancer. You probably have a taste for the arts because of that. Your moon is in Pisces, another water sign. That’s a double whammy! You are very romantic and you idolize whom you love. You fall deep and fast. You will have to watch out for Leos and Scorpios. You will always fall for powerful men in powerful signs. You would actually be happier with an Earth sign like a Capricorn or Taurus man. Never mind! You are not meant to be happily married, so chances are you will not meet Taurus and Capricorns.”

As she added more information, I became more intrigued and asked more questions. Ellen told me I would have two boys, but from different fathers. To my very Egyptian mind, once again I felt as if she had called me a ‘bad’ woman. More than one husband equated with a shameful fate for me and my family.

“Ellen, I really do not want to be ever divorced and if I do I would never be with another man.”

Ellen laughed again and put her hand on my shoulder. She could sense how tense I got. “One day, when I retire and go to India to be with my spiritual guide, you will remember this conversation and laugh. I promise you that much. Before I let you go, is there something else you want to ask about your future?”

“Ellen, will I be a writer? That’s all I want to be.”

“You are certainly talented and lucky. You could learn anything and excel in many things, but this is not a writer’s chart. You will be successful though and make money – just not from writing.”

I thanked Ellen for the tea and left her office. I rushed home and immediately looked up the word eccentric. That was a tricky word. I first looked up ‘Ekcentrique’ and ‘ehcentrik’. I finally found the definition. It was unconventional and slightly strange. I smiled. Yes, indeed Ellen was eccentric.

She did quit a tenured professor position and went to live in India. I think about Ellen and that conversation fondly and I laugh. Everything she told me that day happened.

astronomy
13

About the Creator

Asiya

Asiya is my Sufi name given to me by Sherif Papa, my spiritual guide. I was born in Cairo, Egypt. I am a spoken word poet. I love writing short stories. Feel free to email

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.