Futurism logo

You are believing a lie

Things are not as they seem

By John JamesPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

¹The man on the subway - Dr. Stephen Covey

“I remember a mini-paradigm shift I experienced one Sunday morning on a subway in New York. People were sitting quietly – some reading newspapers, some lost in thought, some resting with their eyes closed. It was a calm, peaceful scene.

Then suddenly, a man and his children entered the subway car. The children were so loud and rambunctious that instantly the whole climate changed.

The man sat down next to me and closed his eyes, apparently oblivious to the situation. The children were yelling back and forth, throwing things, even grabbing people’s papers. It was very disturbing. And yet, the man sitting next to me did nothing. 

It was difficult not to feel irritated. I could not believe that he could be so insensitive as to let his children run wild like that and do nothing about it, taking no responsibility at all. It was easy to see that everyone else on the subway felt irritated, too. So finally, with what I felt like was unusual patience and restraint, I turned to him and said, “Sir, your children are really disturbing a lot of people. I wonder if you couldn’t control them a little more?”

The man lifted his gaze as if to come to a consciousness of the situation for the first time and said softly, “Oh, you’re right. I guess I should do something about it. We just came from the hospital where their mother died about an hour ago. I don’t know what do think, and I guess they don’t know who to handle it either.”

Can you imagine what I felt at that moment? My paradigm shifted. Suddenly I saw things differently, and because I saw differently, I thought differently, I felt differently, I behaved differently. My irritation vanished. I didn’t have to worry about controlling my attitude or my behavior; my heart was filled with the man’s pain. Feelings of sympathy and compassion flowed freely. “Your wife just died? Oh I’m so sorry! Can you tell me about it? What can I do to help?” Everything changed in an instant.”

Your thoughts are not your own. A fraction of the population comes into the world able to demonstrate expertise and knowledge before education. Everyone else had to be taught not just what they know, but how they know it. Do you know what being gullible means? It simply means someone who is unskilled at telling truth from lies. Good magicians or optical illusions are all about paradigm shifts.

 There is a downside to this for you. If you do not exercise metacognition, then your thoughts are more susceptible to following external suggestions. Have you ever watched small children and then turned your eyes away for prolonged periods? Terrible things can happen. The reason is due to lack of skill and perspective. Generally, they are mainly functioning off instincts and curiosity, which leads to a lack of understanding in important arenas. Long term consequences, if-then analysis, physiological limitations, chemical reactions, are a few such arenas. Left to themselves they are unskilled in surviving. Worse still is if they are left in the care of someone trying to harm them. The news presents countless stories of what happens then, yet if a caring guardian is there to intervene the child can be saved.

You are the guardian of your mind. Ready for the first paradigm shift?

You are not your thoughts.

Watch this great, 5 minute video by clicking on the link by Frank Pastore to learn more:

 https://www.prageru.com/videos/do-we-have-free-will

​​

 

Ready for your second paradigm shift?

Outside forces want to control your thoughts.

Left to it's own devices, your brain would be in trouble as the physical neurons crashing into one another are unskilled in surviving. Worse still is if it is left in the care of someone trying to harm it. I am speaking about more than just self-harm, I am speaking about malicious outside influences that want to create your paradigm to benefit their goals. Recently I was discussing this with my brother in law David who is a pastor and has a staggering IQ. Early on in David's career he got the opportunity to befriend employees of a large, well-known media group. One evening as they were sharing drinks, one of the men who worked behind the scenes confided in David that they targeted vulnerable, senior adult populations with frequent, violent stories. 

Why? The fear would grip this population and make them more susceptible to buy from their sponsored advertisements. Sebastian Gorka, Ben Shapiro and Dinesh D'souza are among a few intellectuals writing extensively on malicious, brainwashing that occurs on every front on our society. Several years ago the world renown marketing agency Fallon worldwide, responsible for saving Purina Dog Chow, Southwest Airlines after 911 and inventing the historical chihuahua for Taco Bell, wrote a book called "Juicing the Orange". Upon finishing the book I had a paradigm shift. They talked about how marketing companies invest billions to learn about you, then reach you where you are in order to influence how you behave. 

Simple as that.

From schools to churches, entertainment to the White house, your job to your home. Billions upon billions of dollars are being invested to control the clothes you buy, food you like, words you say, cars you like and careers you want.  Many people's idea of themselves, truth, politics and love are shaped in similar fashion.

Final paradigm shift?

If most of your thinking is engineered by evil sources for their own gain, then by nature most of your thoughts are lies.

¹=  “The Man on the Subway.” FloraSage, 23 Sept. 2017, www.florasage.com/the-man-on-the-subway/.

psychology
Like

About the Creator

John James

Mind + Music + Body + Math + Mystic = Me

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.