Futurism logo

Why Me?

Part 2

By Tiawni SewardPublished 4 years ago 59 min read
Like

The New Look

“Where are we starting first?”

“I figured we would get your hair done first then shop for clothes. If that is ok with you?”

“Yeah, that way I can get used to the new look. Oh, you never told me what my new name will be while I’m at school and all.”

“Athena Maple from Alaska is what I told the school.”

“Wow, I like it. It’s different and cool. I will have to remember that. So we need to use that name.”

“Ok, Athena (AKA Kenda) Let’s go change your look now.”

“Lead the way.”

I followed him to the nearest salon to get my hair done. I wasn’t sure what the look I would want, but with me being tan looking and dark eyes I knew light hair wouldn’t work unless I went bolder like red or auburn. I started looking at hairstyles and then I saw the look that I wanted to go with and no one would think it was me at all. It was a metallic silver that faded into a royal purple. Then I will add a wave and that way my hair won’t be straight and it will look different from before. I showed Aiden what I wanted, and he looked shocked.

“You’re going different, aren’t you?”

“Yeah, I figured that was best.”

“I think it works for you. Let’s get it done.”

Walking with him to go get my hair done seems nice and weird all at the same time. When he gets in there and I show the lady what I want and she gets me right in. While I am getting my hair done I see that Aiden is on the phone. I’m wondering if it is about me. I have been thinking about the council that wants to help me in some ways but once they know what I may be capable of will they still want to help? All of this is going through my mind when the lady tells me I’m done. I look in the mirror and I don’t recognize myself. I love the look and can’t wait to get new clothes to go with my new look.

“Wow, you look great. Let me pay for this and we can go get some clothes.”

“Are you sure about all of this? I can help a little.”

“I told you I got you on this. You don’t have to worry about a thing. Once we get your clothes and all, we will need to get your documents for your new identity and get your picture done with your new look so we can have everything in order.”

“Ok, I was wondering about all of that. Have you talked to my brother lately?”

“Yeah, that was him on the phone while you were getting your hair done. He wants to know where you are and he is getting upset that no one will tell him.”

“I will call him and let him know that I am safe once I get a new phone or something. Or I will call him from someplace just as long as he knows I’m safe. Plus It will have to be far from here in case my father is watching his phone. You should get him a new phone so my father can’t track him.”

“Your right I should. I will do that so at least you guys can talk on the phone. I will take you four or five towns over tomorrow so you can call him. That way it will look random on the calls.”

“That would be great. I should do it at different times and places so my father can’t tell where I am.”

“Good idea. We will get a map when we get back and map out a game plan on how and when we should do it.”

“Sounds good. Now let’s shop.”

Walking off with him as we laughed and got to know each other just felt good. I know things will change as he will find his mate and one day I will find mine. I have been doing well about keeping my scent hidden. So even if my mate was close, he wouldn’t be able to find me. He could tell I was close but not know who I was or where the pull was coming from. He would just know I’m in this city he is in until I let my scent get found. That is the drawback of having to hide my scent. I don’t mind because I am not ready for a mate. There is so much I want to do with my life before I find my mate.

Aiden POV

I can’t stop looking at her. She was pretty before, but this hairstyle on her just makes her stand out even more. It brings out her eyes and just hearing her laugh makes me smile. I know things could change if she finds her mate or I find mine, but I feel this pull towards her but it has faded some. I’m not sure why or if something is just different now. I can’t wait to see what clothes she will pick since her hair pick was not what I was expecting from her. Her brother is also driving me crazy with texts and phone calls wondering about his sister. I wish I could tell him something, but right now it’s not safe for either of them, mostly here. I will keep her safe and she will do the most wonderful things as she becomes her true self. I can feel that she is going to do great things and I just want to be a part of it. If she will let me and let her guard down around me. I will break through that wall and at least be her friend. I just hope I can handle it when she dates other guys. I’m sure I am just being an overprotective cause of her brother. That has to be it. What I thought was the mating pull seems to have faded, but I still feel a connection different from I have ever heard of before.

“What store would you like to go first?”

“I’m not sure where to start. You pick.”

“Let’s start in Rue 21,”

“Ok, sounds good to me,”

We both walked to Rue 21 to see what they had for me. I saw a lot I liked, and I wanted to try on. So I did a little fashion show for Aiden, to get his reaction to the clothes I tried on. I was having a lot of fun. This went on in all the stores we went to. Until lunchtime, when we sat down and ate. Then this girl came and sat on Aiden laps kissing on his cheek and tried for his lips, but he turned his head.

“Vicky stop can’t you see I am with someone here,” Aiden said

“Who is she?” Vicky sneered

“Hello my name is Athena, I’m a friend of Aiden’s,” Kenda replied

“Well, don’t get any ideas girl. I am his girlfriend and I don’t want your ugly ass touching what is mine. Do you understand me?” Vicky told her with a look

“Vicky you are not my girlfriend. I don’t know how many times I have to tell you that. We only went out one time and I told you it would never happen again. Now leave me alone or else.” Aiden roared.

Vicky took off as her life depended on it and it did because I was about to snap telling me that Aiden was hers. Not likely. Even if he isn’t my mate, he could never like someone like that.

“What was that all about?” Kenda asked

“She is one of my pack members and she wants power. She thinks she will be my mate and Luna once she turns eighteen in a week. I already know that she won’t be because my Omega Ryan said he felt a pull towards her when he turned eighteen and he wasn’t happy about it because Vicky is mean to everyone unless you can give her what she wants and that is power.” Aiden said.

“I think that is how my father is turning out. Wanting power, he didn’t use to be like that unless I just never noticed before.” Kenda was in thought.

“Sorry, that happened. Do you want to shop more or go home now?”

“Let’s go home. I think I am shopped out for one day.” They laughed on their way to the car and put all the stuff in the car’s trunk. She climbs in and waits for him to finish up, to head home. Wow, heading to her new home, the new life. It will be different for her.

“Hey, what are you thinking about so hard?”

“Sorry I must have just zoned out. I was thinking about how different this all is for me.”

“I can understand that. This all must be hard on you. With all that you are facing.”

“Thanks for understanding.”

“Your welcome,”

The rest of the way home we drove in silence. I just looked out the window and thought to myself. I needed to get some kind of news to my mother, I just didn’t know-how. I guess that will have to be my next plan to come up with once I get my brother on board. I wished he would understand that I am trying to keep him safe.

“Oh, I forgot to tell you we need to go by a friend of mine’s place to get your new identity for a school and stuff. Before we go home. That way you have everything you need. Plus, we will have to get you a car and stuff so you can get around.” Aiden said, taking me out of my thoughts.

“Oh ok, you don’t have to worry about a car I don’t know how to drive. I could not learn.” Kenda explained.

“Then I guess I will teach you how to drive so you can take your test and get a driver’s license.”

“That would be great. I have always wanted to learn.”

He always puts a smile on my face no matter what mood I am in. I wish he would be my mate since we get along so well. He would understand my need to get things done to prove what I am capable of. It will be hard to explain to a mate that I’m not a luna but an alpha. Most men won’t understand that, nor would they like it. We stopped at this white and blue house in the woods. It was near a lake and smelled of a wolf with something else. I had a confused look on my face.

“She is half wolf and half-witch. She is also part of my pack, but likes to stay out on her own in this section of my pack territory.”

“Well, that explains a lot. Why are we coming to a wolf-witch?”

“She is the one making your new identity and all that. Plus, I think she would be a good person for you to know.”

“Sounds good. I don’t mind meeting new people. If she can help that’s good.”

“Tara are you home? I have Kenda here that I need you to meet.” Aiden yelled as he was getting out of the car.

“Yes, I’m home you young thing you. Bring the little lady in.” Tara said.

As I walked, you heard a gasp coming from Tara.

“Hello, I’m Kenda,”

“You are no ordinary wolf either. You are so much more, then what you know. It would be an honor to help you.” Tara said as she bowed to me.

“Thank you, but could you please explain what you mean?” Kenda asked her

“I will be happy to explain, but I will need to know a few things first and Let’s get these documents done first,” Tara said

“If we must. You just have me so curious about what you are talking about.” Kenda says.

“Let’s get your picture taken and I can start there. How is that you know nothing of your background? Didn’t your pack teach you that?” Tara asked, wondering so much more.

“Well, I know some because we do not allow it until you turn eighteen and get your adult wolf. I still have five months, three days left till I’m eighteen.” Kenda explains.

“I see. I got news for you then, and it may knock you for a loop. Here is your picture. What name are we going to put on here along with the rest of the documents?” Tara asked.

“It will be Athena Maple,” Aiden speaks up

“Sounds interesting. Let me guess Aiden you thought of the name?” Tara says while laughing.

“Yes, and I think it sounds very human like. Plus, I think it’s pretty,” Aiden says in his defense.

“I like the first name a lot, I’m not sure how I feel about the last name but it works I guess,” Kenda speaks out

“Ok, your new name will be Athena Maple and that will be something to get used to. I will help where I can with keeping you hid until the right time. You and I will have a lot to talk about as time goes by.” Tara explained.

“I can’t wait and I’m looking forward to it,” Athena says (AKA Kenda)

I can’t wait to know what she will tell me. If she can help me understand why I’m so different from any of my family and why my father is after me would help a lot. I never thought my life would be like this. So, WHY ME? I have always wondered about that. Why me, why am I so different? I hope Tara can help me understand some of this that is going through my mind. Things could have been different if I just understood. But that still leaves the question: Why me?

Learning Something New

Tara Pov

I didn’t realize that they limited her to what she knew. Damn, when am I going to learn to keep my mouth shut? Now I have to explain things I am not sure she will understand or believe. She just has so much power inside her waiting on her to accept it. Does she not understand she doesn’t have to wait till her birthday? That the goddess has chosen her to be the only female alpha out there today. Every four to eight thousand years the goddess makes a female alpha to bring about change that we all need or to save our race. Something great is coming, and this one will lead the way. I just don’t know how much to tell her so she won’t get scared or not believe me. Oh, goddess, help me with this one. Her father is trying to kill her and take the power for himself or he just thinks she is bad. I’m not sure yet. Has her father gone to the other side for power or is he just scared of what his daughter may do? I will have to explain something to her now and maybe some later she gets to know me better.

“Tara is something wrong?” Aiden asked.

“NO sorry lost in thought at the moment.”

“Tara if you are too busy today to explain things to me I could always come back another time. I understand that you have other things that need to get done and can’t help me right off the bat. Plus, you have done so much for me already.” Athena said.

"Thank you, Athena, but no I was trying to figure out how to tell you so you would believe what I have to say and which parts you need to know now and what ones I need to explain at a later time." Tara tried to explain.

“Well, just tell me what you can and I will be most grateful. See, I am trying to get my family records and books but I don’t know if my brother will do it in time before I turn eighteen or not. That would help me understand a lot I am hoping.” Athena explained.

“How about you tell me what you know, then that may help me be able to fill in some gaps for you?” Tara said.

“Ok I was born second in my family, but I am an alpha where my older brother is a beta. We were happy with how things were because we figured he would be my beta one day and always be able to look out for me and help in any way possible. My father was angry about it from the start. He would force my brother to do alpha training and just let me watch or make me stay with my mother. Then when my little brother came along, he gave up on my oldest brother ever being an alpha. He still would let no one know that his daughter was an alpha, but just told people I was a warrior. I still could outright everyone I came up against, even at a young age. Which didn’t help my relationship with my father? Then my father started making me train harder but still never giving me what is rightfully mine. He started having me train other packs and putting me up against bigger and meaner men each time, either hoping I would lose or that I would show everyone that he had a true warrior in his pack. Yet he feared me and thought I would soon challenge him for his title. So after how everyone reacted to me here in Aiden’s pack, he was even more pissed off. Because Luna Lucy could tell I had power, and that I was a true alpha. So when I got home, I knew something was wrong. My father wasn’t at home, and it was just my mother and little brother. I told her I needed to talk to her, and she told me I had to run away that night. I told my father I was going rogue, and he said he would give me ten minutes before he yelled rogue on his land. He gave me five before I had the pack ready to attack me. But since I trained most of them, I knew how they would come at me and I could avoid them. I made it here to hide and now I’m here getting a new everything till I turn eighteen.”

“Wow, that is some story you have there. Ok well here goes nothing. Your mother comes from a long line of powerful werewolf women. It only shows up every eight thousand years. I am almost sure you’re the one that the Goddess chosen to be the next one. I can feel the power coming off of you and your wolf is ready for the next stage of its life but is waiting on you to be ready to take that step with her. She will wait if that is what you want or she will jump-start the next step if that is what you want. She is leaving the choice to you, but you don’t have to wait till you are eighteen. For now, that is all I can tell you until I am sure of the rest.” Tara explained.

“Thank you, Tara. What you have told me would make sense. It would explain why my father fears me and why he keeps my mother on a tight leash so to speak. I will confirm this when I get the family records and be able to share them with you to help me understand. You also gave me something to think about. Like should I wait till I’m eighteen or take it now just in case my father finds me? I will get back with you if I have questions. If that is ok?” Athena said, then asked nicely

“That would be a fine Kenda. I mean, Athena.” Tara and everyone laughing at the mess up.

“Thanks for everything, Tara. Aiden I’m ready to go home now, please. I’m getting a little hungry and need a shower.” Athena said.

“Your welcome here is my number if you need anything or just want to hang out,” Tara said as she handed over her number.

“Thanks again,” Athena said as she took the number and started for the door

“I guess that’s my hint she wants to go now. Bye, Tara, I will talk to you soon.” Aiden said as he followed Athena out the door.

The drive home was a silent one, both of us in our own thoughts. I have learned so much about myself tonight and know there is so much more I need to learn. I thought I would have a talk with my wolf when I got home and was alone. Maybe she can tell me things. I also wondered what Aiden was thinking about. I also made a mental note that I needed to call my brother and see if he could call gram on dad’s side to get some of our clan and family books from her. Then see if he can get a mom to send her when she sends my stuff to him for safekeeping. That way I could try to learn more about what is going on with me and why dad is like this towards me. It keeps coming back to this one question, WHY ME? Next thing I know we are in front of our building and I’m still in the car. I get out and walk towards Aiden who is waiting for me at the door to the building.

“Hey, I have to go back to the packhouse for a little while. Keep your door locked and your scent masked. Dad is calling a meeting and I need to be there. I will let you know if he found out anything.” Aiden explains then hugged her goodbye.

I watched him walk away and back to his car before I went inside. Once he was completely out of my sight, I took the elevator up to my floor and walked to my apartment. I had so much to think about and so many questions still. I guess I will try to talk with my wolf to see if she would tell me something.

My wolf is named Morriganam, which is odd for most people since that is the goddess of all wolf’s names and I have been calling her Tia all this time. No one knows my wolf’s name, not even my family. It is something she asked me to tell no one. That is why I called her Tia so no one would know her real name. I went into my mind and called out to her.

“Yes, Kenda. What can I do for you?” Morriganam asked.

“I need to talk with you, I have questions,” I told her

“I will answer what I can. We are one. What helps you also help me.” She explained.

“Tara said you were all ready to change into your adult form. Is that true?” I asked her.

“Yes, but I will not rush you. I am ready to take our place in the world. It’s time for change to happen. Plus, our mate is around here.” Morriganam explained.

“I am not ready for a mate, but I believe we need to make that change soon. I don’t think father will wait until my birthday to come after us.”

“Your father is not your father. Your mother was with her true mate when you gotten conceived that night. She just told him you were his. He now knows the truth because you are more of an Alpha than he is. He was a beta before he took your mother as his and he rejected his true mate to be alpha. Once he found out the truth about you he had your real father killed for attacking your mother. That is how he got away with it. Your mother feared him and still is. Those are only your half brothers, my dear. But they love you no matter what, they see what they need in you.” Morriganam explained.

“You have just dropped another bombshell on me, but that does explain a lot of whys. It also explains why he treated me differently and why he seemed to hate me so much. We can make the change tomorrow night. I will get Aiden to take me deep into some woods so we can make the change. I want us ready for when he comes. We need to be at our full power when he comes. Is there anything else you can tell me?”

“No, we are one like always. I am you, and you are me. Together united for now and always.” Morriganam said the pledge to me.

“I am you and you are me. Together united for now and always.” I give the pledge back, and I can feel the change starts. It will finish tomorrow when I change into my wolf and back to finish the final step of our change. Then my phone is going off and I look to see it is Aiden calling me.

“Hello,”

“Are you ok, I just got a feeling that something happened,” Aiden asked me

“Yes, I am fine. I will explain later. I will take a shower and head to bed. I will talk to you in the morning. Goodnight, Aiden.” Then I hung up the phone and did what I told him I would do. I don’t remember falling asleep, but I know I felt different when I woke up to someone banging on my door. I got up and walked to my door only to push aside by Aiden to make sure I was okay and that no one was here with me. The look on his face made me wonder why he was so upset. I couldn’t figure it out at all.

“Why are you so upset?”

“Do you realize I have been trying all morning to get a hold of you?”

“No, but it’s still early. I feel like I just went to bed.”

“It is after one in the afternoon Athena,”

“No way did I sleep for over ten hours. That is not like me.”

“Care to explain?”

“I’m not sure if I can,” I went to sit down on my couch and just stared at Aiden in disbelief.

Could it be the beginning of me coming into my wolf after saying the oath to her? That is the only thing I can think of, but I am not ready to tell Aiden just yet.

Coming into Our Wolf

“I had a talk with my wolf last night after we got back from talking with Tara. She told me something, and I wanted to check with my wolf on something that she said. Then after I talked with my wolf, we came to an agreement. I went to bed and didn’t wake up till now when you came barreling in.” Athena explained

“What kind of talk did you have with your wolf that you and she had to come to an agreement?” Aiden asked her.

“We talked about me accepting my wolf as an adult. Going ahead and maturing early and not waiting till I was eighteen. She was already ready to go, and she was just waiting for me. So I told her lets do it. I guess that’s why I slept for so long because we changed.” Athena replied.

“Do you mean you are now what you would have been at eighteen?” Aiden asked.

“Yes, that is what I am saying. I know that there are things we have to learn yet, but we have the power now to defend ourselves if my father comes for me. I will not get surprised now,” Athena said.

“That means you could find your mate now if you wanted to, or do what you have been planning for your life before you find your mate. So what are you going to do?” Aiden asked because he was wondering if they were mates and then he would protect her and she would become his Luna, yet knowing that is not what she truly wants.

“I think for now I will go ahead with my plan because even Morriganam isn’t ready for her mate yet,” Athena said

“I can understand that, but why wait? He would help you.” Aiden tried to understand.

“No, most Alpha males will not accept an Alpha female they would want her to change and be a Luna, not wanting to share as equals. Plus, let me be a doctor who wants to help all the werewolf kind. I would rather have it already shown that I can do it before he comes along to change me.” Athena tried to explain.

“Not all of us are like that,” Aiden told her

“True. But most are. They don’t want their women to be better than them. They don’t want her to make more money. Men try to hold a woman back instead of helping her move forward to be like him. This is a man’s world, even with werewolves. At least in the human world, the women can do a little more, but men still think they are better. It’s time that women get seen as equals, not just objects. They can say all they want, but how they talk and treat a woman says a lot more. I want to help with that. My mate may not see it the same way. I can’t have that right now.” Athena said.

“Ok, I get it.I see your point and I even know that I would have a hard time with it at first. Oh yeah, dad wanted me to tell you that your father has been to his council about you. That they want to talk to you and your brother about what your father has said. They are having a hard time talking with your little brother and mother because your father wants to be with them and the council wants them on their own. They find that a little odd so they want to talk with you guys now and wait with them. Then my father will talk with them as a witness to how your father was treating you and how disrespectful he was. Plus, your brother wants to see you and talk to you. I think since you have your adult wolf now that you could come to the compound now with the new look, no one will know it’s you. Your father won’t know that you did the change already. So you will have him by surprise on that one.” Aiden explained to her.

“Sounds good. Can I go there tomorrow and talk to your father and my brother?” Athena asked.

“Let me make the arrangements for you,” Aiden told her

“Thank you,” Athena said

I wonder what he is thinking about Morriganam. He just has this look on his face like he is in deep thought. Can you get anything from his wolf? I can try to talk to his wolf. I haven’t tried yet. Which is odd that his wolf has said nothing to me since he should be able to feel our alpha power? He should want to see if I am a threat to him. I don’t get it, but I will reach out. Morriganam replied.

“Aiden what are you thinking about? You have this look about you.” Athena asked him.

“Well, I was wondering about how much of an alpha you are now and what your wolf looks like. You never showed me. Plus, you were a hell of a fighter before, I have to wonder how that got affected. It’s hard thinking you was a beast of a fighter before and now means you could be unbeatable and that could be a problem in the long run depending how the council sees you,” Aiden replied.

“I can understand all of that. I will show everyone when I get to talk to your father and my brother. It is only fair that they are all in on this. Let me just say that I will go up against anyone and not fear that I will die,” Athena said (AKA Kenda)

“You are sure of that? I can wait for that. I totally understand why you would want it that way.” Aiden said.

“Thank you just let me know when and time for me to go talk with them. I have to call the school to see if I can test out and graduate now so I can start college this summer. I don’t want to waste time on anything. Oh, yes, I am sure of that.” Athena told him.

“Ok I will go and I will get back with you later today with time and all,” Aiden said as he walked out the door.

Morriganam was you able to get anything from his wolf? Aiden wouldn’t say much except that he wants to see you. He is wondering about you and your strength. Don’t worry, Kenda. He is wondering if we could be his mate. I found out from his wolf he feels a pull to us and isn’t sure why. I don’t know if I feel the mate bond for him since we have been keeping our scent hidden. But I think there is something there and if there is, we will need to stay hidden so he can’t pick it up. I’m not ready to mate with anyone just yet. I want to see what we can do on our own first. I want to show them we don’t need a mate at our side but want a mate that is our equal. I don’t think it’s the mating bond anyway because I should feel it when I talk to his wolf, but we need to be careful just in case I am wrong. I agree with you, Morriganam. I will take a shower and get ready. I’m hoping we will get to see Keme today. I miss him so much. We will talk about Morriganam later. Just as I was getting out of the shower, I heard a knock at my door. Damn, I can’t get any peace around here. I bet it’s Aiden at my door, either he got bored or he has the information that I am waiting on.

“Just a minute I will be there to answer the door.” Why is he always banging on my door? I hurry and get dressed and go to the door. When I see it’s a young girl about sixteen, with short dirty blond hair, and big blue eyes. Her height couldn’t be over five feet. She looks scared, and I have to wonder what she is doing here.

“Hello, how can I help you?” I asked the young girl.

“I’m sorry I thought this was someone else’s place. I didn’t realize that you were human.” The young girl said.

“Come in. You need to watch saying things like that. You could have said that to the wrong person. I knew you were a young wolf pup, but I wasn’t thinking you were a rogue. Why are you a rogue?” Athena asked her.

“My pack kicked me out when I refused to be a mate for someone who wasn’t my mate and they told me I either became his mate or I would beat so I ran away. My wolf led me here, to you.” The young girl explained.

“Ok, what is your name. I don’t want to have to call you pup all this time. My name is Athena and I will help you as long as you are honest with me.” Athena said.

“My name is Rami, and I was a part of the Night Beam pack until about a week ago. It took me that long to find you by my wolf guiding me, and yet you smell human. How is that?” Rami asked

“It is something I can teach you to do, I learned at a young age to mask my scent from other wolves or from the human’s so they don’t feel the wolf inside me and fear me. Why were you not taught this?” Athena asked with wondered.

“My pack didn’t think women needed to know anything but to get mated to who they told you to mate with and have babies. Along with cooking and cleaning. Very few women there have choices or anything. None are happy there and wish they could leave, but many got scared too.” Rami explained.

“Ok Rami, I will help you, but you will have to join me for me to do that. Are you willing to join me as my first pack member?” Athena asked

“Yes, Alpha.” Came Rami’s reply

“Then you need to know that my real name is Kenda, and I was part of my father’s pack until he wanted what wasn’t his and that’s my power of being a female Alpha. His pack wants me dead now, and that pack is the Great Wolf pack. So you have a lot to learn and we will need to get you a new identity and stuff to keep you safe asked if your pack is looking for you. Plus, you will need to be in school. So I will become my true self and let my Alpha scent out to you so you can get to know me. Then I will cut my hand and yours, say a few words and then you will repeat and join, Understand?” Kenda asked.

“Yes, Alpha” Remi replied

"I cut my hand then did the same two Rami and joined our hands I will say this and then you will repeat then say I accept you Alpha. Understand?" Kenda asked.

“Yes, Alpha.” Rami reply

"All brothers and sisters, whether born wolves or reborn

To the moon and our packs, forever worn.

By the sun, the moon and the power of three

Spirits from the deep who never sleep, be kind to me.

Stars and spirits and powers, that be,

Wolves of the woods that listen to me,

I accept you Rami into my pack Moon Goddess Pack

This is my will, so mote it be." Athena said out loud

“All brothers and sisters, whether born wolves or reborn

To the moon and our packs, forever worn.

By the sun, the moon and the power of three

Spirits from the deep who never sleep, be kind to me.

Stars and spirits and powers, that be,

Wolves of the woods that listen to me,

I accept you Alpha Kenda as my Alpha of the Moon Goddess Pack” Rami repeated, and they both felt the joining of each other come together as Rami was now in Kenda’s head.

“It's done and you are mine to take care of. You will stay here in my spare room and go to school. We will get you all set up in a few days, but first I need to teach you to mask your scent.” Kenda explained.

“Thank you, Alpha,” Rami said

“Rami when it is just us, you can call me Kenda, but when others are around, you need to call me Athena. When it’s pack business, then Alpha.Because I haven’t told the council yet that I was starting a pack. You kinda got me started early.” Kenda explained.

“Cool. I understand, and I will learn anything you want to teach me. Plus, what will my rank be in your pack or will we have ranks?” Rami asked.

“For now, you will be my beta and as we get new people, you all will have to do a stare-down to see where your rank is. I will not have my pack fighting for rank when you can just stare at someone to know who is more dominant than the other. Plus, then we all still have respect and we are all still family.” Kenda explained

They both heard a knock at the door and Rami got scared because she could tell it was another Alpha at the door.

“Athena there is another Alpha at the door and he seems worried or nervous,” Rami said

“Ok, Go into the kitchen and get you something to eat while I deal with this,” Athena told her

I know it’s Aiden this time for sure. I can smell him, and his wolf is on the surface. She opens the door and Aiden walks on in and looks around.

“I smell a rogue on my territory and it’s not you,” Aiden said

“Yes, you do and her name is Rami, and she is mine to care for. I joined her. I will look for another place as soon as I talk to your father. I think I know what will become my way now. I really need that meeting right away.” Athena said.

“Ok and you did what? How can you do that already and you don’t have the name of a pack yet? We are headed to see my father now, so let’s go. You can explain on the way.” Aiden said.

“Rami let’s go. We have to go meet with a few people.” Athena hollered out and Rami walked out of the kitchen looking scared but strong. Aiden couldn’t get over the young girl and wondered what her story was. He knew they both had a lot of explaining to do.

The Announcement

“You bring the new girl to this meeting?” Aiden asked.

“Yes, she needs to learn the ends and outs of what a good pack is like, she found me and wanted my help. I will do what is right.” Athena said.

“Ok, let’s go, ladies,” Aiden said

He had to be out of his mind if he thought I would leave her out of this. She is scared and doesn’t trust men at all. I don’t want her to see all men as bad. I want her to see that there are good packs and good men out there. As we followed Aiden to his car, I could feel Rami’s emotions rolling off of her like a tidal wave. I need to get her to settle down and just relax a little so I mind linked her.

“Rami it will be ok. I have a brother in his pack and I have helped train his pack to fight. You will be safe with me there just relax and here is where you will need to call me Alpha and leave it at that. No other names Ok?” Athena explained.

“I’m trying but this is a little hard for me. He has so much power rolling off of him but I still feel that you have more which helps me to relax. I understand, Alpha. Will they make me switch packs since yours isn’t completed yet?” Rami wondered.

“No, they won’t make you but will offer you a choice. This will just push it forward once I explain everything to them. So no worries.” Athena reassured her.

The rest of the car ride was in total silence. No one said a word till they arrived on the Elite Pack compound.

“I didn’t realize that you were part of the Elite Pack,” Rami said

“It’s ok. Please make yourself at home while I go get everyone.” Aiden announced

They both watch as he walks off to go get the Alpha and Luna along with her brother. It only took a few minutes when I heard running coming to the living room and I looked up to see my brother running at me and Rami looking like she was ready to kill. I had to get this under control before things went bad.

“Rami stands down. That is my brother that is running my way. It’s ok, he will never hurt me.” Athena told her.

Then she could see that Rami relaxed and inspected my brother. My brother stopped in his tracks when he saw her standing by my side.

“Sis, who is this loving person you have with you?” Keme asked with a smile on his face

“You big flirt. This is Rami, and she is part of my new pack that I will start once I talk to Alpha Elijah.” Kenda explained.

Just then the rest walked in and Keme didn’t get to say what he was about to say. Which is a good thing since he is about to learn how much of an Alpha I am? They all are and I hope they will still be on my side once this is all said and done.

“Good Afternoon, Kenda. It’s nice to see you again. Aiden has told me some of what has been going on. He tells me you would like to talk to us all and show us something.” Alpha, Elijah said.

“Good Afternoon Alpha Elijah and Luna Lucy. It’s nice to see both of you again. This is my new pack mate, Rami. She found me even with my scent masked. So if we could continue in your office please so we can talk I will explain everything.” Kenda announced

They all followed Alpha Elijah into his office to hear Kenda out. They were all very curious about what was going on and her new pack member found her with her scent masked.

“Ok Kenda what would you like to talk about and show us?” Elijah wasn’t beating around the bush on this. He needed answers now.

“Ok, as you all know I am not eighteen yet, but I have just gone through my change and accepted my place as a Female Alpha. My wolf was ready, she was just waiting on me. I thought I had to be eighteen to step into that role. I was wrong, and I found out a lot of that when Aiden took me to see Tara. She explained a lot and said there is more that I needed to know but not until I make the changeover. I went home that night and had a talk with Morriganam, my wolf. She explained things. Once I heard all of that information from both parties, I was ready to move forward. I will be a leader of change, I will find lost wolves that need a pack for all different reasons. They will come to me for help and protection. They will mostly be females and a few males will come. I know all this because the Goddess gave me my pack name. She also told me I will be in great danger from a few different packs. Some will look to take my pack over and force me to submit. Others just want me dead and to take my power from me. I am asking for your help in finding the right territory to call my own and for your alliance in this matter. I would also like to still have contact with my brother because I love him and want the best for him. I will show you my wolf, but I will still have my scent masked because my wolf and I are not ready to find our mate. We want to do what the Goddess has planned for us first, then find my mate when she tells me it’s time. If you need to see my full strength, then you will have to see it through Rami’s eyes. She knows and has seen it. You can mind link her once she has lowered her wall. Only the Alpha’s will do this. I can walk you through it since I see you are all shocked by what I said. Are you still wanting to be in an alliance with me and are you willing to still help? Kenda explained it all and asked question

“I am still willing to help you and the territory that you seek is just on one side of our territory. Most of the rogues live there and you would have to get them out of making them join you. We will help and with all needs and funding while we get with the council to start the paperwork. So yes, I would like to see for myself your power. Explain how it got done to look into another pack member’s mind, please.” Elijah said.

“Thank you, sir. Rami please sit down in this chair and let down your wall just like I taught you. Then, Elijah, I want you to focus on Rami and her wolf. Once you have that I will join you to walk you into her mind. Same thing Aiden cause I know you don’t want to get left out. I will meet you just outside the door of Rami’s mind since her wolf still may not want you guys going in and I don’t want her hurt because you want to force it to happen. Does everyone understand?” Kenda asked.

They all shocked their heads and started focusing on Rami. Kenda was there first and waited for the others. While she was waiting, she started petting Rami’s wolf named Ginger. The wolf was a dirty blond, small wolf with a fierce attitude. Then Ginger grew to let Kenda know the others showed up. It’s ok Ginger, they need to see what your Alpha can do. Show them in your mind what you felt when you joined with me. Ginger opened her mind to Elijah and Aiden to show them Kenda power; they were shocked but felt in their heart that she wanted what was best for her kind. They agreed it was best to help keep her safe at all costs and then they will ask the goddess what needs to get done. They all came out of Rami’s mind and just stared at Kenda while the others were wondering what they had seen.

“What did you both see?” Luna Lucy asked

“You would have to see it to understand and I might show you through my mind link to the both of you, So let me try,” Elijah said

They all got shocked at how much power and how special she was. It was like being in the presence of the Moon Goddess herself, yet not. They all knew she would need protection and a lot of help if what they see is true. Lucy knew she would have to talk with the goddess in her dreams later to find out more.

“Are you all ready to meet Morriganam?” Kenda asked

They all shook their heads, well everyone except Keme. Kenda keeps her scent masked and changed into a blue-gray, a very huge wolf. She was big, which most Alpha wolves are, but she was bigger than the average size Alpha wolf. She could make anyone submits if she wanted to. But she had too much respect for those around her, plus her wolf didn’t feel the need to do that to any of them. She knew already that she had their respect. Then she changed back because she wanted to know what everyone thought.

“What do you all think of her?” Kenda asked.

“She is beautiful and so big. I can’t believe how big she got compared to when we first met her a while ago.” Luna, Lucy replied.

“She is out of this world and I can’t believe it’s the same wolf.” Alpha, Elijah said.

“Why didn’t she want to make any of us submit or show how dominant she is?” Aiden asked.

“She has too much respect for your father and mother for one. Plus, in her eyes, she has nothing to prove to any of you since she sees you guys as friends.” Kenda explained.

“She has changed a lot from the wolf I used to play with when we were children,” Keme remarked

“Thank you all for accepting her. It means a lot to us both. When do you think I can look at that territory you were telling me about? When can we get the council here?” Kenda asked.

“I will get them here as soon as I can. Yes, you can go over to the territory tomorrow with your brother and Aiden.” Alpha, Elijah said.

“Thank you and I am going by Athena right now until we know what my father is up to. He doesn’t know I have changed yet. So I have that going for me. I just thought you guys should know.” Kenda explained.

The Challenge

“Thank you for telling us. We can see that you have great respect for your fellow wolf. We will stand beside you, Kenda. I mean, Athena.” Alpha, Elijah said.

“That means the world to me, Sir. I hope that I can find a mate like you someday and that we can have a strong united relationship like you. That will see me as the Alpha I am and stand beside me not wanting to control me,” Athena said to Alpha and Luna.

“Athena please be careful. But I have a question for you. How did Rami find you?” Luna Lucy asked.

“I’m not sure but I have an idea about that. See from my understanding no one has seen an Alpha Female as strong as me in a lot of years. Plus, I want to help my fellow wolf out of danger and find a cure for a silver allergy. The biggest thing is that when there is an Alpha Female as strong as me or what I will become means change is coming and I am to lead that change and take a mate that will help me lead the change not try to take it over from me but do things with me. So when I took that step with my wolf, females and male wolves in need felt that and came looking for me. I think what made me think that is when Rami told me that her wolf led her to me even when my scent was masked. That they can find me if they are in need and have no other options so they come to me for salvation. That is the only thing I can think of. But I am up to hear other theories.” Athena announced.

“Let me do some checking and see what I can find. I will even try to get the council to give the background on both of your parents and history so we can see what is there.” Luna, Lucy said.

“Sounds good. I want to go to the territory in the morning and try to see if I can build a packed house on a hilltop or inside of the mountain. Plus, we will have to see how many rogues are there and if any of them will be a problem with me taking over that area. Keme we need to talk in private when we can have a minute. There are things that we need to discuss that I should talk to you first about,” Athena was trying to get everything out at once.

“Ok, Kenda. We can talk but you will not disappear again out of my life so don’t think about it.” Keme told her flat out.

“Call me Athena and that is for your safety. You know he will do whatever it will take to get at me and use you to do it. He knows how close we are. Be more careful about all of this,” Athena said with a lot of anger in her voice.

“I am the one who is supposed to protect you, not the other way around. But I am glad that we look out for each other no matter what. So, what is it you want to talk about?” Keme replied.

“Not that same old argument again. Please, I am the one who will do the protecting here. I just don’t know what I would do if I lost you. I am glad you have a good pack that you can be a beta in. I will be close by if you need me. You just need to be careful and not let anyone know who I am. When it is the right time I will let everyone know who I really am. We will talk about that here in a little while.” Athena announced.

They all were silent for a while and no one knew what to say. Everyone was just lost in thought when they heard that they had a visitor at the gate.

“Athena you and Rami need to go to one of the other rooms and stay there for a moment. It looks like we have a visitor and I am not sure who it is. I would rather be safe than sorry.” Alpha, Elijah told them.

“Is it my father?” Athena asked.

“No, it is someone else that says he is looking for a young wolf who ran away from her pack and the mate that her alpha chooses for her. I didn’t think they were still practicing that anymore. Because too many wolves were beating on their mates and going crazy because it wasn’t their chosen mate or their mates would come and they would run off with them and remark to each other. It was a real mess.” Elijah was saying.

“They are after Rami. They wanted her to be mated to this man so they could force her to have pups. They do that with all their pack women. I will not hide from this. Rami will stay inside. I will face him with you.” Athena said.

“Ok, let them in but they wait outside in front of the packhouse.” Alpha Elijah told his men.

It was Alpha Elijah, Luna, Lucy, Aiden, Keme, and myself that walked outside to wait for the visitors. It was no surprise that he came with about twenty men and all the big guys. I saw a few of them before and I knew of this Alpha. He tried to get me to be his luna once, and I was only fifteen then. I will have fun mopping the floor with him.

“Who are you asking to speak with me?” Alpha Elijah asked

“I am Alpha Marcus of the Night Beam Pack,” Marcus announced like he was God

“What brings you here Alpha Marcus to my Elite pack?” Alpha Elijah asked

“I came because one of my scouts saw a young girl that looked like the one who ran away from my pack and soon to be a mate.” Alpha, Marcus said

“If she ran, then that means she doesn’t want to be a part of your pack any longer. So you really have no business here.” Alpha, Elijah told him.

“She didn’t ask to leave my pack. She left without permission. So I may seek her out and ask her to come back to my pack.” Alpha, Marcus replied.

“You would have to ask her new Alpha,” Athena popped off

“Your right, young lady. I was just about to ask Alpha Elijah if I could speak with her.” Alpha Marcus replied with a sick smile on his face.

“You would waste his time and yours by asking him. Since he is not her new Alpha.” Alpha Athena said with a growl.

“Then may I ask who her new Alpha. I would like to meet him. So we can talk man to man.” Marcus spoke.

“Rami please come to your Alpha’s side.” Alpha Athena yelled into the house

Rami came walking out of the house and stood right next to Athena. She gave a sickly smile to Marcus, and he was looking shocked. Marcus would kill her if she didn’t come back and bring pups to his pack to help build his pack up so he could take over the smaller packs soon. I just can’t believe I am looking at a female Alpha. It’s been years since I saw a girl who had some power. I will take it from this child and then find the one I saw almost three years ago and make that one my luna and have double the power.

“You wanted to speak to me?” Rami asked with her head bowed

“Yes, Rami. I came to ask you to come back to your pack. They miss you and want you to come home.” Alpha, Marcus voiced.

“I am not going back with you Alpha Marcus. I am happy with my new Alpha. Thank you for traveling this far to seek me out, but I will not be returning with you.” Rami replied.

“You are coming home to your pack and to your soon to be mate. That is an order.” Alpha Marcus yelled.

“You heard her. She will not go with you and you can’t give orders to my pack member.” Athena raised her voice but didn’t use all of her Alpha power just enough for him to feel it. She was stronger than him.

“Who are you?” Marcus asked.

“I am Alpha Athena of the Moon Goddess Pack,” Alpha Athena announced

“Then I challenge you for Rami. I want her back and if I win, be my Luna.” Marcus spoke with a laugh.

“That’s fine but if I win, I get your pack and territory,” Alpha Athena replied

“Deal,” Alpha Marcus said

“Then we all bare witness to these Alpha’s fighting for pack member Rami and Alpha Marcus territory.” Alpha, Elijah announced.

Athena walked down with her brother by her right side and Aiden on her left side. They would make sure this was a fair fight. Athena stepped into the fighting circle and so did Marcus. Marcus stripped out of his clothing and Athena just stayed human and sat Indian style on the ground. The others have seen her do this move many times and knew that this Alpha did not understand what he was up against. Marcus got confused by what she was doing but figured it would be an easy win. Marcus then changed into his wolf, which was big yet not as big as Morriganam. He was a dirty-looking wolf, gray and brown. I knew I had nothing to worried about this at all because he was overconfident in himself.

“Let the fight begin,” Alpha Elijah yelled

Marcus started running up on Athena and then the next thing he knew he was on the other side of the ring and she was standing up in the center. Marcus snapped at her and circled her, then jumped at her and she kicked him in the stomach. She then walked over to him, “Shift back now.” Athena ordered Marcus to go against it but couldn’t. He had to shift as she told him too. He was now done for because he just submitted to another Alpha. His pack turned their backs on him. He lost to her, and he had to hand over his territory now and his pack.

“You lose Alpha, Marcus. I will not kill you because I want you to be an example of what I am trying to show our fellow wolves. A female can lead and she can fight. She is your equal, not a doormat or a baby factory. Change is coming, and I just started the change with you. Leave now and do not return to your old pack. If you do, I will kill you. Do you understand?” Alpha Athena yelled.

“Yes, Alpha,” Marcus said and took off running

The men that came with Marcus got scared and didn’t know what to do. They looked at her and bowed their heads.

“Stand up, please. Who is the beta of this pack?” Athena asked.

“His name is Tony, and he is still at the packhouse.” one man spoke up

“Ok thank you. Who is next in charge here?” Athena than asked.

“That would be me. A man stepped forward and bowed his head to her.” the man replied.

“What is your name sir and what is your rank?” Athena asked

“I am Toby Alpha and I am the gamma of this pack or at least I was that is,” Toby replied

“Toby, don’t fear change and I am not here to hurt you unless you are in the wrong. I am a fair Alpha. I have the good of our people in mind and heart.” Alpha Athena told him.

“If you do not wish to follow me, speak now. I will give you two other choices that you can take if you do not wish to be a part of my pack. If you stay in this pack and follow me, then you will have to accept that change is coming and it will start with us. Do you all understand?” Alpha Athena spoke with her alpha power.

They all answer together and it was a yes Alpha all around. It made the others laugh.

“Alpha Elijah could you please join me.” Alpha Athena asked him.

Elijah joined her down near the other wolves, and his guards were unsure about that. They had faith in Athena to keep him safe.

“Alpha Elijah would you be willing to take any of them in if they choose to not follow me and do not want to live as a rogue?” Athena spoke to him softly.

“Yes, I would do that Alpha Athena.” Alpha Elijah vocalized

“Thank you. Now who is staying, and who is leaving? I will ask the same thing to the ones back home. So do not worry about them.” Athena spoke up.

Four out of twenty wolves left her pack to join the Elite pack and asked if they still could visit their friends and family that stayed with her. Neither of the Alpha’s had a problem with that since they would have an alliance with each other and consider each family.

“Well, it looks like we will not have to look over the rogue territory now. When do you want to leave to go straighten out that pack.?” Keme asked his sister.

“We will leave in the morning. It’s an hour’s drive or so from here and it’s three hours from our father. This will be interesting.” Athena spoke as she shook her head.

“Rami can you help Luna Lucy and show them where they can sleep for the night since Alpha Elijah is being so kind to let us stay,” Athena asked

“Yes, Alpha, and could I speak with you later?” Rami asked with caution.

“Yes, Rami, but please no worries. I still will protect you. You are part of my pack and like a little sister to me. Plus, I think Keme likes you.” Athena said and saw the blush appear.

Athena walks away laughing and runs into Aiden. Who is just looking at her with wonderment? He has been a good friend, he will make someone a good mate one day.

“Hello, Aiden, thank you for making sure that he fought fair. Are you going with me tomorrow to see if any of them will come back with you?” Athena asked.

“Yes, I will along with your brother represent this pack at yours to help you with getting it straightened out. I hope you don’t mind the help.” Aiden said with a smile.

“No, I enjoy the help, plus I am sure you still need to learn a few things before you become an Alpha. So I will be glad to help you with that.” Athena smiled back at him.

“Are you two done flirting with each other or can we talk now?” Rami came in laughing.

“We can talk now. Aiden and I got done with this so-called flirting a while ago.” Athena said as she turned towards Rami.

“Can we go to the patio and talk to Athena?” Rami asked her

“Yes, Rami. What do you need to talk to me about?” Athena asked.

“I am glad that you defended Marcus and all. Are you sure taking over his pack will be a good idea? He has a lot of men there who don’t like change or rules that’s why they liked him.” Rami explained.

“They will get the same choice as this group. It gives us territory, and it helps us start the change that the Goddess wants. So I am not worried about those men. We will help all those in need and be strong while doing it. You will help these women now. To show them they can stand on their own. You will teach them as I taught you. You have a kind heart, use it to help others and don’t let evil rule you.” Athena voiced her.

“Thank you, Athena. You are a great Alpha and a very understanding person. I hope I can live up to your standards and my own.” Rami was stating.

“Be true to yourself and you can’t go wrong. Stay loyal to me and your pack and you will go far. I am proud of the road you are taking and how far you have already come. Go get some rest before we leave early in the morning.” Athena dismissed her and went to bed herself.

Athena got into her room and looked out the window at the moon. Morriganam, do you think we will do all that the Goddess wants us to do? Athena, she chose you for a reason to do this. They gave me to you for a reason. The Goddess is there to help when you really need it. She puts the people who will be by your side in your path for a reason. You will go as far as she needs you too and they will remember you in our history for all that you do. It’s time again for the change to come about and you are the one to bring it. We will be fine. Get some sleep my Athena, we have to meet our new pack tomorrow. Morriganam was gone, blocking their link so Athena would go to sleep. I have a lot to do in the morning and a lot more to get done over my lifetime. Goddess, give me guidance and strength to see this through. Then she was asleep. They all woke up and got ready to leave to head to the pack of Night Beam, which the name will change once they meet their new Alpha. I know what the Goddess wants me to do, I just hope I am strong enough to do as she asks of me. I never dreamed I would become the voice of our people, and now I will bring about change to my people.

“Let’s meet the pack everyone,” Athena announced

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Tiawni Seward

She is a single mother of a 16 year old girl. She started writing when her older three children were small. Now she tells stories to her grandchildren and youngest daughter. She has one book that she self-published on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.